We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lathkil Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel(Biggin-by-Hartington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
87
70
18
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
70
18
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightevening mealthe pubrooms are smallspectacular viewspeak districtbeer gardenlovely hotelmini barselection of beersbreakfast was excellentfull englishchoice of real alesreal firetreacle tartwarm welcomebeef
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Sat 15th feb we went for lunch to the Lathkil. It was a very nice meal, there was 5 of us in the family we all had something different,liver and onions for me,lasagne for my wife,beef stew and dumplings for my son in law,a vedgetarian meal for my daughter amd my grandson had steak and kidney pie.They were all very good indeed. The room was warm and cosy with a wood burner as a focal point .The staff were extremely nice and helpful Top marks all round , we will be going again soon. Well done

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank george b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A lovely experience in this beautiful hotel. The view was amazing from the front rooms over the valley. The pub is lovely with great beer and it was quite special to be able to stay upstairs. We had a double room at the back and a twin room at the front. The beds were comfortable, the heating could be turned up high, or turned off and there was masses of hot water - everything I need for a really enjoyable stay.

Breakfast had to be ordered the evening before, but was excellent - really fresh eggs, good bacon etc.

Room Tip: front rooms have a view over the valley.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cara2008London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 1 night at the lathkil hotel as part of a visit to the Peak District. The hotel is small but cosy and friendly staff with open fires and lots of locals and dogs downstairs. We ate dinner in the dining room and the food was great! Our room was clean and nicely furnished but very small and unfortunately didn't benefit from the view which we had hoped for - instead we looked over a car park. Bathroom lacked ventilation even when window was wide open and consequently steam filled the bedroom. But on the whole this was a lovely little hotel and set in incredible surroundings.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Holzfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed just for one night with two friends and were lucky enough to have the two front rooms with the great views. Dinner and breakfast were delicious, hot and all freshly cooked. Although the rooms are on the small side they are clean and comfortable and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank BiffosDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived in the dark on a Saturday night, followed the hotels directions which were perfect. Room was lovely with a fabulous queen size bed, much better than the usual standard double you normally find in bog standard hotels.
Food was served in the dining room in front of the log burner and was great for the price, especially as it is all sourced locally.
The night we arrived the village was holding the annual bonfire so the bar was very busy but this was lovely to see in a local pub.
Even though the bar had been very busy during the evening the hotel and bar are closed and locked up at 11, resulting in an extremely quiet and restful sleep.
The next morning after a hearty cooked breakfast Helen's directions took us on a beautiful scenic walk into the town of Bakewell where we spent the day perusing the local shops.
We will definitely be visiting again soon.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Becci_c82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews