We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Godsend”
Review of The Old Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Barn Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Llanmartin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Godsend”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The Old Barn Inn was recommended to us after we broke down on our way to West Wales. After a quick call they managed to book us into the hotel.
Sue welcomed us, and showed us to our room. The room was immaculate, and very spacious. The bed was comfortable and there was no noise from the M4 traffic.
We ate in the restaurant and both ordered off the Light-Bite menu. The portions were a good size, and very well priced. Breakfast was included in the price, and again the portions were of a good size, and very good.
We were allowed to check out at noon, and were offered a spot near the fireplace to wait for the garage to bring our car back.
Considering how distressing an unexpected breakdown can be we were very lucky for it to happen in such a beautiful part of Wales, and to be looked after by Sue with such compassion.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SoekNaAvontuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    73
    37
    15
    13
See reviews for
77
131
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

As so many others in the reviews, we stayed following a wedding reception. Now this experience can be a little different, with the focus upon larger numbers, especially in catering but we were very pleased. The meals were good and the staff managed the right balance between serving us well and not getting in the way of a private event.
A previous review spoke of the fact that the bedroom accommodation is in a block to the side of the historic building. This is true but it does mean that the rooms are spacious and modern and everything works a it should. It was all clean and well presented but yes it is modern.
Two things annoy me with hotels, being overcharged for a bottle of wine and being charged at all for the Wi-Fi use. Happily neither was a problem in this establishment.
Breakfast was of high quality and promptly served. However it is worth noting that this is a style of breakfast typical in the UK. If you are looking for a more continental style of cheese, cold meats and pastries, this is not provided.
The whole event worked well for the group and well for us as a couple- well done.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

om the moment we were greeted at reception to the moment we left the staff and owners were friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble and the relaxed atmosphere produced a good experience.The rooms are spacious and could easily cope with an extended stay. Well done - we will be back.
Robin Croslegh

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinCroslegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southend on sea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

we recently stayed at the old barn for our friends wedding what a lovely place the staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. the owners phil&jackie were fantastic always smiling and very friendly a lovely couple.the food was excellent and always hot which i feel is extremely important.I think phil &jackie have put into place what i think they would expect thereselves from an hotel.we will definately return to the old barn and of course there is the fantastic celtic manor golf and leisure resort close by excellent.

Room Tip: all the rooms we saw were of the same excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frederick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My brother's wedding was held last week at the Old Barn Inn, what a fabulous venue in lovely surroundings! Our party booked out the hotel and all the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful :) The glamorous Jackie was exceptional in helping plan the wedding and went above and beyond to accommodate the bride and groom's needs. The food was perfect, the rooms were absolutely lovely, I cannot praise the place highly enough!
Thank you Jackie and ALL the staff for making my brother and sister in-laws wedding day so perfect :) :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaflav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

To Jackie and Staff, thank you for making Lee and Sarah's wedding reception on the 27th so fantastic and for all your hard work beforehand and on the day. What a fantastic venue and wonderful backdrop for any newlywed couple.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Room was good size and functional - modern and tidy.
Road noise from the M4 - but not much the hotel can do about that
Breakfast was plentiful but very bland - they go for quantity over quality I'm afraid, but the service was polite and prompt

Room Tip: Nearest to the hotel means furthest from the M4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanmartin
3.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
581 reviews
7.6 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.3 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Barn Inn

Property: The Old Barn Inn
Address: Magor Road, Llanmartin, Newport NP6 2EB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport > Llanmartin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanmartin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Barn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Barn Hotel Llanmartin
The Old Barn Inn Newport/Llanmartin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing