We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Eden, St Austell and New Quay!”
Review of Rosewyn Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosewyn Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Summercourt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My 7 Month old daughter and I headed down to Cornwall for a short break to see the Eden Project. We wanted a central location near to the Eden Project but a bit more rural.
Rosewyn has everything we wanted. It was nestled away in the stunning Cornish countryside 10 minutes drive from the Main A30.

Andree and her family made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived.
The farmhouse has been lovingly restored and literally does feel like the farmland I grew up around. From the 2ft thick stone walls to the wide open courtyard that each room overlooks it was a quiet piece of heaven. The sun streaming in at 6am was the only thing to wake me up as not a sound from a car could be heard. It feels incredibly safe and secluded which is very important for a single parent family.

We stayed in the spacious double room with en-suite shower and W/C. There is also a twin room which was occupied by a family visiting for a wedding locally.

Breakfast took place in a breakfast room and with homemade bread, fresh gooseberry jam straight from the garden I felt like I was home! Andree has a beautiful garden, greenhouse and grows some of the food that we were served.

The Eden project was a short 30 minute journey away, Newquay was the same and St.Austell again 30 minutes.

Before we left Andree showed us the newly available self catering apartment which has been converted from the old Hayloft and it was gorgeous. Definitely big enough for a family of 4 with a separated living room and bedroom, fully equipped kitchen with washing machine!! We will definitely be back and bring our own food. The views from the living room, complete with woodburning stove,over look the Cornish countryside.

We will be back

Room Tip: I recommend the double if you have a child. Definitely enough room for a cot and perfect King Size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnCBUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 77 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

We visited Cornwall over the spring bank holiday weekend in May 2012. We were participating in the Riviera Run which is an annual run from West London for classic mini cars. The run finishes at a Newquay caravan and camping site, but as the weather leading up to the run had been extremely wet, and as we are getting on in years, the thought of two nights under canvass did not appeal.
I discovered Rosewyn on Late Bookings.com. We looked at a wide range of options as there seemed to be many beds available in Newquay. Whilst the farm is about 7 miles out of town it looked attractive.
What sold it to us was: Near Newquay but in a quiet rural location. Price; while not cheap it compared favourably with other options and looked good value at £65.00 per night for two people breakfast included. What sealed it for me was the unusual offer of workshop facilities for classic cars. I turns out that one of the owners restores MG's and Land Rovers. Luckily we didn't have to avail ourselves of this, but when you run an old mini you never know! Our room was delightful; large, spotlessly clean, tea/coffee facilities, flat screen TV, ensuite shower/toilet.
My only adverse comment was that the shower head could do with replacing. The breakfast was in the equally spotless dining room and included just about everything you could ask for, from fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, tea/coffee and homemade bread to full English fry up (other cooked breakfasts were offered). The village pub is about 1 mile up the road. The steak was good, the welcome warm and the beer, real and good.
We went to Cornwall for a mini show but I think probably enjoyed the Rosewyn experience more than the Riviera Run. We are looking for an excuse to return sometime.

Room Tip: There are just two B&B rooms. We stayed in the one with a double bed which had ensuite facilites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dadstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c870262, Owner at Rosewyn Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you so much for the feedback - you were quite right and the shower head has now been replaced. I do hope we see you for next year's 'mini world' festival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is a pretty awesome-looking place. Big farm buildings, lots of land. Feels like you are in a nice house deep in the countryside. Really quiet location which is great if that's your thing, less so if it's not! You definitely need a car but then there's a lot to explore in the area.

Good, warm welcome from the owners and the owners' dog and a tasty brekky to boot (although I rarely eat a full English so can't comment on how it compares with other B&Bs). Would recommend to those wishing to get away from it all but who want to be close enough to stuff if it rains.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AggieLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank reisen7271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c870262, Owner at Rosewyn Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Miriam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AES1958, Owner at Rosewyn Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: La chambre twin avec une salle de bain privée juste à côté de la chambre est d'un bon rapport qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazouzoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AES1958, Owner at Rosewyn Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rosewyn Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewyn Farmhouse

Address: Rosewyn Farm Carnego Lane | Summercourt, Summercourt TR8 5BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Summercourt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Summercourt
Price Range: £66 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A seventeenth-century building with great views and lots of wildlife - including a barn owl! Lovely comfortable bedrooms - Large double en-suite and twin with private bathroom. Lovely breakfast - Continental or full English. Self Catering apartment available. Warm welcome offered. French spoken. Country walks right outside the door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rosewyn Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewyn Farmhouse Summercourt, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing