We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Hotwire.com
View Deal
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland(Stoke by Nayland)
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marquis(Layham)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel(Colchester)(Great Value!)
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$404
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveller rating
446
283
136
60
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
446
283
136
60
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstoke by naylandchanging roomsfull body massagelounge barsteam roombar menuduty managerboth nightswedding receptionrelaxing breaknight breakovernight stayafternoon teamain restaurantone night staysandwichessteak
Filter
Updating list...
623 - 628 of 954 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had a lovely weekend at this hotel . Our room was of a good size ,with very comfortable beds , and beautiful views across the Golf course. A bottle of prosecco was included in the package we booked , and this was waiting for us in an ice bucket - so often I have had to chase these things up, as hotels have ' conveniently ' forgotten to offer what they have promised !
Our deal also included dinner and breakfast , the food was very good , however , our one complaint , was that the restaurant at dinner was incredibly noisy , as there were several very large parties also booked in , the noise was so loud towards the end of our stay, that I couldn't even hear what my husband was saying . We mentioned the noise level to reception , and they were very apologetic - we understood that it wasn't their fault .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miffy-1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent stay. It’s great to hear that you had such a lovely stay. Further to your comments in regards to the noise in the restaurant, as you already understand it is very difficult for the restaurant team to manage the sound levels of other guest in the hotel. We do of course appreciate your feedback and will keep them in mind for future occasions when there are large groups staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Love this hotel, the staff are very friendly and made such a fuss of the kids. The swimming pool is a good size but could be a few degrees warmer. Had a massage which was lovely, the spa isn't ridiculously priced like some I've been to. The lakes restaurant is very pleasant, the staff are knowledgable of the menu & the food was great I had the pork terrine followed by chicken with mustard mash both were delicious! The room was nice a bit more attention to the tea/coffee making facilities would have given the hotel a 5 from me, 1 cup hadn't come out of dishwasher clean and the coffee and sugars had been used (to be fair they had been placed in such a way that you didn't know till you picked them up so can forgive the cleaners for not realising)
Breakfast was very nice, would prefer it if they brought toast to the table I hate the slow do it yourself toasters.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Pumpinicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Great to welcome you back to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa again! Lovely to hear that you had such a nice time in the spa area, and that you felt very welcome with the children. Thank you for your comments in regards to the toaster in the restaurant, we will of course take these onboard. Fantastic news that you had such an amazing meal in the restaurant, pork is actually one of our Chef’s many specialities. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here over a weekend and it was fabulous. The spa was lovely, plenty of sunbeds, facilities all clean and in working order. I had a treatment which I thought was wonderful . The Cafe next to the spa provides lovely snacks at great prices. Rooms were spacious clean, bright and airy. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice for a cold or hot breakfast in lovely restraunt. We visited the bar in the evening , reasonable prices, excellent service. Reception helpful at all times. Grounds were lovely, very well kept. Excellent stay, I would 100% recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course, lovely views
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EILIR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your fabulous comments, we have relayed these back to the whole team. It sounds like you made great use of the Spa and some of the other hotel facilities whilst here with us. We will look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I decided to book a Fabulous Friday deal for our wedding anniversary. It was great! The package included a bottle of wine in the room on arrival and afternoon scones and cream. Our room was upgraded and we had lovely views over the golf course. I have to say the staff were wonderful. There was no waiting at reception with lack of attention - all staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. I felt most went the extra mile and their customer service was excellent. The food in Lakes was exceptional you must eat here! The spa was very good as were the treatments - a thoroughly pleasant and uplifting experience which I hope we can do again soon.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the golf course.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Happy wedding anniversary! Thank you for your review. I’ve passed on your lovely comments about excellent customer service to our staff. Please come visit again soon. Maybe the next wedding anniversary?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Visited with 3 friends for a 3 day golf break, we were all looking forward to the break as I had visited the hotel alone in November for a 2 night stay prior to us booking a 3 day golf break and had found everything top class. I had told them about the excellent food , great golf courses and an added bonus of a snooker room . On arrival we had lunch in the golf bar --which was fine-- then as we had arrived early (we had golf booked for 1.30) we decided to see if we could check in early. The receptionists (2) both seemed to be doing something more important than dealing with guests ?? but eventually a lady was free ?. our request was greeted with almost scorn !! left us with the feeling that had we been 5 mins early we still wouldn't have been allowed to check in ? So we decided - OK -- we will have a couple of frames of snooker to pass the time pre golf. But we were then informed the 2 snooker tables have been removed ?? When we stated this was one of the reasons for choosing the venue ( there are many golf break complexes) the lady said ( rather frostily!) we should have checked the website ? -- why would we do this after booking ?? especially as I had visited as late as November ??
So we decided to try to arrange an earlier tee time ?? This was done but we were put on the gainsborough course -- what a disappointment -- is in the process of being "prepared" for a professional tournament -- we are not professionals --rough was 8 ins !! etc etc.We also found over the three rounds that the course is so oversubscribed ( 4 hours 35 min rounds) delays on every tee -- no starter -- no course marshall to check slow play etc --members "demanding" to be let through ( a 2 ball in a buggy -- we were a fourball with trolleys ??)-- made for an enjoyable golf experience -- NOT )
Plus points the restaurant food was the same excellent standard ( service was slow however ) but little things spoilt the break -- biscuits not refilled -- door key didn't work --reception staff -- slow service -- childrens swimming classes in pool --doors from golf bar to verandah locked ?? -- shame as weather was great to sit outside ( if you fancied a walk !!)
So overall disappointing -- not the same place I stayed in Novemeber ( and work on new entrance still going on ??? - 5 months ??) Shame - wont be returning

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Willowfield8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews