We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue for a conference”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good venue for a conference”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Found this hotel to be great for a business event. Good-sized main conference room with breakout facilities. Pleasant rural location with easy road access to Colchester, wider Essex, Herts and Suffolk. Ample car-parking.Less accessible, however, by train.
Welcoming staff and great customer service. Food was decent, hot and plentiful, which isn't always the case when part of a large party.
Bedrooms were clean, a good size and comfortable. Didn't hear any noise even though the hotel was full and I am a light-sleeper..
Nice to use the pool and spa after a long day. Free fast wifi throughout the hotel.
Great package for a conference, but I am sure this hotel would also be pleasant for a leisure break

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing your conference stay with us. I hope that your event went well. We like to hear when delegates staying in the hotel make the most of our complimentary poolside facilities – the perfect way to unwind after a long day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    250
    119
    50
    23
See reviews for
130
335
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Just back from relaxing spa weekend. Plenty of loungers around pool. Pool decor could do with a spruce up but all clean. Hotel rooms lovely. Evening meal a little too pretentious but well Cooked and fresh. Great English breakfast - but would be excellent if they served some Potato products and kept on top of empty containers. Will
Go back

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
I appreciate your review – thank you. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your time in the spa and the food offering in the Lakes Restaurant as well as the breakfast. We would love to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Myself and my mother booked a midweek two night stay arriving on wednesday we were pleasantly suprised to see quite a few cars in the carpark as we were worried it would be empty midweek . On arrival we went to reception to be met by two very pleasant ladies we were a bit early so they offered to stow our bags and we went for a light lunch until check in time .The bar is full of comfy sofas and has a large central fire which gives a lovely cosy feel to the room it seems well used by local people and golfers so there is a nice atmosphere . After lunch we checked into our twin room which had a flat screen tv, tea, coffee, biscuits, a hair dryer and a room safe free of charge . We chose to eat at the restaurant for dinner and the food was of good quality Jackie,Domonique and the staff were lovely and couldnt do enough for you . While we were there the hotel hosted a charity afternoon tea which we attended . We used the spa throughout our stay and it was very good there is a sauna,steam,rasul,a gym and a pool with a snackbar attached there are plenty of loungers around the pool towels are provided and you can get a gown for a £20 deposit which is returned to you when you leave . All the staff are warm and friendly and the customer base seems to be quite diverse . I would love to return in the summer as the have beautiful grounds and outside seating in the restaurant . All in all a thoroughly pleasant experience .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Very pleased to hear that you had a good time during your stay with us and that you will be returning. The Charity Afternoon Tea event was a huge success – thank you for supporting it! I hope you will find time to visit us during the summer months.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Five of us visited this hotel and spa for the spring bank holiday in May 2013 had a Sunday arrival with lunch,spa treatments and then upgraded to have dinner with overnight stay. When I booked I explained we had a 13 year old young lady who was well behaved and can she attend the hotel and spa as some hotels have policies not to have children under 16/18 and was told she could, so all was booked.We had been to the crown plaza before on many occasions but decided to try another hotel for a change and we was not disappointed. Treatments were lovely, 4 of us had the one hour package, the young lady in our party had a mini facial and her nails painted which she loved, it was a truly lovely day. The food was lovely, staff was lovely and the rooms were lovely for our party and the hotel arranged for our rooms to be next to each other, we absolutely loved this place and said we would come back again. We all decided we would come back on Sunday 25 may 2014 for a spa day and overnight stay. Rang the hotel today and got through to the spa, explained again we had a young lady in our party and how last year they accommodated her and that she is 14 etc only to be told that the spa would not allow anyone under 16. I explained they did last year, to then be told that I must have said she was 16 years old last year and that if they done it for us now they would have to do it for other persons under 16. Firstly I do not lie and was honest last year to say how old this young lady was and when I booked last year she was accepted to attend and spent a lot of money at this hotel. By saying I must have told the hotel last year that she was 16 was very rude. This young lady only had a mini facial and nails as we were aware she could not have the back massage due to her being 13 and the spa agreed she could have the mini facial and a nail paint. As a professional and a solicitor I do not lie and if the spa policy is no under 16's then by looking at this young lady last year it would have been noticeable she was under 16. I was told today by the lady at the spa that she has been working at the hotel for 8 years and that was their policy and there is no way they would have allowed someone under 16 into the spa area, I explained that she had lunch in the restaurant near the pool and sat where the pool was all afternoon etc and she was permitted to the spa and pool area even though they knew her age and she was not a young person who is immature and noisy, she just relaxed and read her magazines. I accept business's have strict conditions and policies but to say I must have said she was 16 last year was unacceptable. We would have come back numerous times a year to this hotel and spa but after today we will not be spending anymore money here and we would have spent a lot of money at this venue. I will not be recommending this hotel to friends or family now, so very disappointed. After I rang the hotel I rang the young lady's mother to explain what was said and that her daughter cannot go as she is under 16, she was furious to say the least and she will not be recommending this hotel or spa now either. When we went last May there was swimming lessons going on for under 16's but was told today that your policies are no under 16's. If the hotel allow under 16's for a few hours swimming etc surely you could have allowed this young lady to come for the afternoon, as it is we would have only been in the spa area from about 12-6 with her, shocked!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words regarding your previous Spa Day with us. You are correct that we made an exception to our age restriction policy last year in order to accommodate your request for the young lady to have a modified Spa Day. The Receptionist that you spoke to when trying to make your May 2014 booking was not aware that we had bent our rules in that previous instance and, as a result, she was only able to offer our standard policy.

Unfortunately, while the young lady in your party did behave exceptionally well, we have since had instances where our good nature has been abused and we have been forced to adhere to our standard policy – which dictates that the minimum age is 16 for a Spa Day.

We hope you will accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience this has caused the young lady and your party as a whole. We do hope you will consider returning when she is a little bit older.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury Suffolk England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

First visit to this location with friends who recommended this restaurant to us. Great service very friendly from the young waiter Stuart, Polite, Curtis and very diligent and recommended a great meal, its good when your waiter can remember what drinks you need and always keeping a watchful eye to see if everything was ok. Alway had smile on his face and provided us with a top class service. Food was excellent and tasted great, drinks service was very quick.
I would recommend this Restaurant to anyone who fancies a great night out with friends, very warm welcoming and homely atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
What a wonderful review of our Lakes Restaurant! Thank you so much for taking the time to post it. I will pass on your lovely comments to Stuart so that he knows that his service made a real impact on your evening. I do hope that you will come back and I really appreciate your recommendation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Excellent hotel, with a fantastic fitness centre,
Lovely meal , and a great couple of lads behind the bar, who kept us entertained, polite, and chirpy, refreshing change, Keep up the great work Jack and Stuart,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I will make sure that Stuart and Jack see your feedback. Hope we will see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Excellent hotel with great fitness facilities set in the Suffolk countryside around 15 minutes from Sudbury and an hr from Ipswich. Food is good, breakfast had a lot I choice. The menu is a little limited. Nothing grand but certainly very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Glad you made use of our Technogym in Peake Fitness. I hope you also had the time to relax by the pool. Please come visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
8.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
21.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
13.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Country Cottages
8.2 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
992 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa Leavenheath, Suffolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing