We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All that and so much more!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tour de Chocolate - Day Tours

Tour de Chocolate - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the origin of chocolate on this half-day tour! Enjoy a unique experience with our local guides and discover the first steps in the production of some of the highest quality chocolate in the world. This visit includes a walk through a cacao plantation, an explanation about the transformation of the flavor and aroma of the cacao bean, enjoy a traditional lunch served by a rural women’s association, and a tasting of the wine, marmalade, and chocolate made from the very same crop. Additional activities within this local community include: overnight stay in the Casa Familiar, horseback riding through the surrounding mountains, and a trip to the river.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“All that and so much more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Wholly Cow - this was way better than I can tell you in words. My wife and I did this for her birthday on 12-27-2013. It is easy to find. You will never look at chocolate the same. The staff was so much fun and their English was better than my Spanish. Cost was @ $35US but priceless with memories. They all love what they do and it shows as their faces light up when they talk you thru the tour. The lunch prepared by the local women was the best meal we had in the DR and the mountain views are amazing. We miss you all so very much and smile every time we look at all of the photos.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodlum01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, RI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So worth your effort!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Interesting and informative in a well paced tour that gets you out to the countryside. I did this tour in May, 2011 and it still informs every taste of chocolate I enjoy! I meant to write a review long ago! Colin S's description is thorough, and mirrors my experience. I totally endorse this trip for visitors to the Dominican Republic...it will give dimension to your experience in this country and will be remembered long after you return home!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JudyRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Tour That Will Turn You Into a Chocolate Expert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

The Tour of Chocolate, El Seibo is an informative, interactive and fun excursion that gives you an inside peek at all the important parties taking part in the chocolate process in Dominican Republic. Your tour guide will give you a thorough background on the entire process from the farm to the local chocolate block to exportation. In addition, the guide will give you plenty of opportunities to take participate in an hands-on way during the tour. Afterwards, the women's group will satisfy your palete with a typical, delectable Dominican lunch and products that will give you the chance to try chocolate in a different form. Do not miss the opportunity to spend a fun filled day on the Tour of Chocolate, El Seibo! :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jablanski1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Realistic, relaxed, and fun learning experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This tour is not recommended for the vacationer who wants to stay at an all-inclusive resort and be lazy for 7 days straight.

This tour is highly recommended as a nice break from all that sitting around at the resort, and it is also recommended for travelers who want to see the real Caribbean, not just the commercialized tourist areas.

Things you will see:
-A local receiving, sorting, drying, fermenting, and packing facility for organic ("bio") and conventional cacao seeds.
-The Dominican plains and an inland Dominican town, likely from the bed or front of a pickup truck.
-A small cacao farm in the mountains, with many cacao trees and a few coffee trees. Most Dominican cacao farms are small and family-owned such as this one.
-Cacao pods, which I never saw until I took this tour, despite growing up eating lots of chocolate!

Things you will do:
-Smell lots of cacao!
-Drink lots of Dominican hot chocolate.
-Learn how the processing facility works, with the option to do some of the processes yourself (like checking the beans for proper amount of drying).
-Walk through an organic cacao grove.
-Plant a cacao seedling.
-Harvest some cacao pods (if in season), open them and eat the fruit (you can suck on the sweet, white flesh that surrounds each bean).
-Roast cacao beans and prepare them to make cacao balls/powder, which Dominicans use to make hot chocolate.
-Meet the local Dominicans in the town where the grove is located.
-Eat a full, tasty lunch prepared by several Dominican donas, in an open picnic area on a hilltop in the mountains. :)
-See the process for making cacao marmalade and cacao wine.
-Have the opportunity to buy any of these products, all organic, straight from the village where it is made.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great way to spend a day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

The Tour de Chocolate Tours was one of the best tours I had the opportunity to experience! It was very informative regarding the chocolate from its beginning to the finished product. Roberto and Alana did a wonderful job providing us with in-depth information and interactive opportunities.
The lunch provided was fabulous, and we enjoyed the "mango experience." If you have the opportunity to travel to Hato Mayor del Rey, be sure to take the Tour de Chocolate.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lmblanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tour de Chocolate - Day Tours also viewed

Miches, El Seibo Province
San Francisco de Macoris, Duarte Province
 
Miches, El Seibo Province
Hato Mayor del Rey, Hato Mayor Province
 

Been to Tour de Chocolate - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing