We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annual Golf Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Annual Golf Tour”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Dear Ms. Rendall,

Last week the Old Laggs golf group visited your hotel and complex for 3 days. We are a group of 16 who go off every June to play 3 days of golf and this was our 18th year. Our normal practice is to choose a new venue each year but for the last 3 years we have returned to Stoke by Nayland which has been driven by a unanimous vote to return to your hotel. We are already booked in for next June. We have also brought some of our wives for a few days in the winter months over the last 3 years so you have certainly captured us.

It is all too easy to accept good service without recognising it and people generally find it easy to complain but are reticent to compliment and say thank you. So I am writing to you to thank you and all of your team for giving us 3 exceptional days. You even arranged the weather for us! All of your staff are a credit to you in all Departments, they are all friendly and helpful and are prepared to go the extra mile to ensure good service. We all commented that even the chambermaids said good morning to us who do not normally have direct contact with the guests.

Clearly you have moved on a lot in the last 3 years, the hotel improvements are excellent but so too are the golf courses and the top quality food remains. The Gainsborough had of course been set up for the PGA Seniors but the Constable was equally as good.

It is unusual to find businesses like yours and due credit must go to you and your team for providing such an exceptional experience. Thank you very much and long may it continue.

Kind regards,

Dave


  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DG7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for your fabulous feedback! We are very pleased to hear that you have been coming back here for the past 3 years, and we hope that you choose to come back again in 2015. Looking forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    245
    112
    47
    20
See reviews for
122
322
22
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I visited for a Spa Day during the PGA Senior Tour event. It was very quiet and we didn't have any issues even though the rest of the site was busy.

We had a very warm welcome and the staff all day were excellent. The pool and Spa areas are clean with loads of comfortable sun loungers and we could sit outside in the sunshine which was lovely.

The lunch was basic but tasty.

The best thing were the treatments which were excellent. I couldn't make any criticism at all. I completely chilled out.

All in all a super day and I will definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Westtja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
What fantastic feedback! We are very pleased that you had such a lovely day. Thank you for sharing your comments. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for a wedding in May/June, booked a double room. Checking in was swift and easy, the staff were polite and helpful. Room was great, shame we were overlooking the car park, but someone has to I suppose.
The bathroom was lovely and clean to a high standard. The breakfast and food that came as part of the wedding was very nice and well presented.
Overall it was a lovely time away in a pretty location.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissNicoleSumpter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Many thanks for your great feedback from you weekend wedding stay. Cleanliness is extremely important to all at the hotel, so these comments are very welcome and fantastic to pass onto the team. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My Fiance and I traveled down from sunny Sheffield to stay for two nights as we were attending a wedding in May/June 2014. From start to finish the stay was faultless! On arrival our room wasn't quite ready for us so the very friendly check-in staff booked our luggage in for us and directed us to the lounge. In the lounge we were able to enjoy a relaxing drink & a freshly prepared lunch which was very tasty and the pricing was very reasonable.

When the room was ready our luggage was taken to the room for us. The room itself had the usual tea/coffee etc, it was a spacious, comfortable and modern room with all the necessities.

Our evening meal was in the (onsite) Lakes restaurant. We ate off the table d'hote menu, don't be put off by the set menu the food was of excellent quality, very filling and once again priced fairly. Alongside the food the service was impeccable particularly Joao & Ivano who were polite, funny and very helpful.

Overall our stay was above & beyond what we expected and will definitely be going back for another relaxing weekend!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe double room which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review! Your feedback has been fed to the hotel team, who always welcome this, especially when it is as great as yours. We hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Always have a relaxing time here, beds great spa and pool and food all excellent too, staff polite and friendly and the scenery is beautiful. They also sell amazing apple and rhubarb juice in the bar and little shop which we always have and stock up to take home .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthsej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you are regulars; even better that you always have such a wonderful stay. The apple and rhubarb juice sounds intriguing, I will be sure to try this soon! Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Went over the bank holiday weekend for a spa break. Lovely venue and spa staff were lovely but the staff in the hotel and restaurant were rude, slow and unhelpful. Has put me off revisiting in the future, I would rather go a lot further a field.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I, along with our daughter and son, stayed for two nights on a weekend break at Stoke by Nayland in May 2014. The main reason was to celebrate two significant birthdays - my wife's and my daughter's. Every year, my wife and daughter go for a spa day locally (in Hertfordshire) to celebrate their two birthdays but this year, because they both had special birthdays to celebrate, they decided to go for a weekend spa break instead. As my son and I play golf, we settled on Stoke by Nayland because they had the facilities to satisfy us all.

From the moment we were welcomed by Reception it was clear that here is an establishment that aims to please. They gave us rooms fairly near to each other - the ladies in one room and the men in another - and we were all impressed by the standard. Dinner, which was included in each of our packages, was excellent. None of the 'pile it high and never mind the quality' food that we have occasionally been served with. This was good quality food of the highest order. The service was in line with the food - attentive and timely - and we couldn't fault it. Breakfast was equally good and there was a lot of choice available. It was a good start to Saturday, the day of the ladies' spa break and the men's golf break.
My wife and daughter really enjoyed their day in the spa and the treatments that they had booked. My son and I used the well-equipped gym before we joined the ladies for lunch in the spa. While we went off for our round of golf, which we enjoyed very much, the ladies enjoyed their treatments in the spa.
The staff were always very friendly and helpful. On one occasion, I accidentally locked my valuables in the room safe and couldn't unlock it. A quick visit to reception resulted in someone coming to our room within five minutes and sorting it out. Very impressive!
Our weekend at Stoke by Nayland was very expensive but the weekend was everything we had hoped it would be. For a special occasion or celebration, it was absolutely ideal. We will go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTS780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
What a lovely review, thank you. The details of your weekend break are very pleasing to hear. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming your family and yourself back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
8.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
21.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
13.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
18.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
11.3 mi away
Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa Leavenheath, Suffolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing