We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Relaxing Break in Lovely Surroundings!”
Review of The Lathkil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lathkil Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Over Haddon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent a one night break here last month and thoroughly enjoyed it. We are pretty local anyway but fancied a night away in a location where we could enjoy a nice meal, a drink or two and have a wonderful walk too! This hotel really is a fantastic "get away" and the evening meal we had was very impressive at a fair price. Fine wines and real ales are served in the bar and we enjoyed a beautiful one hour circular walk over the field behind the hotel, across the river and back up the steep road to the village - all at 7am in the morning before a delicious breakfast! My vegetarian option was soon demolished! The staff were friendly and accommodating. The room we had was round the back which overlooks the car park and I imagine the rooms overlooking the dale are the ones to go for if you can get them, but the bed was comfortable and we had everything we needed. The charming town of Bakewell is only a couple of miles away and I highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MazBowie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Probably the best pub I have visited regarding fantastic views. I visited with my family for an evening meal. The restaurant area is basic and more like a canteen, no atmosphere and not that attractive. The food was average, I opted for stuffed chicken breast with a sauce. The chicken was overcooked and slightly dry, although not as disappointing as the sauce that tasted like warm cream. The staff were friendly and pleasant to talk to, overall I don't think I will be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Came across this on a long walk around the Derbyshire one Sunday in May.
Superb, if somewhat off track, location.
But very curious in parts !
Big sign, NO BOOTS, so they don't want walkers pounds then ?
( many walked past on a hot summers day )
Sign said put boots in corridor by beer garden, so I took my boots off and walked, boots in hand through the restaurant to the said corridor !
The restaurant was served buffet style, the menus on the tables only had coffees and teas, still don't know what they served or what they charged !
Went into the Bar, very friendly service, they said the only food was the buffet next door,
The menus on the bar tables only showed coffees and teas, although they all had a cruet set !
Only 2 tables used in restaurant on a vey busy, elsewhere, weekend.
Can't help but think its the only Bar in the peak district without a bar menu, they must be losing thousands of food business.
Its called a Hotel, but its a pub with 4 rooms and a pretention to be called an hotel.
went down the road for a Sunday roast for £8.95 at a more "tuned in" pub.

I hope they see the light and get organised soon, its location is too good to lose to another failed pub/hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent three nights at the hotel over the May bank holiday weekend. We were delighted by the delicious food and excellent service. The views from the dining room are amazing and there are brilliant walks in every direction. The room was quite small but had everything we needed and we would be very happy to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jlander20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Staying in the village for a weekend away and went for an evening meal - great food, good service and beautiful views. Would be lovely for a mid day drink...helpful staff and great to be able to buy local ale to take home. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: only went for food so can't comment on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The room are small and the place is a bit dated but i still gave them 5 stars, how so? for many reason that i will describe, but mostly due to the outstanding staff (especially Alice). The service was so good, we really enjoyed our stay: we are a vegan couple. we cam along with another couple that one of them requires a gluten free diet. the Hotel had prepared a special Vegan gluten Free menu especially for us!!!
We had fantastic dinner one night and enjoyed a superb full breakfast (all Vegan and/or Gluten Free). we couldn't believe our luck finding this place.
Alice and the rest of the staff were super nice, helpful and friendly.
The location is simply perfect. quite, close to Bakewell and has absolutely stunning view. Only 4 rooms, a nice pub downstairs, always busy with local people and lots of nice dogs.
Perfect location to explore the peak district.
Simply a super-friendly, high level family run business.

Room Tip: 2 rooms has view to the valley and 2 room view to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UdNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel in room 1 for 2 nights excellent views and little cramped but as we were walking or visiting locally so it wasn't a big issue, no noise from bar or restaurant. Did have evening meal first night and staff were attentive and breakfast was a great way to start the day with the young woman giving advice on where to visit. Staff work hard to keep the place tidy and do a brilliant job. locals use the bar and restaurant so it much be reasonable.Would stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Front rooms with a view are worth the bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank male58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Over Haddon
1.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
10.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Monsal Head Hotel
Monsal Head Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bakewell
434 reviews
3.4 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lathkil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lathkil Hotel

Address: School Lane, Over Haddon, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Over Haddon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Over Haddon
Price Range: £74 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lathkil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the tiny Derbyshire village of Over Haddon, perched above the stunning Lathkill Dale, boasting one of the most spectacular views from any pub in the county. We have four ensuite bedrooms, two overlooking Lathkill Dale. We serve food daily in our traditional bar and recently refurbished Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Lathkil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lathkil Hotel Over Haddon, Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing