We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Break Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mini Break Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I decided to book a Fabulous Friday deal for our wedding anniversary. It was great! The package included a bottle of wine in the room on arrival and afternoon scones and cream. Our room was upgraded and we had lovely views over the golf course. I have to say the staff were wonderful. There was no waiting at reception with lack of attention - all staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. I felt most went the extra mile and their customer service was excellent. The food in Lakes was exceptional you must eat here! The spa was very good as were the treatments - a thoroughly pleasant and uplifting experience which I hope we can do again soon.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Happy wedding anniversary! Thank you for your review. I’ve passed on your lovely comments about excellent customer service to our staff. Please come visit again soon. Maybe the next wedding anniversary?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    239
    108
    47
    19
See reviews for
119
315
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Visited with 3 friends for a 3 day golf break, we were all looking forward to the break as I had visited the hotel alone in November for a 2 night stay prior to us booking a 3 day golf break and had found everything top class. I had told them about the excellent food , great golf courses and an added bonus of a snooker room . On arrival we had lunch in the golf bar --which was fine-- then as we had arrived early (we had golf booked for 1.30) we decided to see if we could check in early. The receptionists (2) both seemed to be doing something more important than dealing with guests ?? but eventually a lady was free ?. our request was greeted with almost scorn !! left us with the feeling that had we been 5 mins early we still wouldn't have been allowed to check in ? So we decided - OK -- we will have a couple of frames of snooker to pass the time pre golf. But we were then informed the 2 snooker tables have been removed ?? When we stated this was one of the reasons for choosing the venue ( there are many golf break complexes) the lady said ( rather frostily!) we should have checked the website ? -- why would we do this after booking ?? especially as I had visited as late as November ??
So we decided to try to arrange an earlier tee time ?? This was done but we were put on the gainsborough course -- what a disappointment -- is in the process of being "prepared" for a professional tournament -- we are not professionals --rough was 8 ins !! etc etc.We also found over the three rounds that the course is so oversubscribed ( 4 hours 35 min rounds) delays on every tee -- no starter -- no course marshall to check slow play etc --members "demanding" to be let through ( a 2 ball in a buggy -- we were a fourball with trolleys ??)-- made for an enjoyable golf experience -- NOT )
Plus points the restaurant food was the same excellent standard ( service was slow however ) but little things spoilt the break -- biscuits not refilled -- door key didn't work --reception staff -- slow service -- childrens swimming classes in pool --doors from golf bar to verandah locked ?? -- shame as weather was great to sit outside ( if you fancied a walk !!)
So overall disappointing -- not the same place I stayed in Novemeber ( and work on new entrance still going on ??? - 5 months ??) Shame - wont be returning

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willowfield8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed over for one night with my husband through a spa deal. We both had 4 treatments which were the best I've ever had. The food is amazing and definitely a must to eat at the restaurant when you stay. The breakfast was also amazing I really cannot put into words how much we loved it there!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
This is such an excellent review! Thank you very much! Which treatments did you have? Please come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

A very enjoyable stay to celebrate my daughter's 40th. Staff very friendly, helpful, nothing too much trouble. An ideal mini break. Golf course very enjoyable . Spa staff very professional . Thank you for making this special for myself and daughter.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if required
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoPlaice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
What an excellent review! Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad you enjoyed the golf and the spa. Hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Our wedding day was made incredibly special by all of the staff at this hotel. The grounds were spectacular and the food really was delicious. My special day was really a perfect day! I would recommend this venue to anyone and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz_wootton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marijk at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We really appreciate your recommendation. I’m so happy to hear that we helped to make your day special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We got married in May last year and had our wedding reception at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa. We fell in love of the venue itself as well as the area surrounding the hotel when we saw it for the first time. It definitely exceeded our expectation as the staff were fantastic and well organized, taking care of every single detail to make our special day running smoothly. The food was excellent with lots of choices to accommodate our request. We enjoyed our night stay in the Tamara suite accompanied by flowers, champagne and a lovely card from the staff. Everyone had a great time and people are still telling us how great our wedding was. We would definitely recommend this beautiful place to everyone for their special day. Enzo & Rosa

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnzoAndRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
So happy you had a wonderful wedding in May! Congratulations! Thanks for your review and I hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

me and my partner stayed here for one night, we wanted a last minute night away to spend some time together. we mainly chose this hotel because of the spa and swimming pool facilities. turns out that this was the only highlight of the hotel. we booked a superior double and when arriving in our room we was extremely dissapointed. it was dark, dull and had no modern feel to it what so ever. we did complain, asking if all the rooms were the same decor, unfortunately they were. the room definitely did not feel of a superior standard and we felt quite gutted we had booked it and spent the money on it. the bed was also very uncomfortable. two single beds put together considering it was meant to be a superior room, old mattress with hard springs!! I can say i would not return to the hotel itself, however i would conside having a spa day there. the hotel breakfast was also very disapointing, the turn around was extremely slow. the waiting staff had to be prompted by me and other guests to bring out more juice, tea, coffee. it was very dissapointing for £12 per head.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am happy that you enjoyed the swimming pool and spa facilities. Though, I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with some aspects of your stay. We pride ourselves on a high level of customer service and as such I would be grateful if you would allow us the opportunity to investigate your stay thoroughly. Please email my colleague Moira Carr (moira.carr@stokebynayland.com) with your details at your earliest convenience and we will get to the bottom of this. Thank you for your help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
8.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
21.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
13.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
19.0 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
11.3 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa Leavenheath, Suffolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing