We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Compton Swan

Compton Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Compton
Price range: US$10 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, British, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Compton Swan is under new management since 6th November 2014. At the helm is a husband and wife team who own and operate one of the most successful gastropubs in Southern Ireland. They are looking forward to welcoming new and returning customers. They are looking forward to your feedback. The Compton Swan serves lunches and evening meals 7 days a week.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Visited on 21st July 2013 for my nieces Christening and I cannot speak highly enough of the place! Food was fantastic and the staff were unbelievably helpful, polite and just a pleasure to deal with! Felt like I'd known them for years! Would recommend this place to everyone is that part of the country! Massive thank you to everybody involved with the Compton Swan!

Chris Houghton-Rai
Loughborough
Leicestershire

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHoughton-Rai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    12
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy food, good atmosphere and service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Been a couple of times since the new owners re-opened it just over a month ago for food and drinks with family and just husband. Each time it's had a good feeling and atmosphere, the food has been tasty and good value and good drinks.
Good all round village pub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Late decision on a Friday evening to pop out for somewhere informal to eat close to home that we had not been to before. Spotted the Compton Swan which was about 35 minutes away and the tripadvisor comments really helped us decide. From the moment the telephone was answered in a friendly way to a discussion about who the kitchen staff are when we were paying the bill this place proved to be a good decision. Food was well presented and well cooked, not just ours but the other tables we had a cheeky look at as the food went by! There was a really nice buzz about the place both at the bar and in the dining area where there were family and friend parties of 8's mixed in with couples and all were looked after well, especially as we were told there were only a few bookings taken at the beginning of the evening. Looks like a lot of people just 'popped in', which is fine for now but I suspect bookings may be needed soon. We will be back, if you are close by pay them a visit, I think you will enjoy it

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldsHappyDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dining out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

First meal with new managment - lovely food good price - very friendly - recommended. Steak was perfect cooked to perfection , fish and chips to die for

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank salsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

The newly installed pizza oven has allowed the pub to serve delicious thin crust authentic pizza. Good value, fast and friendly service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynncw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Compton Swan also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
East Ilsley, Berkshire
 
Hampstead Norreys, Berkshire
 

Been to Compton Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing