We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every sense!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bronte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Bronte B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Very clean, nice big room and bathroom; best shower and best bed; excellent breakfast and view on the sea; very friendly host with plenty of recommendations to make the best of our time there!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warmoes139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Hi Julia - thanks for taking the time to write a review. I thoroughly enjoyed your brief stay - the best part of running a B&B is all the quality people I meet and the interesting life stories I hear. I hope to see you up this way again some day. Warm regards, Lis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Lis made us feel welcome the whole time we spent there, she helped us with places to see around the area, best of all was the fantastic breakfasts she cooked for us, which more than set us up for the day. Our room was beautifully set out and whenever I was looking for my husband I found him taking in the view that looks over the bay on to Rabbit Island and the hills beyond.
Over all an excellent experience

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

From the arrival welcome to the quality and freshness of the house, everything about the stay exceeded expectations. The beds were comfortable and everything was beautifully clean and fresh. Lis is a goumet chef and produced some wonderful treats. To a confirmed bacon and eggs for breakfast man, the morning repast was a bit of a shock, but a very pleasant surprise! The home made muesli had me going back for more with the fresh home made yoghurt and fresh fruit picked from the property, followed by a yummy egg dish & coffee it was sufficient to keep us going all day.
Lis also was a fountain of knowledge of the Nelson region and was able to provide great information on things to do and see which made our trip extremely enjoyable

Room Tip: The larger room has a separate lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Hi Chris, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad you survived a week of my breakfasts and lived to tell about it! Warm regards, Lis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at this b & b for two nights, but another night or two would not be too long - there is lots to see and do in the area. We stayed in Max's room, and there is a nice little veranda just outside the door. It is part of the main veranda which wraps around a few sides of the house, but it is quite private, to sit out and have a glass of wine.
The location was very good for driving to Abel Tasman in the morning, for a sailing adventure we had booked. But it would also be very good to visit Nelson - just a short drive away as well. And we were pleasantly surprised at the quality and choice of restaurants in Mapua, just a few minutes from the b & b. There are many more attractions in the area as well - in fact, it was one of our favourite areas we visited on our trip to New Zealand.
Lis and Chris were very welcoming, and the breakfasts were lovely. The fresh fruit salad was a great treat. The weather was nice enough to eat out on the veranda (another part of the same veranda outside Max's room), with great views out to the water. And in the evening, a nice little homemade snack appeared in our bedroom. Very nice touch.
Lis packed a lunch for us to take along on our sailing adventure. It was fabulous, but I am not sure whether she wants to make that a regular part of the services she has on offer! Great idea in my opinion. So nice to have a picnic, rather than always be looking for a restaurant.
The only marginally negative (or slightly less positive) thing that could be said about Cat's Pjamas is that it is very near a busy road. However, having said that, the road noise quieted down at night, so there was no sleep issue associated with this at all. And, the location, close to the main highway west of Nelson, is very handy.

Room Tip: I would recommend Max's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suec89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Hello Sue,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a lengthy review - especially as you're undoubtably playing catch-up at home. If you're willing, do you mind letting me know how we could have improved the service and the room? Reviews have great value in giving us a chance to do things better and we're keene to provide an exceptional experience for people who choose to stay with us. Warm regards,
Lis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Our thanks to Lis and Chris for their warm hospitality during our overnight stay (in Max's room). Located in an attractive rural setting just off the main route from Richmond to Golden Bay, the accommodation is clean, comfortable and spacious and Lis's food is superb. Cat's Pjamas is an excellent place to stay and gets an unqualified thumbs-up from these two visiting Marlburians!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Thanks Lis for your generous hospitality. You offer the best B&B I have experienced: all the comforts one could want, a lovely breakfast eaten overlooking a view (pancakes my favorite); great location, and a stunning property. A highlight for us was being just as happy spending time at the Cats Pjamas relaxing in the garden, swimming in the pool, and lounging on the sofas as leaving the B&B to be a tourist. I might also mention your chocolates, and the coffee just outside our door. I fully recommend the Cats Pjamas. It would be impossible not to be satisfied with your stay! We will be back.

Thanks again,

Marc & Anita

Room Tip: You can't miss. All of the rooms will be a pleasure to book. The property is well away from wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Hi Mark, Thanks for your comments :-) It was a pleasure hosting you for your honeymoon. WIshing you many happy years together. Kind regards, Lis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We have ejoyed a wonderful B&B experience at the Cat's Pjamas. The accommodations and property are exceptional and our hosts Chris and Lis have made us feel extremely welcome. The food has been out of this world and we would definitely recommend the Cat's Pjamas to anyone visiting the region.

Room Tip: We have a 2 year old son, Jacob, and so we found Fred's room ideal as it has a separate living a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatsPJ7081, Owner at Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Enjoyed your brief stay - the best part of running a B&B is all the wonderful people we meet! Hope to see you down this part of the world again sometime. Kind regards, Lis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronte
0.9 mi away
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
3.7 mi away
Pine Hill Lodge
Pine Hill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruby Bay
73 reviews
2.3 mi away
Accent House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hazelwood Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Kimeret Place
Kimeret Place
#2 of 3 in Bronte
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat's Pjamas Bed and Breakfast

Address: 232 Westdale Road | Mapua, Bronte, Mapua 7081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Bronte
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bronte
Price Range: £53 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cats Pjamas B&B is a welcoming sunny home filled with local artists creations. Situated on 3 landscaped acres overlooking the sea. You'll be pampered with homemade organic nibbles and amazing organic cooked breakfasts served on our deck with spectacular views. We're within walking distance of Playhouse Theatre and Cafe, and close to the restaurants and wineries of Mapua. Our backyard offers you 3 national parks. Everywhere you turn you're surrounded by spectacular beauty and serenity. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing