We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Lounge Cafe

The Lounge Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Marton
Cuisines: Cafe, Pizza, European, New Zealand
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Ate here for a friends birthday dinner and was very disappointed in the meal and the dessert menu. I found it to be a little cold in both temperature and ambiance. I ordered the steak which was exstreamly small / thin for the price. Cant comment on the pizzas perhaps they are the good but as I am not a pizza person I wouldnt be rushing to go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great pizza and coffee!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Superb pizza and coffee, ambiance a little cold.. but food very tasty and service fantastic. Brunch on the weekend (possibly only brunch venue in Marton?) is fabulous and as a group we selected five or six which were all very good. Not open Mondays.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FriendlyFindings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never judge a book by its cover”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

From the outside this didn't look like much, not particularly the nicest of streets with closed down shops around and so it was with some surprise when we went inside to see lovely decor with a range of sofas and seating and lovely chatty but not overbearing staff.

We were out for a spot of cycling for the day and they brought over the local cycle maps to help us (Gorges to Sea route recommended). The french decorating and Nadia our french host was lovely

I hear their food is great but we were just there for coffee and a biscuit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Lovely pizzas”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We ate here after recommendation from local moteliers. Only got the pizzas so cant comment on any other food, but the pizzas were fantastic. Very light and tasty with plenty of options. Highly recommend if passing through Marton.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HatchEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marton, Rangitikei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not family friendly!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We are locals and had booked for a kids for a birthday party for 12 7-8 yr olds, plus teenagers and adults. All seemed fine until we arrived on the day and then all went very wrong. Suddenly, we couldn't be seated at the back of the restaurant out of the way where we asked to sit and the owners didn't want the children to make any noise in case they had other customers who wanted to come for a quiet meal. They knew from the beginning it was a kids party and how old our children are as we have been there before with them. We even booked it between 5-7pm to miss most of the evening diners. If the party or potential noise was a problem this should have been conveyed at the time of booking not when we turned up on the day! Very disappointing - poor customer service and lack of community spirit. We shall not be returning in the near future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lounge Cafe also viewed

Marton, Rangitikei District
Marton, Rangitikei District
 
Marton, Rangitikei District
Bulls, Rangitikei District
 

Been to The Lounge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing