We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Side Trip”
Review of Kiwi 360

Kiwi 360
Book In Advance
More Info
US$141.42*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Maori Culture, Kiwis, and Geo-Thermal Valleys in...
More Info
US$73.69*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Sightseeing Tour Including Tauranga and Mt...
More Info
US$118.35*
and up
Rotorua Full Day Tour Including Maori Culture Geysers Mudpools and Mt Maunganui
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Te Puke
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kiwi360 is in the very heart of Te Puke - 'Goodness Grows Here' region,(just 40 mins from Rotorua along SH33 toward Tauranga),where nearly all of NZ's kiwifruit is grown. Visit Kiwi360 to take a kiwikart tour of our commercial kiwfruit orchard where the expert guide will explain the unique climatic and soil conditions which enable the 2500 orchardists in the Te Puke area to produce the highest quality, highest volume per ha, of kiwifruit in the world. During the tour visitors will also see 60 or 70 different varieties of fruit and nut trees also growing on the property. After the tour visit the best retail gift and souvenir shop in the Bay of Plenty in the main complex and enjoy gourmet food and refreshments in the courtyard garden cafe,Kiwi is the world's healthiest fruit and complimentary tastings along with kiwi wine, juices and liquers are always available.
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were headed back to Auckland via a round about direction. We have to admit that Kiwi 360 was not high on visit list but it so happen we need a driving break and we said why not. We were pleasantly surprised by the tour of the orchard and the information about growing kiwis. The trolly, well there kiwi shaped just the travel books show. Compared to what other attractions had been costing us, this was a bargain at $18. Worth a visit if you are in the area.

1  Thank Russell1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme C, Owner at Kiwi 360, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hi Russell 1078

Thanks for coming our way on your way back to Auckland, we're pleased it was worthwhile for you and the family.
Actually its pretty much the same distance to and from Auckland, to Rotorua, by coming SH2, and you can experience the unique area which we call 'Te Puke Goodness Grows Here' which includes Kiwi360.

Thanks for calling in

Graeme C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I was pretty cynical about visiting a Kiwifruit-based attraction but, I have to admit, it was quite enjoyable and informative. The kids liked the kiwi shaped trolley cars and the guide was extremely knowledgable. I will never pour scorn on a fruit-based attraction again!

2  Thank DW73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme C, Owner at Kiwi 360, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi DW73

Thanks for your comments.
Many visitors have the same experience as you.
I guess when we underline the nutritional and health giving status of KF and describe the globally unique conditions we enjoy here, it does come as a surprise to most,
But thanks for overcoming your initial cynicism, and bringing your family for a visit!

Cheers

Graeme C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I was looking forward to this tour as I have never seen kiwi fruit growing. It was a fun and informative tour. We got to go under the vines and look up at the kiwis. They grow similarly to grapes but are so big! Very interesting.

Later we went into the shop to taste the different kiwis as well as kiwi wine and liquor. I didn't know how the kiwi wine would be, but it was better than expected. The shop is a paradise for tourists looking for items to take home that are made in NZ. There were so many things that we didn't have time to look at all of it.

Would recommend stopping here if you want to learn about kiwis.

2  Thank igolfCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme C, Owner at Kiwi 360, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Hi igolfCA,
We value your comments highly, especially given your reviews in 85 cities and of 117 attractions!

Thank you for making the effort to comment.

Graeme C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We visited Kiwi 360 yesterday after my husband had said how great it was when he visited years ago. The big Kiwifruit you can climb is good but the inside is rather boring - no facts about Kiwifruit, no pictures, just wooden planks. We went inside and decided to have a look around before going on a tour. The outside is underwhelming and completely run down. The maze, children's area and NZ pond are no longer running. We were going to purchase some liquor however after seeing the filthy state of the toilets, blocked and filled with used toilet paper, (not just in one toilet either) it was time to go. If this is what they show the public, what goes on behind the scenes. Gross!

2  Thank LMHORAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme C, Owner at Kiwi 360, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Hi LMHoran
We are sorry you felt the need to make your comments.
Let me clarify some relevant points for you:
1 The four-storey high giant Kiwi slice is an icon, which has a lookout platform at the top, which is accessed by internal stair cases to each floor. Inside the kiwi slice, it is not a gallery, or a museum, or anything else other than an. accessway to the lookout platform at the top.

2 The 28 year old main complex is an example of a NZ-unique building system called Lockwood.
The property owners had delayed a planned repaint and refurbishment for some time, until the economic environment improved, before authorising a full job to be done. The environment has greatly improved, and the exterior paint work is due to begin.

3 The relatively small part of the property where the maze, the childrens' play area, and the pond is located, has been closed for quite a long time now, awaiting new development. There were issues of safety, and it was totally uneconomic to maintain and operate. it has not been included in our value proposition for more than three years.
4 . The toilets are professionally cleaned every morning, and regularly checked by staff during the day. The day you were apparently here, was a cruise ship day, and we had a number of shore excursion coaches through, as well as small operators bringing passengers and visitors. ( several hundred pax) The toilets were not blocked, they were unflushed by a previous user.
It happens.
Normally, when a toilet issue such as you describe, occurs, invariably we are quietly advised by visitors, that one of the toilets needs a little attention, and after expressing appreciation of their thoughtfullness, we equally quietly, fix the problem.

Graeme C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our tour of Kiwi 360 was both fun and informative!! Our tour guide had been at the facility for a long time and could answer every question we had.
We toured on a cart with only 4 of us and we saw the orchids full of the different varieties of Kiwi's.
From the flowers to the end product, told of the planning and orchid care to get the delicious end product. How they are harvested and stored before being shipped all over the world.
After the tour we were brought back to the gift shop area where we sampled the kiwi themselves, tasted the kiwi wine. Both being absolutely delicious!!
Now when shopping make a point of looking for New Zealand Kiwi's, mouth still waters thinking about them!!

2  Thank panbk4g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme C, Owner at Kiwi 360, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Panbk4g

Your reflections on your visit are warmly received thank you.
Its a really rewarding commitment by staff to share their small region and it's most famous product with visitors who obviously get so much enjoyment from the experience.

Thanks for visiting and giving us that pleasure.

Graeme C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kiwi 360 also viewed

Te Puke, Bay of Plenty Region
Te Puke, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Paengaroa, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Kiwi 360? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing