We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late review for outstanding B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimeret Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimeret Place
Ranked #2 of 3 Bronte B&B and Inns
Shropshire UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Late review for outstanding B&B”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here for three nights last November during a month's tour of New Zealand and the Cook Islands, and we cannot rate this jewel of NZ highly enough. The location, the rooms. the breakfast and most of all the hospitality cannot be beaten.

Firstly the location - just outside Nelson but with a magnificent view of the bay, and easy access to most of the area. The garden is a delight, and the perfect place for breakfast on the terrace, which in itself is a meal to savour, with so many choices it made choosing difficult, and the potential to stay there all morning. The room was equally palatial and really comfortable, with a lovely veranda - ideal for an end of day apperatif or two. Others have mentioned the toilet paper origami figures; so good we saved thembut in the end went and bought the book and have been practicing at home. The only things we didn't try were the pool or hot tub - the weather wasn't really warm enough unfortunately.

However, the outstanding hospitality marked Kimeret Place as exceptional. Gill is an excellent hostess, and the little touches all around the place really help to make you feel at home. Her expert knowledge of the local area helped us decide on what to do, where to eat and even sorted out a place for an anniversary dinner (before we arrived).

We wish we could have stayed longer - next time we will.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wistanswick_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
103
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Although we arrived hours before we were expected, Gill gave us a warm welcome. All the little attentions in the room and at breakfast make you really feel at home. She gave us very good advice about activities and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is an outstanding B&B with an exceptional level of hospitality that even extends to a turndown service and making origami models from the end of the toilet paper roll. Our host provided numerous small acts of hospitality that made us feel welcome.

We had a very large room with settees and a veranda giving superb views over the tidal creeks around Rabbit Island. The bed was big and very comfortable; there was plenty of storage space and a large bathroom. Wifi was fast and there was plenty of parking.

Breakfast was extremely well cooked and presented out on the deck, with plenty of choice and generous portions. We saw many varieties of fresh fruits at breakfast that we hadn’t encountered elsewhere in NZ.

Our host gave us good advice about options for trips into the Abel Tasman National Park by boat and by water taxi, plus walking on the huge beaches of Rabbit Island. We opted for a full day cruise with Abel Tasman Charters - which took just us and another couple. An expensive day, but a great way to see the park from the water, spending some time exploring on foot and also taking out a kayak.

It is a 20 minute drive to Rabbit Island (connected to the mainland by bridge) which has 8km long golden sandy beaches that were essentially deserted. A fabuous, relaxing place to walk the beach.

The local restaurants are a 15 minute drive. Of these the Appleshed has a superb waterfront location, excellent food and reasonably fast service. The Boatshed also has a waterfront location and good food served in huge portions. Both these were recommended and booked by our host.

This B&B has a hot tub with an great array of jets designed to soothe and relax. There is also a small solar heated swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandP_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

One of the best places we stayed at during our one month tour of New Zealand. Gill made us very welcome right from the moment we arrived. Our room had fantastic views, the complimentary cakes in our room when we arrived and each day afterwards were delicious as was breakfast each day. The Maori story at night with the bed turn down made interesting reading. The origami toilet rolls were so artistic it was a shame to use this essential paper but not to worry, another one would appear. Gill was an excellent hostess and very helpful with advice and arrangements on trips, attractions and eating out. Thank you very much for a wonderful and memorable stay.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Our children treated us to the bed and breakfast as part of our 25 th wedding anniversary. Our hostess made us welcome and we soon discovered that we were upgraded to a gorgeous room with a view. The sharpness in the small and large design details, cosiness, and room facility is of high standard. Actually the price is really too low...thankfully. A real genuine recommendation for value for money and experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the master suite the one we had well what can we say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 469Paul59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Gill really does know how to make her guests feel both welcome and special. As has been mentioned on Trip Advisor by others there is afternoon cakes or fruit pies in your room, beds turned down, a Maori bedtime story on the bed, origami toilet roll and serviettes and an excellent breakfast to say nothing of fresh fluffy towels whenever they were used and a very comfortable bed. Best of all Gill always has a smile and will help with anything she can, including taking calls even late at night!
We enjoyed two full days, one at Tasman Park and one driving to the northern most tip of South Island and three very comfortable nights at Kimeret Place. Regrettably we did not have time to use the pool or hot tub.
We have no hesitation in recommending Kimeret Place and many thanks to Gill for a thoroughly enjoyable stay

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HSeeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

One of the best places we stayed throughout our large tour of New Zealand! Gill is a lovely host making you feel both welcome, but not "watched" throughout your stay. She has really thought about how she would like to run the perfect B&B and set herself apart - origami toilet paper (yes really!), turning down our rooms when we went out, fluffy towels, in room treats, a bedtime Maori story, and a bespoke travel guide for our next long drive down the West Coast with her tips on where to go. Oh, and her breakfasts were divine!

The setting of the property is stunning with great views from the balcony and whilst eating breakfast.

The location is about a 5 minute drive from Mapua Wharf with some lovely restaurants and amazing fish and chips! A slight warning - if you are a couple that both like a drink with dinner, you will need to drive to get to the restaurants. However, Gill was very accommodating and let us have our fish and chips back at the house with a lovely bottle of wine after we'd enjoyed a beer at the local brewery. It is about a 45 minute drive to the start of the Abel Tasman National Park for kayaking etc.

I only wish we'd stayed longer to enjoy the pool and visit Golden Bay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgardiner2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronte
10.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
644 reviews
7.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.2 mi away
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Appleby House & Rabbit Island Huts
1.6 mi away
Accent House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Bronte Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimeret Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimeret Place

Property: Kimeret Place
Address: Bronte Road East | Off State Highway 60, Bronte, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Bronte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bronte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimeret Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation options include two luxurious suites and two adjoining apartments (which can be booked as a two bedroom cottage ideal for families or groups) All have complimentary tea/coffee facilities, fridge, mini-bar, hair dryers, toiletries, sitting area with TV, DVD and Hi-fi as well as views from either balcony or deck. One apartment is equipped for self catering if preferred. Also available are light meals, internet and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kimeret Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing