We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with excellent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Batemans Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Tupton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A very popsitive experience from booking in to booking out.

Staff very friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble for staff, including restaurant.

Check in was no problem. The young man on the desk was efficient and couteous.

We had a family room as this was the only one left. The room was clean and plenty large enough for 4 adults really. Large en suite bathroom with bath and shower. Our room was probably the furthest from the bar/restaurant and was very quiet. Bed was very soft whilst still being firm (?!), I think it had one of those memory foam covers over the main mattress. If I had one minor niggle I always prefer kingsize rather than standard double (note to owner when you replace the beds!)

In the main building downstairs is the bar/restaurant, with a further, more formal, dining area upstairs which we chose.

Food was prepared quickly and was well presented. House wine (red and white) was very good and reasonably priced. just the right time was left between us finishing the course and the plates being cleared, and the next course appearing. Plenty of selection from the main menu and a separate "specials" menu. All meals were excellent and the restaurant staff were great, running up and down stairs to get further drinks for our small group.

The Breakfast spread was good. Cereals, fruit juices, tea, coffee and full "Derbyshire" breakfast, or any variation thereof. Again well presented and served.

Checkout was just as easy and we had a very pleasant stay. Would definitely recommend.

We didn't leave the hotel so cannot really comment on the surrounding area.

Room Tip: We had the large family room 6. Very quiet, ground floor, not sure about summer though as beer gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeybUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    69
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
64
109
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Two things first, it was an old mill but is no longer near any water (you may be expecting it to be near a picturesque river), they have live music some nights (generally over weekends) if you like peaceful nights.
However, we found this hotel to be perfect for a stop over. It was easy to find, park and check in. The room was spacious and clean with nice decor and comfy bed. Tea tray selection was very good (good hot chocolate too!) the food was very nice and a good choice, quite a few options for the veggies too (which we are) we were able to bring our dog and I would say that was the only tiny downside. You cannot take your dog into the lounge bar or restaurant (i.e. Nowhere other than our room) so we had to eat in our room. I understand the restaurant not being dog friendly, I wouldn't want dogs in there either but you can usually take them in a bar area. This also meant the establishment missed out on quite a lot more income from us as if we had been eating in the bar we would of eaten more (eg desert) and had more drinks as it was easier for us to get drinks from the shop down the road and have them in our room whilst we ate, rather than to and fro from the bar and negotiate the fire doors. This would not put us off visiting again though if we were in the area. The band sounded pretty good too. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which was easy to get in and out of with the dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We booked this after reading so many positive reviews. Sadly the hotel did not live up to the promise. We arrived on Sunday . Now I am aware that often Sunday evening dinner can be a little hit and miss due to the Sunday lunchtime rush however the restaurant was very cold and the meal was sadly lacking in any quality. My wifes starter of pate was the worst I had seen for years. The "toast" it reclined on appeared to be white bread that was just completely dried out it looked like it had been toasted at lunchtime and left to dry out all afternoon, this combined with butter straight from the fridge meant instant dry breadcrumbs. So we mentioned our complaint to the waiter. But received no feedback. The rest of the meal was at best average, The room was ok but very cold with minimal heating but in the morning we awoke to no heating and no hot water . The explanation by the staff was that the heating had gone of the previous evening but no one had noticed. Well I am sorry but staff should notice thats why they are there. Anyway we decided at that point to leave . I think the worst part was that staff kept us stood for so long trying to explain away the problems. Anyway to be fair the bill was adjusted without to much discussion.

Room Tip: Choose a warm one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Realy friendly staff,check in hassle free and quick,room was clean and spacious,Only gripe shower was a let down,food was really tasty warm and fresh,breakfast was excellent would definatly stay agian,well done.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Found this hotel on LR for a business stay. Having decided to stay in after a busy day we were not dissapointed. The bar area was very friendly and the food was close to exceptional. Breakfast the next morning was also first class.
Why is it though tht hotels sometimes miss the fundamentals. The shower was poor and the bed was ricketty. Two essentials for an overnight stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here when visitng family just after New Year because of the fantastic location. We booked a larger room which was on the ground floor, my only minor issue with this was that it was a really cold day when we arrived and the heating hadnt been turned on when we checked in , luckily we were only dropping luggage off but if we had been staying there and then to get changed etc it would have been a bit chilly! Also the duvet really needs to be bigger as it only really fits across the top of the bed so once 2 people are in the bed it doesnt cover much!
The breakfast was amazing, we both have big appetites but we both looked at it and wondered where to start- 2 sausages,3 bacon rashers, fried egg,mushroom,tomato,baked beans and an oatcake!!! The staff are lovely and friendly and its always nice to come back to a proper northern welcome.
We will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I recently had my 21st birthday in the bar area of this hotel, i couldn't of asked for a nicer, more relaxed, friendlier environment! I would recommend this hotel to anyone either staying or having a celebration. Some family members stayed in the hotel and were equally as pleased. The food is also lovely and well worth trying!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Tupton
5.4 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,372 reviews
3.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
754 reviews
5.1 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
779 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,002 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#8 of 15 in Chesterfield
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batemans Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batemans Mill Hotel

Property: Batemans Mill Hotel
Address: Mill Lane, Old Tupton, Chesterfield S42 6AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Old Tupton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Tupton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Batemans Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Batemans Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batemans Mill Hotel Chesterfield/Old Tupton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing