We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostess and peaceful location”
Review of Kimeret Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimeret Place
Ranked #2 of 3 Bronte B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hostess and peaceful location”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

One of the best places we stayed throughout our large tour of New Zealand! Gill is a lovely host making you feel both welcome, but not "watched" throughout your stay. She has really thought about how she would like to run the perfect B&B and set herself apart - origami toilet paper (yes really!), turning down our rooms when we went out, fluffy towels, in room treats, a bedtime Maori story, and a bespoke travel guide for our next long drive down the West Coast with her tips on where to go. Oh, and her breakfasts were divine!

The setting of the property is stunning with great views from the balcony and whilst eating breakfast.

The location is about a 5 minute drive from Mapua Wharf with some lovely restaurants and amazing fish and chips! A slight warning - if you are a couple that both like a drink with dinner, you will need to drive to get to the restaurants. However, Gill was very accommodating and let us have our fish and chips back at the house with a lovely bottle of wine after we'd enjoyed a beer at the local brewery. It is about a 45 minute drive to the start of the Abel Tasman National Park for kayaking etc.

I only wish we'd stayed longer to enjoy the pool and visit Golden Bay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgardiner2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
103
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We had a lovely stay at Kimeret Place. I couldn't fault it at all. The hosts were very kind and helpful and we all appreciated the daily cakes! We were there at New Year and thoroughly enjoyed the BBQ they put on for the occasion. It's a great location for exploring this part of the coast and Mapua is only a few minutes away. Vineyards and artists' studios are all within very easy reach (two are only a very short walk away).

Room Tip: Some rooms are in the main house and some are in a separate unit, so if you want total privacy, that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anntheartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Gill thank you for a wonderful couple of days. We both found it difficult to drag ourselves away from your beautiful house and garden with the fantastic views and of course lots of lovely local wine. Service and hospitality, i can only say was 5 Star plus and can only wish that we lived there.
Gill thank you again and look forward to sipping the local wine with you again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonComben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Gill was an Amazing host,her beautiful house was opened up to us, and it would have been very easy to spend your entire time there instead of exploring the impressive coastline.a great base from which to explore the area.only 8 mins drive from Mapua,what else could one ask for.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wmckean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We have just had the immense pleasure of being hosted by Gill this weekend. We were attending a family wedding in the area and happened upon this wonderful place on-line. From our first wonderful greeting we fell in love! The accommodation is wonderful - everything you could possibly need and more! Trays of gorgeous nibbles (including home-made brownies!), bathrobes, toiletries, fresh flowers and chocolates on your pillow all included! The environment is beautiful, wonderful views, gardens and bird life. Gill is a font of knowledge about the local area and was so welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts on the deck each morning were fabulous! We would strongly suggest if you are visiting the Nelson area, that you take the short and scenic trip and stay at Kimeret Place - we are sure you will love it as much as we did! Thanks Gill - the Ongley Family.

Room Tip: We (parents) stayed in the Alexander Room and our two adult children and their partners stayed in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My stay at Kimeret Place was absolutely perfect. The room was beautiful, very comfortable, exceptionally clean and the bathroom magnificent. There were so many lovely touches:
chocolates on the bed at night, Maori stories, fresh cakes in the room, and so many different designs for the lavatory paper one hardly wanted to use it.Gill was a fund of information ensuring that one got the most of the visit and she was exceptionally kind to me with regard to the computer! The breakfasts were delicious and I have never seen such enormous croissants.It was lovely too to have the company of the beautiful Emma, Gills' Golden Retriever and I enjoyed our walk together.I wished I had been able to stay longer

Room Tip: Lovely view from all in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldenRetriever_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Here is perhaps one of most wonderful of all the New Zealand B and Bs. The setting is idyllic, overlooking an inlet to the back of the house which offer spectacular morning and evening sunrises and sunsets. Gill is an attentive hostess and certainly willing to point out what is worthwhile seeing in the area (Kimeret Place is closer to Richmond, a pleasant small town, than it is to Nelson, about 20 minutes by car, which has the tourist attractions). We chose the two bedroom cottage as we were traveling with a friend and it was ideal, with a large comfortable living room, two bedrooms and two bathrooms, and excellent kitchen facilitiesl, a handy outdoor grill, and a nice hot tub available for star gazing late into the evening. If you are traveling in a group of three or four persons, this is spot for you!.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandLNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kimeret Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimeret Place

Property: Kimeret Place
Address: Bronte Road East | Off State Highway 60, Bronte, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Bronte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bronte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimeret Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation options include two luxurious suites and two adjoining apartments (which can be booked as a two bedroom cottage ideal for families or groups) All have complimentary tea/coffee facilities, fridge, mini-bar, hair dryers, toiletries, sitting area with TV, DVD and Hi-fi as well as views from either balcony or deck. One apartment is equipped for self catering if preferred. Also available are light meals, internet and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimeret Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing