We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent venue for golf /spa and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“An excellent venue for golf /spa and food”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just returned from a short 2 day break here and was very impressed with the whole set up .Despite some current improvement work being carried out to the Reception area, the check in and check out were done quickly and efficiently. The room was comfortable, warm., spacious and clean . The lounge area was welcoming with a "proper" fire and comfy leather seating and a good selection of ales and lagers. Staff in all areas were very friendly and attentive and made for a pleasant stay. The food choice, presentation and quality was superb, certainly better than expected and well above normal hotel food . Some very interesting dishes with a real mix of flavours--starting with a trio of breads --I had one with white chocolate and chilli ,a smoked salmon and brown shrimp starter with samphire then monkfish with a pickled banana jam and a bramley apple and cinnamon panacotta with chilli crumble topping !!
All superb ,unusual and cooked to perfection, excellent. Played 2 rounds of golf and the courses were both very good ,a bit hilly so you know you've walked !! the 18th on both courses are played over water towards the clubhouse-daunting but fun. Made use of the complimentary spa facilities,clean modern with a nice size pool,sauna and steam rooms and a smallish Jacuzzi.All in all an excellent venue on all counts ,would highly recommend and certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willowfield8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. It does sound as though you made good use of all our facilities in the resort – which is definitely what we encourage! Our Lakes Restaurant does serve some exceptional food and I will make sure that our chefs know that you enjoyed it. Glad you found the golf courses challenging and that you were then able to take advantage of the pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    239
    108
    47
    19
See reviews for
119
315
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WOKING
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here with a group of 24 golfers on 1 night 2 round sof golf package. The food and service we excellant. The group were put in a separate room and served dinner. Oustanding.
The facilties are good and the two golf courses are challenging.
Well worth a trip. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilW9616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. Which course did you find more challenging – the Gainsborough or the Constable? I am happy to hear that you and your group enjoyed private dining during your stay. Hope you will all return next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night as part of a golf break package with 2 other couples. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was excellent, the staff brilliant. Our waiters were very polite and professional. Here comes the 'but' - this resort has banqueting facilities. Nothing wrong with that, it's a business. However, on Saturday night, a very loud disco from one of the numerous function rooms kept us awake. Even though our room was on the the second floor, I honestly felt like we were sleeping on top of one of the bass speakers. The music eventually abated at 01:00 am sharp on Sunday morning, when we fell asleep instantly.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is as far away from the function rooms as possible if you want to fall asleep by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B4ndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing us. Which course did you play during your golf break? I am happy to hear that you enjoyed that aspect of your stay. I hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the disruption to your sleep. Please be assured that our staff do their best to manage Saturday night functions so that they don’t affect other guests but it is understandably difficult. I hope you will consider giving us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Superb hotel with maximum health facilities, like spa, swimming pool, gym and 18 hole course. Great rooms for modest prices with excellent hotel and packages off season. We enjoyed the location, although we donot play golf, unfortunately.

Room Tip: Back side rooms overlook the golf course....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornelis n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Did you have a chance to try the Lakes Restaurant? If you come back and visit you could always have a golf lesson? Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was forced out of the house recently following St Jude Storm and had no electric for 4 days, I checked in at very late notice one evening mid week and stayed for two nights. I got an excellent rate which was reduced further when I said I did not need breakfast. I only live a few miles away.

The room was very well appointed and large with a very nice bathroom. I loved the powerful shower and comfortable bed. I did not use any of the facilities other than the bar during my stay but have done so in the past and know from experience they are good. The pool area is very nice indeed.

I will highly recommend a stay to friends and family visiting this part of Suffolk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdmiralGant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thanks for your review. Glad we could help you out a bit while you dealt with the aftermath of the St Jude storm. Hopefully we’ll see you and some of your visiting family members over the festive period, perhaps?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The positives:
Food and service in the restaurant were first class, both for dinner and breakfast. The pool and spa facilities were more than adequate. The hotel is in a great location and the grounds are attractive. The 'Autumn Escape' package offered excellent value for money. Drinks were very reasonably priced.

The 'not quite so positives':
The room décor was rather dull. Check in was a little tense (possibly due to the problems created by the weather earlier in the week). Some TV channels were not available (no big deal, though). Some signs of wear and tear need addressing (duct tape on the stair treads, for example). Cappuccino sold in the spa cafe was definitely not the real thing (it would have been nice to have been told this in advance).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajwillmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for posting such a thorough review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our Autumn Escape hotel package and made use of the facilities during your stay. You are right, the inclement weather hit us rather hard on Monday and we did our best to recover quickly. I hope you enjoyed your stay overall and that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Good hotel, well appointed and tastefully furnished rooms. Excellent restaurants and service. Good golf courses too in excellent condition given the lateness in the season. Recommended if you are happy being literally in the middle of nowhere, up past colchester.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pnewcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you feel we have a well-appointed resort with plenty of activities on site. You are absolutely right that our location is perfect for escaping the hustle and bustle of cities and towns. Hope you will come back for a weekend of relaxation in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
8.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
21.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
13.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
957 reviews
11.3 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
19.0 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa Leavenheath, Suffolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing