We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Batemans Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Tupton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Good little find had an early morning meeting planned in nearby chesterfield so travelled up mid afternoon was later arriving than expected due to heavy traffic but this was not a problem to the staff who made me welcome.
Ate in the bar area which was busy a good sign I`d hoped ! Yes this was the case food and drink was excellent very generous portions after a good nights sleep I munched through a great breakfast no need for food till later that evening!
Very good place nice rustic charm good food and ale no good if on a diet !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pontycarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We chose this hotel after finding it on Trip Advisor. It was central to where we needed to be which was Abraham Heights and Chatsworth House.
There is plenty of parking spaces when you arrive. Its a real cosy little place with a lovely bar, lounge area with comfy seating. There is an outdoor courtyard area with lots of seating. The restaurant is upstairs and is small and cosy. We had evening meal and breakfast here. Arriving on a Sunday they only serve food until 7 pm so bear this in mind. Luckily we arrived in time for an evening meal, and being a Sunday we had the traditional Sunday dinner which was excellent, and they offered a two or three course meal deal. Breakfast consists of a traditional Derbyshire breakfast if wanted. All meat and vegetables are locally sourced and the milk comes from the farm next door! You can't get much fresher than that. They serve a good choice of beers, wines and ciders too.
The service from start to finish was excellent too.
We had an executive room which had a four poster, a chaise, dressing table, large wardrobe (closet), tv and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite was clean and included toiletries too. Plenty of clean towels were available. I loved the room! We made friends with a couple who had a standard double and they were very pleased with their room too. Rooms also have telephone, internet connection, alarm clock. Ours had a trouser press. You can order room service, early wake up calls and daily papers too. All room views are overlooking the car park.
There is a conference room which is suitable for weddings and they can offer buffets too.
Whilst we were there they had musical entertainment in the form of a local acoustic guitarist who was excellent.
The hotel is a former corn mill and has been really well restored. If you want a hotel with character, good service and excellent food then this one's for you.
My only criticism if I can find one, is that it was very hot in the hotel and there was no air conditioning, so it would be nice if the rooms could be supplied with a fan.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are a lot bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetochill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Not a bad distance from Chesterfield ( £9.00 by taxi ) a small rural hotel in a reasonable location.
If you've stayed in small rural hotels in the summer before then you can probably guess what this place is like. It has a nice reception and enough parking. The bar area is also nice and serves reasonable food. The family room we stayed in doubled as the disabled room. It had a fire for extra warmth in the winter but no fan etc to cope with summer weather, despite the one window in the bedroom only opening a couple of inches. The staff tended to be fine although I had to insist to the lass on reception 3 times that the internet access code was not in the guest information booklet before she believed me and invited me to come to reception to get it. Strangely she seemed much more friendly when waiting on our table later on. As I kind of expect from small rural hotels there were some rough around the edges bits with decor etc. Not least the mechanism of the sliding door on the bathroom which did not stop it at the frame when closing and consequently jammed the wife's fingers. Creepy crawly's also were to be expected I suppose. We had a beetle crossing the floor, a dead mosquito in the glasses tray in the bathroom when we arrived and a spider with it's web in the corner over the bath. Overall the grounds and other public areas were pleasant but the room was a bit ropey and stuffy so not the best nights sleep. I would stay here again but would probably look around for other alternatives first.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here on a business trip July 2013 and the hotel was very nice and friendly. The staff were excellent as well. The food was superb and my only criticism was the bed was very soft and great for my dodgy back.

All in all though a most enjoyable experience and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Excellent staff ,excellent evening meal ,fantastic breakfast ,lovely clean rooms ,fantastic beers and good wine choice ,will be back soon thankyou ,excellent place to visit ,good place to stay if visiting chatsworth house etc ,What else can I say!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnjoan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

A lovely hotel & restaurant, from the moment we arrived on 4th July to when we left on the 6th July, staff very helpful, beer good, food good and a very comfortable clean room and bathroom.
We had a good offer, so very fair prices. Live music on the 5th not too loud enjoyable.

Room Tip: No 5 a large airy room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojak18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Friendly reception by assistant manager, lovely staff, clean comfortable accommodation.
Quiet room overlooking beer garden.
Central for visiting the Derbyshire Dales.
Restaurant served great food or you can eat downstairs in bar area.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 9, upstairs and quiet whilst we were there mid week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Tupton
3.1 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
867 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
649 reviews
5.4 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
834 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
248 reviews
7.3 mi away
Harleys Bar
Harleys Bar
#17 of 21 in Chesterfield
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batemans Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batemans Mill Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Old Tupton, Chesterfield S42 6AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Old Tupton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Tupton
Price Range: £70 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Batemans Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Batemans Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batemans Mill Hotel Chesterfield/Old Tupton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing