We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected delight and a golf course as well!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leavenheath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight and a golf course as well!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

When my wife had a business visit in Suffolk we decided to turn it into a long weekend away and by chance were pointed in the direction of the Stoke by Nayland Hotel and particularly its Lodges. All we previously knew was this is part of the beautiful Constable Country and there was a very good golf course in their grounds! In fact not only is this a golfers paradise, but the hotel has every imaginable facility, an excellent restaurant, and the nearby lodges are large, light, airy, very well equipped for self catering, comfortable, and peaceful. What more could you ask for as a base for exploring beautiful south Suffolk or indulging in some quality golf?!

Room Tip: The upstairs 1 bedroom lodges were unbelievably spacious and had wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
What a wonderful review – thank you! We are so happy to hear that had such a lovely time. You are definitely right when you say we have ‘every imaginable facility’ and it is excellent that you were able to experience most of them. Please do visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have to say Stoke-By-Nayland is the most amazing place I have stayed in the U.K, the lodges are built to a beautiful standard and the interior of the lodge we stayed in was lovely and done to such a high standard. The cleanliness of the lodge was exceptional and please pass on my thank to Sam the Lodge Porter who helped us settle in and showed us around when we arrived.

The first night I cooked in the well-equipped lodge kitchen and the second day we had a snack in the bar, again all the staff were friendly and helpful (I think everyone had a smile on their face which was great)

My friends and I visited the spa whilst we were staying which again was another great experience.

I look forward to returning to Stoke-By-Nayland very soon and can’t wait to see what your new reception area will look like!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Wow – thank you for this review. I will pass on your lovely comments to the whole team. The Reception area is completely refurbished now so you will definitely have to come back and have a look. We look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

10 women away for a long weekend always makes for a rowdy affair. However, it is very difficult to be rowdy in such an exceptionally peaceful area. We all enjoyed ourselves thoroughly (again) and will be back for visit 3 next year. We used the hotel restaurant ths year (amazing food) and found Sam to be really helpful, coming to our aid when the hot water had turned off and carting us back and forth to the hotel.
Th only gripe we all had was the lack of certain on our mobile phones. However, a phone is in the lodges and we weren't disturbed by the outside world.
Can't wait to get back there!!!

Room Tip: Scarlet pimpernel gives you a great view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cockneyreggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Lovely review – thank you. It is wonderful to hear that you and all the ladies make a visit to us every year. I hope you will continue to do so. It is a pleasure to have you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

After a fantastic evening event in one of the hotel function rooms we (4 couples) decided to stay at one of the luxurious country lodges and it was an incredible extra bonus. The complimentary shuttle took us to the door and picked us up the following morning. The spacious 4 double bedrooms were all en suite and the communal kitchen and lounge areas were hi spec and roomy. The outside decking offered relaxing views of the stunning grounds and wildlife. We have all agreed to return with our families and recommend to our friends at the first opportunity. A real treasure on our doorstep!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenSquare77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you very much for your generous comments. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your function and had a relaxing stay at the Country Lodges. Thank you very much for your recommendation. We hope to see you and your families soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A group of 6 ( 3 couples ) rented one of the larger lodges for the weekend . 2 great golf courses ,a Spa for the ladies and 3 comfortable rooms within the lodge . We self catered but eat out at a local restaurant on the Saturday night . Very well equipped lodge with a mini bus to run you to and from the hotel . TV's in every room plus DVD player and amp . We enjoyed the relaxed time table of having breakfast or a snack when we wanted. The staff at the hotel were very friendly .
One lodge had a party which was not too good for the families in the other lodges with kids . (it was half term ) but it finished at midnight so no major deal . We did have a problem with the hot water but the duty manager sorted us out as we left with no fuss . He handled it the way it should have been handled so we will be back early summer .

Room Tip: Lodges are great for weekend with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crag789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the relaxed timetable of self-catering but also made use of the hotel facilities (golf courses and Peake Spa). The lodges are perfect for a weekend getaway with friends. I hope you will consider a reunion stay sometime in the near future. We’d love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This place is amazing if you want a relaxed, forget about the world spa weekend! They provide a shuttle too and from the lodges to the hotel/spa. We walked it in the day time and its a beautiful walk!! The lodges are totally amazing!!! I was gobsmacked at just how beautiful they are and so spacious!!! Surround sound in the ceiling, open plan kitchen/diner. Overall this is a getaway to indulge and forget about the world for a while!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gucciblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Brilliant review – thank you very much! You are absolutely right to treat yourself to a luxury retreat with indulgent spa treatments. The lodges are certainly the place to do it! Please visit again soon – Lodge Early Bird Offers (book now for 2015) are available now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

This place is great if you want a chilled out, no worries, spa weekend! You will not be let down by the services they provide! You can be picked up from the lodge and taken to the main hotel to eat, drink and do whatever! The lodges are superb- seriously you'll be blown away!! Surround sound in the ceiling, open plan kitchen/diner. Overall this is a wicked getaway to get away from the world!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate9091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
What a wonderful review! Sounds like you had a blast relaxing in the spa and having time away from it all in the beautiful location of our lodge site. The lodges are truly stunning, aren’t they? We would love to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
0.1 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.0 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
19.0 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
13.2 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges

Property: Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges
Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Leavenheath
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). These luxury lodges within Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa are ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The stylish Country Lodges are located on the edge of the Stoke by Nayland resort, offering the ultimate in idyllic, self-catering accommodation for couples or large groups. With open-plan interiors that are chic and contemporary as well as floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking stunning Constable Country, you'll be wowed from the moment you set foot on site. There are 5 large lodge buildings which are each divided into 2 levels - ground and 1st floor. Four of the top levels are each one double/twin en-suite bedroom penthouse units/lodges, with very spacious open plan lounge/kitchen/dining areas and huge wooden decks. One top level is a 2 double/twin bedroom unit with 2 bathrooms, lounge/kitchen/dining area and deck. All 5 ground floor units are each 2 double/twin bedroom units with 2 bathrooms and lounge/kitchen/dining areas and decks. In addition, each large lodge building can be booked as a 3 or 4 bedroom unit by including both ground and 1st floors together. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Country Lodges Leavenheath, Suffolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing