We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast”
Review of Cowclose Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cowclose Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Cutthorpe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Following four nights in Swallows cottage moved into the B & B for two nights, Rose Room - very spacious and lovely comfortable bed, nice views from the windows on each side of the room, nice spacious lounge for guests, breakfast excellent so much choice and well cooked and presentation excellent, hosts Alan and Barbara very helpful and friendly. Very handy for the Gate Pub over the road where we had dinner on the two evenings and is a very nice country pub with good food. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

From the minute we arrived to the minute before we left, Barbara and Alan were perfect hosts. Suggestions as to where to visit (our first time in Derbyshire), where to eat (if we had any room after truly delicious and individually selected breakfast) as well as very comfortable immaculate and spacious B&B accommodation. The use of the garage for our bikes was very much appreciated. The location was spot on too - in the High Peaks with most places you would want to visit only a short distance away. And the pub across the Road was a perfect place for dinner in the evening - we could have drink as we didn't have to drive there.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank AnitaJane56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Lovely place to stay,Allan and Barbara are wonderful, friendly, and helpful hosts, very relaxed and homely, good choice breakfast with fresh fruit some from their own garden, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

we were only there one night, but were delighted with everything, the accomodation, ambiance, breakfast, location.The lot! And the Gate Inn opposite is worth a visit for the food too!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willoHemelHempstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We had a lovely, if wet and blustery, week together with our dog, but it just flew past. We slept well and were able to really relax. We stayed in The Swallows and found there was every bit of equipment we could possibly have wanted. This was a second visit for me, the first being bed and breakfast two years ago (Barbara's breakfasts are amazing!), and this time I was able to continue with a bit more family history research. The only sad part was that Barbara and Allan were also on holiday so apart from the first day there we didn't get to see them. Better luck next time!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank merbeal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

we loved staying here. the cottages were comfortable with beds we all slept well in! the situation was beautiful with views from the garden over the hills. the garden was lovely for small children with wendy house and small swings. It was also great for dog owners ! The welcome and friendliness of the owners was very warm and they were always helpful. We were staying prior to family wedding and using both properties to let and their B&B rooms with people coming and going, visitors popping over and they were always welcoming . We will definately visit again at a more peaceful time in our lives!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathanmartinpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

I want to stay at Cowclose again when I am in the Peak District ,if it gets too popular ,then I won't be able to-- ,so I won't tell you about the spotlessly clean , wonderfully warm, exceptionally comfortable cottages.I shan't mention the excellent location for sightseeing , the beautiful walk around the reservoirs at the bottom of the fields .I certainly wouldn't tell you about the hearty breakfasts or the lovely welcoming touches that make this one of the best and most comfortable cottages that we have stayed in . And if you are looking for a place to stay in the Peak District then I would not think to tell you about the excellent pubs and restaurants within the vicinity (including one across the road ) in case you want to book the same week that I want !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhinoneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cutthorpe
4.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
499 reviews
3.5 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,464 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
314 reviews
2.8 mi away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowclose Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowclose Farm

Address: Cow Close Farm Overgreen | Cutthorpe, Cutthorpe, Chesterfield S42 7BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Cutthorpe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cutthorpe
Price Range: £50 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cowclose Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at our spacious stone farmhouse. We have 2 guestrooms - the Rose Rose (en-suite, either superking bed or twin beds, extra beds possible) and the Orchid Room (twin with separate private bathroom). Children welcome. Breakfasts from local and homemade produce. Pub/restaurant nearby. Lovely views and gardens. Situated in quiet area on eastern edge of Peak District, ideal for visiting Chatsworth and Hardwick Hall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cowclose Farm Cutthorpe, Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing