We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great place to be”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Estournels

View over the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over the pool
Les Estournels from the South in the Spring. The vine over the terrace is not yet in leaf here! The 'Blue Room'; main double.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
View over the pool
Les Estournels from the South in the Spring. The vine over the terrace is not yet in leaf here!
The 'Blue Room'; main double.
View over the pool towards the 14th Century hunting lodge, in the evening light.
The 'Bread Oven' ideal for teenagers!
Large twin room made up as a double, opening onto breakfast terrace
The pool area has a gate at each end which can be locked for security when not in use.
Inside the 'Bread Oven'
There are many shaded areas in the garden to eat, read a book, sketch a scene.
Try canoeing gently down the Dordogne
Rocamadour, 23 km by car, but only 2.5 hrs on foot!  Beat the tourists & watch the sunrise there
Secluded breakfast terrace for two...
Eat out on the vine-shaded terrace
Wander through the local vineyards - on a clear day see the Auvergne yonder....
.... and along the 'petits chemins' directly from the house - forget the car for a day!
Help yourself to herbs from the herb garden - bay, thyme, mint, parsley and more...
From the kitchen straight onto the terrace
The vast Salon
The Salon has a wood burning stove for when the evenings are chilly.
The cave easily within walking distance.....if you can find it!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Laval, Lot, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sosmall07
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What a great place to be”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Everything about the house was exactly as described, and as in the pictures. The location is amazing - very peaceful as everyone has said. The pool is fab - there is no 'shallow end', although there are steps, but that encouraged us to swim which was probably no bad thing. We loved the 'great hall' feel to the living room. We had wondered if it might feel too imposing, but it was surprisingly homely.
There are only four of us, including our teenage boys, so we had plenty of space. The access to the upstairs rooms is through one of the bedrooms - we weren't using this one, but it's worth bearing in mind if you need all the beds.
We were lucky to have great weather, so spent a lot of time by the pool, and had every meal on the vine covered terraces, in the shade. We don't think we've stayed anywhere with such nice places to sit outside.
We followed the owner's advice and took one of the local walks. Beautiful countryside and views that stretch for miles.
Close enough to Rocamadour to have days out in that area, and far enough away to not worry about the crowds.
As we left Les Estournels and drove to the nearby village for the last time, a deer walked slowly across the road in front of us. A lovely end to the stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you Steff for that lovely review. And it is a valid point about one of the bedrooms being a "through" room. The house is ideally a two "proper" bedroom house with the bread oven for kids/teenagers. But there are the extra beds available if needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chirnpar
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful - But.”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Firstly this is a stunning property at which to stay if you like old French farmhouse style, which we do. Do not stay here if you want modern everything because that just isn't the style. The grounds and the house are fantatstic and very well equiped with everything needed for a short or extended stay. House was very clean and well presented when we arrived and thanks to great communication from Melanie easy to find despite being tucked away in a very small village. Before booking I would suggest that you check the following have been fixed. Firstly the visitors in the roof over the main bedroom,second a very hard to get started washing machine even with instructions to nudge the door. My wife spent a frustrating 15 minutes trying to get it to work one day following instructions given. Third, leak from downstairs shower and also said washing machine. Both had a tendency to flood the hallway if not careful. Four, the freezer gets so iced up almost impossible to use. Five, do feel that more lighting is needed in the main lounge area and definately not enough seats for the number of people the house can fit. I do feel that there are just a few too many problems which guests should not have to put up with given that good money is being paid
Ok so they are the bad points. When I write a review I can see no point in not mentioning those as well.
Apart from the above this is a great place to stay if you are looking for an away from it all place. Lots of walking around and some great towns and villages. Note there are no shops in Laval. If the above problems are fixed I would love to re visit as this is a very special area of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: The small problems within the house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review - and I would totally agree that reviews are worth nothing if the negatives perceived are not mentioned as well as the positives.
As you describe so well, it is a country house, so occasionally one might expect a "visitor" in the roof space. This was dealt with immediately upon receiving your message.
We acknowledge your points on the idiosyncratic equipment, and are reviewing our list of priorities when it comes to replacing things.

It is worth mentioning, so that people considering this property for their holiday, that when you were staying (September), you had really bad luck with the weather & were therefore forced to spend more time indoors than out. All the 5 star reviews above were written by people who basically lived on the terraces and by the pool or under the shade of the walnut trees. I am so sorry that you did not have the same experience; I would be delighted to invite you back anytime to review the improvements and to experience some sunshine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuzzerTuz...
Baldock, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Sitting out on the terrace under the vine looking out over pool and the wooded hills beyond - it's hard to imagine a better place to be. A gorgeous cottage - easy to get to but feels properly remote. The best thing is there's no wifi - so after about 5 mins of grumbling from the kids and an apologetic text to the office you can actually properly relax...

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena R
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable farmhouse in stunning setting”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a wonderful place! We had the most amazing two weeks in this beautiful old farmhouse, which is set in its own large gardens in a secluded and beautiful valley. The comfortable and charming house has everything you could need although most of the time you will want to be outside as we were in the lovely large pool or sitting out on one of the many shady, vine-covered terraces. A fantastic place for bird and lizard watching and star-gazing - we spent happy evenings spotting shooting stars, to a background of goats’ bells tinkling in the field across the valley. There are so many things to do nearby that we were spoilt for choice. Highlights for us included visiting the famous caves – the Gouffre de Padirac with its incredible stalactites and stalagmites and lake and the Gouffre de Cougnac with its prehistoric cave paintings- visiting Sarlat at night to see the street theatre, the very jolly 14th July celebrations in the local village of Payrac, and dinner in the pretty medieval town of Gourdon nearby. The area is also well known for its canoeing. All in all, a truly fantastic holiday - we recommend this property very highly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad Les Estournels worked it's magic on you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J H
Millau, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A 'gem': beauty, tranquility and comfort in a wonderful location.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

'gem': beauty, tranquility and comfort in a fantastic location.

It's impossible for pictures to capture the stunning valley setting of this lovingly converted farmhouse. Family owned for many years, it feels like a real home that has evolved charmingly, with a keen eye for beauty and sympathy with it's age and surroundings. The owner provided accurate and detailed replies to our queries before we booked and couldn't have been more helpful or keen for us to enjoy the property and the area to the full. Delightful details added to its charm; like the secluded terrace leading off one of the bedrooms, where you could enjoy a quiet moment or the cherry tree and wild strawberries within a hand's reach of the kitchen.

Thoughfully laid out to provide to vine-covered terraces which ensured you could eat or relax in sun or shade at any time of day. The tastefully terraced and enclosed pool is large and, though unheated, maintained a comfortable 26c from early June. The nearby village of Payrac provides all day-to-day needs, with its boulangerie, butcher/general store, weekly small market, pharmacy, bar, garage, post and tourist offices. Gourdun at 12km has the major supermarkets and a wider range of shops and services. The area is rich in things to see and do for all ages and tastes, be it kayaking on the many rivers, walking or cycling in the spectacular countryside, exploring the grand chateaux, visiting caves like Padirac or Pech Merle or revelling in the region's gourmet specialities. However doing nothing at Les Estournels is all too easy. We spent hours just watching the huge range of birds visiting the birdbath!

We booked the property for 3 weeks as a special treat following a serious illness and it really wasn't long enough. This is truly a slice of paradise and we can't recommend it strongly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up to such amazing beauty, day after day
Liked least: Having to come home.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review. The house may not be high-tech modern delux - but there is a magic about the place which clearly you totally felt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;