We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Over Haddon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haddon Grove Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here over Easter in the farmhouse and we the cottage next door. Check in was trouble free, all the rooms were clean and tidy and had everything we needed the pool and games area was brilliant as was our whole stay. I would highly recommend...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartynBowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review - I am very pleased your group enjoyed your Easter break at Haddon Grove Farm.

With 11 cottages and space for up to 50 people, we can accommodate most groups. We have 3 cottages set up for group dining for up to 25 to sit and eat together, so you can have the benefit of somewhere to be together as well as your own luxury cottage for some peace and quiet!

Our on-site indoor heated swimming pool and games room together with a children's play area and 3 acres of grounds mean that there is always something to do without even leaving the farm. Ideally situated in the heart of the Peak District, Haddon Grove Farm offers easy access to all the great range of activities the Peak District has available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Haddon Grove Farm very soon.

James Viner
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our stay over the Easter weekend was fantastic. The place was perfect for us - cosy, clean and with great on-site facilities. The location was perfect for doing the Bakewell-Chatsworth walk and a short drive to Edale for a hike up Kinder Scout. After a long day on your feet there's nothing quite like a dip in a warm swimming pool and then crashing on the sofa. Lovely countryside, too.

Room Tip: The farm cottage complex is very well laid out so just pick the right size cottage for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FttH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review - I am very pleased you enjoyed your short break at Haddon Grove Farm.

With 11 cottages ranging from cosy Dove for 2 people to The Farmhouse for up to 10, we can usually accommodate most people!

Haddon Grove Farm is ideally situated in the heart of the Peak District just outside Bakewell and within easy striking distance of all the great things on offer - walking, cycling, climbing, Chatsworth, Haddon Hall, Bakewell, Ashbourne, Buxton, Matlock or just enjoying the fantastic countryside.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

James Viner
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Well this was a last minute weekend away which leaves you slightly unsure of what you will find,BUT all i can say what a wonderful place to stay, clean tidy and quiet with a great play area and leisure suite.
Situated not to far from local hot spots with lovely walks etc to enjoy, owners are helpful and pleasant to deal with ;-) hopefully we will return next year

Room Tip: when following the postcode do not turn on to Haddon Grove as the cottages are off the main (but qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C5317QXJohn_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your great review of Haddon Grove Farm cottages - I am pleased that we were able to offer you a last minute deal to enable you to come and enjoy all the Peak District has to offer.

With 11 cottages ranging from 2 to 10 people, we can accommodate most needs from couples to families to groups. Our newly-refurbished indoor heated swimming pool and games room are perfect for all ages and offer a relaxing place to unwind after a busy day enjoying the countryside.

Situated just outside Bakewell in the heart of the Peak District, we are in easy striking distance of all the main attractions - walking, cycling, climbing, relaxing, Chatsworth, Alton Towers, Haddon Hall and much more!

I hope that we can welcome you back to Haddon Grove Farm very soon.

James Viner
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is about the 4th or 5th time that we have been to Haddon Grove Farm Cottages. All of our stays here have been excellent, and this recent stay was no exception! Again, we stayed in Blackbird cottage. The facilities are great, clean and the cottage is tastefully decorated. The swimming facilities are wonderful, and well managed, clean etc, and Bakewell has so much to offer in local shops and independent retailers. Louise & James (owners) are very helpful, and they work hard to ensure small details are perfect, such as fresh milk in the fridge for when you arrive, and the fresh flowers, which are a lovely touch! We look forward to returning again!

Room Tip: The views from Blackbird cottage are great, and the whole place has a very cosy and private feel. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your great review, we really like to welcome back guests to Haddon Grove Farm.

Coming to stay midweek outside school holiday periods is a great way to have a very relaxing time. Not only are we generally much quieter, but we often have special offer available - see more details on our website.

Our three 1-bedroom cottages are all different but all offer a warm, cosy and very comfortable welcome with newly-refitted kitchens and bathrooms, FreeSat TV and DVD and are fully-equipped for enjoying a perfect Peak District break!

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

James Viner
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We contacted Haddon Grove Farm Cottages about a last minute stay in Blackbird Cottage for the weekend on a Thursday and got a quick response, friendly welcome and were not made to feel we were annoying for not booking further in advance [despite putting them out at the last minute].
We had a lovely cottage, enjoyed the small, quiet and very clean pool, and were looked after very well whenever we saw the owners. Lovely walk along the river nearby, close to Bakewell [great for the regular end of month farmers market], quiet, scenic and ideal for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Blackbird Cottage very comfortable for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahlmNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Haddon Grove Farm cottages. We often have last minute offers for short stays outside school holiday periods. We can be flexible about arrival and departure days when we are less busy.

Although the weather may be variable at this time of year, you are always assured of a warm welcome. All our 11 cottages enjoy efficient thermostatically controlled central heating, double glazing throughout and well-insulated walls and front doors.

The Peak District is a fantastic place to explore with great walking, cycling and picturesque small towns and villages. When you return to Haddon Grove Farm, you can enjoy the luxurious, comfortable and very well-equipped cottages and relax in the well-heated indoor swimming pool.

With 11 cottages sleeping from 2 to 10 people and several set up for group dining for up to 25, Haddon Grove Farm is the perfect venue for couples, families and groups.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Haddon Grove Farm very soon.

James Viner
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were a group of 23 from aged 18 months up to 72 and had 3 properties between us. The welcome packs were lovely and it was lovely to arrive to teabags and milk, and fresh flowers etc. It was helpful to have camp beds etc. provided for the little ones, however the showers were very weak on water pressure and so was very difficult to wash hair under. Slightly disappointed with the dining space in the Farmhouse as it was to seat 20, which it did but not without being rather cramped and those cooking struggled.

Very impressed with games room and swimming pool though, and lovely to have an outside play area for the little ones. It is a lovely place but is slightly overpriced for what is offered; having stayed in other similar facilities in a large family group it was not quite as good value for money as has been paid previously.

Room Tip: Some 'single' rooms are probably only suitable for children as we had an adult in one who co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Haddon Grove Farm. We cater for lots of groups of up to 25 people, with 3 separate locations on site where larger groups can be accommodated to sit and eat together. By necessity, we are seeking to fit in more people to eat than the cottages will sleep, so there can be less space to sit than usual. There aren't many holiday cottages in the Peak District that can offer similar flexibility to accommodate groups to stay in one place and sit and eat together. I am sorry if this didn't quite meet your requirements.

Our newly-refurbished indoor heated swimming pool is very popular with guests all the year round and is a feature not offered by many other holiday cottages in the Peak District. We do have to include the cost of this in our rates. We work very hard to ensure we are competitively-priced, benchmarking ourselves against comparable cottage complexes in our area. We do not offer budget accommodation, but luxury, very well-appointed properties. As a point of comparison, your stay in November worked out at about £25 per person per night for a group of 23 people. The local youth hostel charges between £18 and £24 per person per night for bunk room accommodation with no other facilities.

I am sorry you weren't able to get sufficient pressure from the showers - they are all electric, so won't compare to power showers, but can easily be adjusted to increase the flow rate.

All our beds are full-sized (6'6") although some have footboards as well. There is a range of styles of bed in the cottages, with many divans as well as more traditional wooden or cast iron frames. We only have 1 single bedroom on site, so it may have been an unfortunate mis-match of guest to bed for the person in this room!

I hope that we can welcome you back to Haddon Grove Farm very soon.

James Viner
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We recently spent a weekend at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, celebrating our golden wedding anniversary in a family group of 20, ranging in age from nearly 2 to over 70. Every one of us had a wonderful time, enjoying the beautiful countryside and the homely and well-appointed comfort of the delightful accommodation. Louise and James were ideal 'hosts', very professional, always available and helpful but never intrusive - and they seem to have thought of every conceivable requirement for a happy, relaxing and comfortable stay. All four cottages we occupied (Farmhouse, Riber, Chatsworth and Ash) were impeccably clean, freshly decorated and comfortably and attractively furnished. Other reviewers have mentioned the thoughtfully-provided welcome packs, fresh flowers, comfortable beds, indoor heated pool, games room etc; if I had to sum it all up in one phrase it would be 'attention to detail'. This is what made our special weekend so perfect. Thank you, Louise and James - you're doing a terrific job!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Haddon Grove Farm so much and that all the cottages and facilities worked out so well for your group.

We work really hard to try and provide everything our guests need (although we certainly don't claim to be perfect!) - it is nice to hear that it just hit the spot for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Haddon Grove Farm very soon.

James Viner
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Over Haddon
2.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
398 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
499 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,870 reviews
11.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haddon Grove Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddon Grove Farm Cottages

Address: Haddon Grove Farm Haddon Grove | Nr Over Haddon, Over Haddon, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Over Haddon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Over Haddon
Price Range: £20 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self-catering accommodation with indoor heated swimming pool in the heart of the Peak District. Converted farmhouse and barns providing 11 very comfortable and well-equipped cottages. All renovated to high standard with new bathrooms and kitchens (most with dishwashers). Perfect for groups, get-togethers and families. Short breaks outside school holidays. Pets welcome in most cottages. Fantastic location 2 miles from Bakewell with easy access to all main Peak District attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haddon Grove Farm Cottages Over Haddon, Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing