We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 St. Ann's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We arrived at this off the beaten path boutique hotel after long flights from Medford, Oregon to Trinidad, to find our room wasn't ready. GM Christine immediately changed our room to one that was ready and she brought us two very welcome cold beers, as we settled in for our 2 night stay. Our room was quiet and well appointed with WiFi, TV, fridge and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was OK, but lacked the usual amenities expected these days: a hairdryer, nice soap and fluffy towels. Breakfast is included and is served in a first floor dining area. It's a combination of a light buffet, with made to order egg dishes. The room becomes a wonderful French restaurant at night. Zazou Bistro, opened mid January, is good for a special treat night.

The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood, walking distance to few restaurants. You can walk to downtown Port of Spain, if you are up to a busy road that doesn't always have sidewalks to give you a chance to avoid being run over by the cars speeding by!

We had one day to explore before heading to Tobago. The walking directions we were given by the front desk were not accurate to the various points of interest where we were headed. We managed to find our destinations by asking locals for directions. The hotel should have a better map of their own with accurate location of the hotel to town and points of interest for guests.

We spent some time at the museum, which has a very interesting history of the country and Port of Spain. There was also an exhibit by a Trini artist, whom we met on our way out. We had a very interesting conversation with him!

Lunch was at a small shopping area in the heart of POS to avoid a downpour! Nothing special, but fun to eat with the locals on their lunch breaks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AshlandTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminmanfromlorchide, Owner at L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Ashland Traveler,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay at L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel and equally delighted that you loved our excellent location, quiet neighbourhood with easy walking distance to downtown Port of Spain, restaurants, shopping and attractions. We thank you for your kudos on our breakfast buffet and your experience dinning at our newly opened French Restaurant, Zazou Bistro at our Hotel. We have taken note of your excellent recommendation to have more detailed maps of Port of Spain that are more user friendly with easier directions of various places and attractions. We are in the process of acquiring some from our Tourism Development Company. Once again it was a pleasure being of service to you and we look forward to the opportunity to extend our warm hospitality to you and your family. You are now officially our "special orchids". Feel free to call us at anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

This hotel is warm and cozy. Not anything like your traditional hotels.Its in a quiet yet safe part of Trinidad yet very central to several hot spots on the island. The room has a homey feel to it and there is a private chef that you get to meet at breakfast time. They also added a french bistro that comes in on evenings for dinner reservations. The french onion soup was delightful. Check it out. Whether you are going for carnival or just to relax it really is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prmbim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminmanfromlorchide, Owner at L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Dear Prmbim,
We were delighted to hear that you found our hotel warm and cosy. We were also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our quite, safe and very convenient location. It is our pleasure to ensure that our breakfast Chef gives you that personal touch to your breakfast experience. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed dinning from our French Bistro. You are now officially our "special orchid" and we look forward to the opportunity to extend our warm hospitality to you in the near future. Do feel free to call anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at this excellent, small hotel. All the staff appeared to have scored top marks in their customer relations training. Reception were always eager to help with any query. The room was delightful, spacious, clean and of a high standard. The entire site was quiet, tranquil and safe but within walking distance of all the central attractions. There is a quiet terrace if you want to sit out. Breakfasts were first-rate with a Trini twist and the catering staff were pleased to explain the dishes and how they had been cooked, when asked.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave-Eliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminmanfromlorchide, Owner at L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Eliz,
We were delighted to extend our warm hospitality to you during your stay in Trinidad. We were happy to hear that you were very pleased with our clean rooms, tranquil surroundings, convenient location and delicious buffet breakfast menu. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your return in the near future. You are officially our "special orchid". Feel free to call us anytime .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We had a very pleasant experience staying at the L'Orchidee hotel in November. The staff were really helpful in answering questions and helping us get a taxi to travel around. We had a really nice long conversations about Trini culture with them. That really added to our experience and opened the islands to us.
Rooms are great and breakfast in the morning is very well prepared.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whatsinaname_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminmanfromlorchide, Owner at L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Whatsinaname 13,
We were happy to hear that you enjoyed our excellent customer service, clean rooms and lovely surroundings. We were also delighted to give advice on our Trini culture, attractions and preparation of local breakfast items. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your return in the near future. You are now officially our "special orchid"./ Feel free to call us anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I did an over nighter at this serene place, just wanted some alone time as well as I had a couple of business meetings to handle in the area. My stay was was welcoming and relaxing, reception and staff are very friendly. I really enjoyed my quiet time

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikz1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Owner at L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Nikz,
We were delighted that you had a welcoming and relaxing experience at L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel even with an overnight stay. We do appreciate the time you took to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to extending our warm hospitality to you and your family in the near future. You are now officially our "special orchid". Feel free to call on us anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for six days during my first visit to Trinidad. This beautiful boutique hotel is relatively small, cozy, friendly and very much like "home". It is conveniently located near the capital, in a beautifully secured, treed area. The owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating. We were able to get a "boxed breakfast to go" one day when we were scheduled to leave very early for a day trip to Tobago. Rooms were very comfortable, with private bath, air conditining, ceiling fan and free wifi. Included breakfast, served in the dining room from 7 to 10 a.m. each day, was great.

Room Tip: Book early, communicate with staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminmanfromlorchide, General Manager at L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Dear Roy B, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel during your first visit to Trinidad and Tobago. It was our pleasure to extend our warm hospitality to you and your family and we look foward to your return to "home away from home" in the near future. You are now officially our "Special Orchids".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

"It was home away from home, what I was most impressed by the place look just like the pictures had shown. It was clean,cozy and relaxing just to mention a few words. The staff is very welcoming, the breakfast was great and well prepared. The location is great,nearby to all your vacation needs. Thanks to the staff again and expect a call soon again.lol. Will be back for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanessa501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Dear Vanessa501, we were delighted to have you stay at our Hotel and even more delighted that you were happy with our excellent location and warm service. You are our special "orchid" and we look forward to your future visits with us and the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. Fell free to call us anytime. We are here to be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Ann's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
904 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
316 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
664 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#4 of 21 in Port of Spain
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel

Address: 3 Coblentz Gardens | Port of Spain, St. Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain > St. Ann's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St. Ann's
Price Range: £67 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel is an upmarket hotel 5 minutes from the city centre. The rooms are all en-suite and are themed after orchids and wireless and high speed internet can be accessed anywhere on the property. Breakfast and dinner are served in dining room or room service. Security abounds on the property and hotel can organize transfers to and from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel Trinidad, Trinidad And Tobago - Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing