We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
Review of Van Chai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van Chai Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Sam Son B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I have visited Van Chai Resort twice so far, when it was new in 2004 and during the last Chinese new year. I've got to say, I was very impressed with the improvements they've made to everything. I love how even during a big event, it is still peaceful enough to relax if you want to, as it should be. The staffs are so friendly and are very helpful when we were deciding what to eat, there are so many interesting foods that it is hard to choose. It is also close to Hanoi so it is easy for foreigners to go to, just land in Noi Bai airport and take a road trip for 3 hours. My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip and I wholeheartedly recommend Van Chai to anyone who wishes to go to Vietnam.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    19
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
14
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I came to Sam Son in Sep 2012 with my friends and our travel agent has chosen Van Chai resort for us. We knew this resort is biggest in Sam Son beach wherefore we were very excited. Van Chai resort is very beautiful with outside, very near the beach and quite. I like small ancient villa but the room is not very good inside. Be covered by ancient color we saw some dirty on the wall, the roof, floor...our minibar were not working, backward television, very small bed...All the rooms in same villa are connect to each other even next to us is strange people. The staffs were not very friendly. Breakfast is very good. Anyway, this is beautiful resort but not very good service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dung F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Me, my wife and 4 kids staid at the Van Chair resort over the Tet holidays, We had a very good stay despite being the only ones. The room was very spacious and staff service was excellent. Everything was open and we had a great time on the nearly deserted beach. It is indeed a great place to leave Hanoi for a weekend.
The food was good, and for a 4 star resort was affordable, the special tet dinner was excellent and had a strong and distinct Vietnamese flavor
Overall we had a great time and will certainly return

Room Tip: rooms with beach view are nice, with kids better on the ground floor than the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have visited Van Chai Resort several times already and I am truly impress with the resort. If you want a quiet time to read a book or to release your stress then this is the place. The service is great and the location is really great as you can always see the sunrise and sunset if you enjoy those sorts of thing. The resort is also a great place for family or with friends as there are things you can do to stay out of boredom; from swimming pool to billiards to beach volleyball.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jvle_2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I visited Van Chai with my classmates a few months ago.
It's absolutely fantastic - comfortably snuggled in greenery and facing the beautiful ocean, it offers one of the most excellent resting place.
The houses are dispersed throughout the garden, and both small & big rooms are clean and cozy in their own ways. I would strongly recommend renting the biggest villa (the one my friends and I stayed in) if you are about 6-8 people. The two-story villa sticks right in the middle of the resort, offering a fantastic view of the resort and the beach a wee distance away, and is full of coziness, family atmosphere and at the same time, traditions. The walls are made of windows so the sunlight shines right through the entire house in the morning.
Restaurant food is wonderful. All clean and tasty- esp. don't miss the traditional Vietnamese noodle at the breakfast buffet.
The beach is excellent. Safe wave and clean water. Would be perfect for a visit with family and friends. After swimming in the ocean you can swim in the warm-water outdoor/indoor swimming pool.
Staff are very friendly and polite.
I simply loved Van Chai & am sure you will, too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Such a wonderful experience I had there for my weekend with my husband. The room was perfectly comfortable with unique decoration. Moreover, the view to the sea was beautiful that I could never dream of. the staff was very pleasant and help to show us how astounding the resort is. Needless to say,the food was good. I really love Van Chai, it gave me the feel at home that no where could give us. Unfortunately, I could only spend my holiday there for 2 nights but I look forward to returning and staying longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

the van chai resort is a place where you can enjoy and relax. a quaiet place with a beatiful and lovely staff wich make everithig that yo feel good an conftebel. there is a pool and jacuzi also a sauna is avalabel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sam Son
0.7 mi away
FLC Luxury Hotel Samson
FLC Luxury Hotel Samson
#3 of 16 in Sam Son
32 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dragon Sea Hotel
Dragon Sea Hotel
#1 of 16 in Sam Son
22 reviews
9.8 mi away
Palm Hotel Thanh Hoa
Palm Hotel Thanh Hoa
#2 of 25 in Thanh Hoa
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ivy Hai Tien Hotel
Ivy Hai Tien Hotel
#4 of 25 in Thanh Hoa
1 reviews
9.2 mi away
Tai Hoa hotel
Tai Hoa hotel
#3 of 25 in Thanh Hoa
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muong Thanh Hotel
Muong Thanh Hotel
#6 of 25 in Thanh Hoa
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Chai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Chai Resort

Property: Van Chai Resort
Address: Quang Cu Commune, Sam Son, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thanh Hoa Province > Sam Son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Sam Son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Van Chai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van Chai Resort is a tranquil haven along Sam Son beach. This Grande Dame of historical and traditional charm offers guests the finest in luxury and service.With its stunning colonial architecture,spacious and relaxing rooms, beach front setting and personalized service; Van Chai Resort**** is a place where there is always enough time for things that really matter! Nestled within the pine forests on one of the most romantic beaches in North Vietnam, Van Chai resort is a sanctuary for retreat and rejuvenation. To many travellers, the grandeur of the resort and accommodation, the facilities within its enchanting ambience, and the tantalizing cuisines of its restaurants, has made Van Chai Resort a sanctuary for them to visit again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Van Chai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing