We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beachfront Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amoreira
Certificate of Excellence
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Think twice”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed in the 3 bedroom beachfront townhouse (B02 & B07) for six nights. The first one we stay in (B02) had an overpowering sewage gas smell in the master bedroom. It was so bad we couldn't use the bedroom or ensuite. We complained about it immediately and were given one excuse after another from the reception staff. They told us that it was due to the way the wind was blowing and that we should wait a few days! When the smell didn't go away they eventually (after much complaining) offered us another villa that was nowhere near the standard of the beachfront houses. We were shocked at the way we were treated. No offer of a discount. The manageress was very unsympathetic and hardfaced - she couldn't careless about our holiday. We found out that the beachfront houses on both sides were available - but still the manager did not offer us one of these. It was only when we got our holiday agent in England involved that eventually we were offered another beachfront house. The most shocking thing was that once we moved into B07 other holiday makers moved into B02 the very next day - with the sewage gas problem unresolved! On the plus side the houses have great views of the sea and are very comfortable. If you are lucky enough to have no problems while you holiday here then I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay. But if you have a problem - don't expect it to be sorted out. Our whole experience was let down by poor management. Think twice about booking your holiday here - there are much better options available.

Room Tip: Don't get B02. There is a sewage problem and the staff know about it but still offer it to guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    26
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The Praia d'el Rey is a (very) large resort built around a golf course of which the Marriot hotel is one accomodation option. Most of the resort consists of villas and apartments which are run seperately to the hotel. We spent a week in an apartment on a promotional offer and cannot fault the accomodation as it was very good: spacious and with all required facilities including a washing machine, dishwasher, microwave, satellite tv etc.

Location wise it is a short walk to the beach which is large and clean but this part of the coast is very wild and windy - the sea is not really suitable for young children. The holiday apartments are largely located at the far end of the resort and a served by a small shop (ok for essentials but not cheap and a bar/restaurant). It is a long walk to other parts of the resort such as the hotel, clubhouse or activity centre.

It is a good 10-15 minute drive from the resort itself to any sizeable town or village with very little in between. The resort reception staff were very helpful in explaining where to go for what and I would recommend Peniche for supermarket shopping and Baleal for a good beach and calmer seas (although still popular with surfers) both of which are an easy drive away.

You definately need a car to get around but assuming you have one then it is a 20 minute drive to Obidos which is well worth a visit. For access to the lagoon take the back way out of the resort (not well signposted) as this leads to the south side of the lagoon with nice beaches and perfect paddling conditions for little ones.

Overall the accomodation is good but there is not a lot at the resort and it is a bit remote. However there are some great sights within an hour's drive. For a more beach focussed holiday then the beach itself is good but the sea is rough and there are no facilities. Much better options are Baleal, the lagoon or half an hour up the coast there is a great spot called Sao Martinho de Porto with a lovely sheltered bay, sufficient shops and restaurants and family friendly facilities.

Unless you have come to play golf I would probably look to stay at one of the other locations I've mentioned.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HeartoftheCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

First the good points faultless apartments with everything you could ever need but you are not part of the Marriott complex we were a good 35 minute walk from hotel. The Beachfront bar shuts at 8pm and the on site shop is small and expensive . The beach is beautiful but we were were there 7 days and the red flag was up for 6 days . We were there with friends so our teenagers had each other but they were bored as you can not walk any where. I do feel that the website gives you a true indication of what you are buying in to. The place is fab for families with small children and couples. It's totally uncommercialised and very quiet but there is nothing there. You need to drive every where and there are some beautiful places like Obidos but no restaurants or bars other than the Marriott

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Areas of the property are under construction. We rented a 3 bedroom apartment and the odor of sewer gas permeated the place. After complaining to 3 different people they moved ys to another apartment. Same problem. Saw other people complaining as well. Customer service is non-existent. They hire kids in their 20s who smile politely and have no idea how to resolve any issues. We asked for a discount and they said "no". This place could be fantastic but make sure they have taken care of the sewer gas problem. I am really upset that they did not accomodate us or attempt to resolve any of our issues.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schmoogiedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

we stayed in Beachfront townhouse. firstly the accommodation was excellent. well appointed fantastic location. I think we were lucky getting these new townhouses. (the white ones on the sea front if you look at the website).

we only managed 1 day in 9 on the beach due to the "rough seas", which was fine as Baleal and Obidos lagoon (our preferred site with our young kids) were only 10mins away. and the pool was small but great.

the resort was not so great, hence the lack of a 5 star review. the marriot pool is not available to use and that, of course is not mentioned on the website (they wanted 35 euros each to use it!). The clubhouse was okay (great team, food okay) although I will say my 6 year old thought their spag bol was excellent.

the kids club int he marriot was very good though as were the people at Club Adventura (the organised activity people at the resort, not the marriot). and this is the point: this is two resorts the marriot and the rest, which is not clear from the website.

the shop was practically useless, (and obviously expensive)

all in all the location and accommodation were excellent, just a little disappointed with the way the resort was organised, but that was probably poor expectation management from the website

Room Tip: get a beachfront residence
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This is a very nice resort. We used it for 3 days touring of the surrounding area. While the breakfast restaurant, the Atlantic Grill, was only average, the main dinner restaurant was so good, we returned all 3 nights. Selection of Portugese wines is awesome, and one of the wait staff, Isabella, is an expert. She selected wines for us that were spot-on twice. The third night she was off, and we learned her colleague was quite good, too.

Beware the scrambled eggs at breakfast--very watery and way under-done.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealDesertFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed in a apartment on the large Praia D El Rey Golf resort (we don't play) on the recommendation of a friend. The villas are all very large and comfortable, and each cluster shares a good large pool, so it does not get overcrowded. The resort is large and well looked after, and has a couple of small shops, a club house and restaurant and the large Marriot Hotel. We only used the shops, eating in local restaurants every night. There are horror stories about flies on Tripadvisor, and although they were no were near as bad as some previous reports, they are a bit of a nuisance, especially, with no air conditioning, when you want to leave the doors and windows open. The other draw back is that the site is a long way from anywhere, so you do have quite a drive to get anywhere else. What we loved was the area, Obidos is beautiful, Peniche lively and interesting, and with a good motorway close by, it was possible to drive to Lisbon, Sintra or Fatima for the day, which were all worth visiting. We found lots of nice restaurants and there was a useful guide in the villa which we used; we have never eaten so much fish, and it was all very good. The other draw back is the beach, although beautiful, it is often windy and the sea rough, however you can drive across the resort to a nearby lagoon which had a far more child freindly beeach, and shallow warm water.

We would recommend this as a good combination of apartment, pool and sites to see, but beware of the lack of aitr conditioning in the high summer, and we thought the accomodation might be cold in the winter. If we go to this area again we would probably stay in Obidos, since it was nice, and probably a better centre for travelling around.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 37Rycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amoreira
2.6 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
4.7 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
336 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Soleil Peniche
Hotel Soleil Peniche
#2 of 10 in Peniche
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Marazul
Hotel Marazul
#1 of 1 in Serra del Rei
45 reviews
5.0 mi away
Agua d'Alma Hotel
Agua d'Alma Hotel
#1 of 2 in Foz do Arelho
91 reviews
10.6 mi away
Noiva do Mar Resort
Noiva do Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in Atalaia
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachfront Apartments

Property: The Beachfront Apartments
Address: Avenida D. Pedro I, 30 | Praia D'El Rey Golf & Beach Resort, Vale de Janelas, Amoreira 2510-453, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Amoreira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amoreira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beachfront Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachfront: you serviced home in Praia D'EL Rey. Stay at The Beachfront - Praia D'El Rey Golf & Beach Resort and choose fa fully equipped townhouse or apartment overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, with access to communal pools and gym. As you would expect, all our self-catering properties are furnished to a very high standard and include satellite TVs, music systems, fully equipped kitchens and bathrooms plus you'll receive a welcome drink on arrival. With the privacy of your own apartment or townhouse and the service of a hotel, with maid service every two days, you'll enjoy nothing less than a perfect holiday! You can also get preferential rates and tee-times at the award-winning Praia D'El Rey golf course, as well as special rates at the Kalyan Spa & Fitness, the Praia D'El Rey Tennis Centre and many other resort facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your The Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachfront Apartments Portugal/Amoreira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing