We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”
Review of The Lathkil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lathkil Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Over Haddon
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a find”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights here recently and really enjoyed it,so much so I cannot think of one fault. The staff and locals are all friendly and welcoming, the food was excellent(espeially the breakfast) so was the beer! and the views from most parts of the hotel are fantastic.
A great place to stay and we hope to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best views.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PBC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    63
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
83
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Home Counties
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed at Lathkill Hotel for a walking week-end with my wife, daughter and friend. The hotel made us very welcome and the two rooms we had booked at the front of the hotel were very clean and tidy.
Fabulous location overlooking Lathkil Dale and the two rooms we had booked at the front of the hotel (rooms 1 and 2) looked out over the dale. Nice large fridge in the room and great beer selection in the bar.
Thanks again Lathkil for an almost perfect stay. Would have been perfect if you supply fresh milk in the fridge for tea rather than milk sachets. My wife loves her tea with fresh milk in the morning. Breakfast was fantastic by the way but would be better to order it in the morning rather than last thing at night, hard to know what you will feel like in the morning when ordering at night. We shall be back!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 or 2 for fabulous views of the Dale and surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bannism4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Have lunched here many times over the last 15 years with friends . First time we have stayed and we were not disappointed . A very pleasant break . Real ale ,good food -could anyone want more . Would thoroughly recommend this establishment .

Room Tip: Front bedrooms have a view of the dale . Book a table by the window .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts., England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Lovely location - perfect for walking and just five minutes drive from Bakewell.
The room was small but nicely appointed and comfortable with a good view.
Dinner and breakfast were good and the staff were pleasant and helpful.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a break in the Peak District.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a nice view over Lathkil Dale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here one night only in April 2013. Unfortunately there was heavy snow day before so we struggled a bit to reach hotel because many roads were covered with snow. The Hotel was on quiet location with great views. We got warm reception. Room was with double bed. Not a huge room but comfortable. We had a great breakfast next morning.

Overall pleasant stay. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shagird1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel is more of a small inn than a hotel per se. It's in an undeniably beautiful location with spectacular views over Lathkil and quite close to Bakewell village, Chatsworth, Eyam and Hassop station. The hotel itself is spotless but lacks the friendliness and warmth of similar places we've stayed in. On some occasions the staff in the evening came across as rude and surly. Our room didn't have a great view but then you pay £20 extra for that! It was a bit small with a tiny ensuite bathroom. I had a good sleep but my husband now has a bad back as it was 2 single beds pushed together with a lumpy mattress. Our room was very clean. Meals were ok, reminded me of the nursing home I used to work in as they were obviously catering for the older market. My vegetable rissotto was a mush of orange stuff with a few flecks of rice and some very stewed cauliflower but it was edible. My husbands pie was nice though. Prices were a little steep considering we had a 3 course meal in Bakewell for the same as 1 course in the hotel. Breakfast filled you up but it wasn't a vast choice 3 cereals, some over ripe fruit and a small fry up but plenty of coffee/tea and toast. All in all great for a short break like we had but it needs to be bought into the 21st century and staff need customer service skills training

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stretton under fosse
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Had a weekend away again at this hotel, 6 of us 3 couples had a great time . the staff was fantastic the scenery was to die for.The rooms are not big but it has everything you need , the bed,s are comfy,towel,s are white and fluffy,meals are hot and tastey breakfast was cooked to order.
Don,t listen to these moaning minnies who would moan at any hotel they stay in.
We shall be back thanx to the owner,s and staff for making our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: try it you won,t be disapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleygaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Over Haddon
1.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
10.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
869 reviews
7.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lathkil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lathkil Hotel

Property: The Lathkil Hotel
Address: School Lane, Over Haddon, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Over Haddon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Over Haddon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lathkil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the tiny Derbyshire village of Over Haddon, perched above the stunning Lathkill Dale, boasting one of the most spectacular views from any pub in the county. We have four ensuite bedrooms, two overlooking Lathkill Dale. We serve food daily in our traditional bar and recently refurbished Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lathkil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lathkil Hotel Over Haddon, Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing