We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We only stayed one night in the hotel, and although the room was functional rather than glamorous, it was spacious, had good lighting, an efficient temperature control system, plenty of storage for two people, coffee and tea facilities, but no mini bar, and no 'do not disturb' sign and the housemaid walked in without knocking. The staff in Reception, Bar, and Restaurant were very helpful and responsive. The food was of good quality, and the buffet breakfast was complemented by menu of items that were cooked to order. Excellent value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Preverenges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the issue with the housekeeper and am happy to further investigate this for you. If you would like to send details of your stay through to my colleague Moira Carr (moira.carr@stokebynayland.com) we will look into this. Otherwise it is excellent that you found the Reception, Bar and Restaurant staff helpful and responsive. Hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

From arrival to departure departure you cannot fault the customer service at this hotel.
The spa facilities are excellent as are all the staff within the spa. We were in a room with a view of the golf course and the beds were very comfortable. cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueLaylasnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff and the spa. I will make sure they receive your praise. I think I can speak for the staff when I say that we do hope to see you again soon for another spa treatment or maybe just a little hotel getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

On arrival we were told our request for a room with a view of the gold course had been met. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The leisure facilties are lovely and some of the best I've used in a UK hotel. We had dinner in the hotel and HIGHLY RECOMMEND this to all - it was delicious. The whole stay was very pleasant and relaxing. We we definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for view of the golf course to avoid looking at the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

So glad we were able to accommodate your ‘room with a view’ request and that you highly recommend our facilities and dinner. Brilliant comments. They really mean a lot so thank you very much! Can’t wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Six of use have just arrived back from a couple of days at this Hotel, Spa and Golf venue. What is there not to like, lovely clean accommodation, superb food, service and great friendly staff who are not afraid to smile! This is our first time at this venue, like other golfing groups tend to move around year on year, some years great golf, indifferent accommodation, something is not quite right every year. You wont get that here at Stoke-by-Nayland, the whole package is top quality and great value for money. Have no fear we will be returning next year! Thank you for looking after our every need.

Room Tip: I suppose ask for one over looking one of the two great gold courses, we overlooked the 9th on the G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacksterM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your fantastic comments! We are very pleased to hear that you and your golf group will be back again next year. Look forward to welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Went here on a 'summer daze' deal. Was £80 pppn and worth every penny. Room was immaculate and very cosy. The price included a 3 course dinner (with the option to upgrade to an a la carte menu for an extra £6 which we did and was amazing!!) in their 2 rosette restaurant. It also included a buffet style breakfast which was also very good. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough. I misplaced my car keys when we arrived and they went above and beyond to help me out and within a few hours there was a knock at the door with someone delivering them to me. Couldn't thank them enough for that!! We also paid and extra £28 each for a mud therapy in the spa and this too was amazing. Staff knew their stuff and it was a great experience. So to sum up, I couldn't recommend this place enough and will definitely return. Thanks guys for a great weekend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank charlie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Great to hear that our team reunited you with your misplaced car keys, I’m sure that was a huge relief. Overall it sounds like you have a wonderful stay with us, which is fantastic. We hope to welcome you back very soon to experience more of the lovely treatments we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Dear Ms. Rendall,

Last week the Old Laggs golf group visited your hotel and complex for 3 days. We are a group of 16 who go off every June to play 3 days of golf and this was our 18th year. Our normal practice is to choose a new venue each year but for the last 3 years we have returned to Stoke by Nayland which has been driven by a unanimous vote to return to your hotel. We are already booked in for next June. We have also brought some of our wives for a few days in the winter months over the last 3 years so you have certainly captured us.

It is all too easy to accept good service without recognising it and people generally find it easy to complain but are reticent to compliment and say thank you. So I am writing to you to thank you and all of your team for giving us 3 exceptional days. You even arranged the weather for us! All of your staff are a credit to you in all Departments, they are all friendly and helpful and are prepared to go the extra mile to ensure good service. We all commented that even the chambermaids said good morning to us who do not normally have direct contact with the guests.

Clearly you have moved on a lot in the last 3 years, the hotel improvements are excellent but so too are the golf courses and the top quality food remains. The Gainsborough had of course been set up for the PGA Seniors but the Constable was equally as good.

It is unusual to find businesses like yours and due credit must go to you and your team for providing such an exceptional experience. Thank you very much and long may it continue.

Kind regards,

Dave


  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DG7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you very much for your fabulous feedback! We are very pleased to hear that you have been coming back here for the past 3 years, and we hope that you choose to come back again in 2015. Looking forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I visited for a Spa Day during the PGA Senior Tour event. It was very quiet and we didn't have any issues even though the rest of the site was busy.

We had a very warm welcome and the staff all day were excellent. The pool and Spa areas are clean with loads of comfortable sun loungers and we could sit outside in the sunshine which was lovely.

The lunch was basic but tasty.

The best thing were the treatments which were excellent. I couldn't make any criticism at all. I completely chilled out.

All in all a super day and I will definitely return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Westtja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

What fantastic feedback! We are very pleased that you had such a lovely day. Thank you for sharing your comments. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
0 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Country Cottages
8.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
22 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,224 reviews
13.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price Range: £76 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa Leavenheath, Suffolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing