We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Markham Vale Guest Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duckmanton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Markham Vale Guest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Duckmanton B&B and Inns
Famagusta, Cyprus
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Spotless, quiet, comfortable, tasty and hearty breakfast, friendly, great value for money. I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tickettyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Great location, just off the motorway (but no noise!). Almost like having your own private house - Owner Mike showed me room, also had a private lounge where a colleague and I could meet or watch TV or whatever; told me to help myself from anything from the kitchen if I needed extra milk, refreshments, etc - though stock in room was plenty. Beautifully and recently refurbished. Decent CAMRA pub, great food, (Arkwright Arms) just a few minute's drive away. All in all, a great place to stay for pleasure or business - easy to use as a base for a longer stay.
Look at the reviews on their own website - can't get better! http://www.markhamvaleguestlodge.com/guestbook.aspx

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed in the Markham Vale Guest Lodge for one night and were treated like members of the family. The house was clean, in superb order indoors, and out and we really enjoyed our stay.

The breakfast on the morning of our departure was beautifully cooked and presented.

Not much more we can add other than we will be returning when we visit our family in Bolsover again as this guest house is outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

lovely b&b near motorway,good parking,clean large rooms with ensuite.nice breakfast,good host.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livelifelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Our adult family spent 2 nights here in july as we were attending a wedding in nearby Bolsover Castle. It was easy to find just off the M1 junction 29a and would be ideal for a base for the Derbyshire area. The charming town of Chesterfield only 6 miles away and if you fancied a drink, taxi fares are very reasonable. Mike (& Jo) made us feel very welcome and we had the place to ourselves once we had booked in. Lounge area to share and beautifully appointed rooms, good shower, tea & coffee,hairdryer, one room had a bath and despite being next to the M1, there was no noise. Breakfast excellent and freshly cooked as we shared the dining room with the kitchen, a good opportunity to chat to Mike at the same time. We would go again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omanNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duckmanton
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
3.1 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
3.4 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markham Vale Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markham Vale Guest Lodge

Property: Markham Vale Guest Lodge
Address: 7 Erin Road | Duckmanton, Duckmanton, Chesterfield S44 5HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Duckmanton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Duckmanton
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing