We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip through Brazil!”

Amazon River Cruise Gil Serique - Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer special tours in the Amazon Region with focus on Wildlife observation, Environmental issues and History. We also provide support to film makers and writers.
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Many thanks to Gil and his crew. We did a unbelievable 4 days tour - 2 days rainforest with sleeping outdoors in hammocks, barbecue over log fire and many hikes. Gil can fill books with his knowledge and he is a great entertainer and a great outdoor cocktail mixer too. Afterwards we did a 2 day boat tour through the flood plains, watching the wildlife, eating and drinking better than in most restaurants.

It was amazing and very very relaxing these four days.

We got all this from him last minute because we contacted him and started the next day but he can do lot more for you if you contact him earlier. He can offer you a allround complete package with even transfers and you are also welcome at his place to stay like we did the 2 days after the trip

Many thanks to Gil
Hope to see you again friend

PS: Hey Gil - Aaaaaiiii!!! - the king vultures are beasts!

Thank scheri_martl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GilSerique, Owner at Amazon River Cruise Gil Serique - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

From the court to the jungle! Thank you so much for the amazing time!!
All the best and Viel Gluck

GS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 4 reviews
"small boat"
in 5 reviews
"fried fish"
in 5 reviews
"worth every penny"
in 4 reviews
"pink dolphins"
in 11 reviews
"gil serique"
in 19 reviews
"closer look"
in 3 reviews
"pineapple"
in 3 reviews
"his team"
in 3 reviews
"national forest"
in 4 reviews
"fruit"
in 4 reviews
"fish market"
in 3 reviews
"toed sloth"
in 2 reviews
"family history"
in 2 reviews
"fishing for piranhas"
in 2 reviews
"his enthusiasm"
in 2 reviews
"local guide"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018

Without a doubt the best tour I was on during my two week trip to the Amazon. While Gil’ mastery of the rainforest wildlife goes without question, what makes the tour so special is his the way he interweaves the presentation of the Amazon’s rich wildlife with an equally rich history of the region, his family and of course himself.

On day 1, we set off to explore the National Park along the Tapajós River. On the way, Gil told us the remarkable story of how his family first came to Brazil, as well as his own fascinating upbringing in Santarém. Once we got there, we explored the jungle that Gil knows inside-out from his childhood. Although this part of the tour want the most diverse in terms of wildlife (maybe a few monkeys, but not much more), the scenery of the vastness of the Amazon was truly breathtaking. To top it off, Gil has prepared a camping-style lunch for us in the forest. Just as we were about to eat, however, it started to rain and we were forced to retreat. Our plan to camp in the rainforest had to be cancelled but Gil was king enough to let us stay in hammocks back at his place in Alter do Chão.

On day 2, after a quick visit to the local fish-market to see the river-dolphins, Gil
hired a boat for us to go right into the rainforest/wetland area. This is where Ornithologist Gil’s vast knowledge really made all the difference. As we moved through the vast river network, Gil would direct out attention to all manner of wildlife, and we were able to thoroughly appreciate the richness of the Amazon ecosystem. As a further treat, Gil’s cousin had prepared a delightful fish-stew for us which we enjoyed on the boat al-fresco before we returned back in town.

Throughout the 2 days, our conversations were filled with wit, humour, history and a deep love for this endangered but still deeply fascinating region. The tour is quite intense, there is no doubt that you will be rewarded by a far greater intellectual awareness of the region than the common tour.

One final point for those coming to see the Amazon from abroad. Gil’s English is truly excellent, so English speakers should not worry about this point. Indeed, Gil is one of the best English speakers that I have met in Brazil. I consider my Portuguese not bad, but I am truly put to shame when compared with Gil’s English. A testament to his curiosity and commitment to learning.

Thank RonanB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GilSerique, Owner at Amazon River Cruise Gil Serique - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

How nice of you Ronan. Thank you so much for your words. Enjoy your time in Brazil mate..

All the best and thanks indeed

Gil Serique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Our ship the 'Braemar' had been delayed into Santarem by the strong current but Giles worked tremendously hard to make up for our lost time. We explored creeks finding a fantastic array of local wildife. Everything from Botos to Black-collared Hawks. A great experience and thoroughly recommended. I also got some great photographs courtesy of Giles expertise.We had a great time and Giles regailed us with stories of local and family history as well as his love of the Amazon Wildlife.

Thank Birderjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GilSerique, Owner at Amazon River Cruise Gil Serique - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. I hope Braemer gets on time next time. Still, it was a great honour having met you and your friends. All the best

GS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

If you ever get the opportunity to go on one of Gil Serique's tours, grab it. He is so knowledgeable and he makes things so interesting. We arrived in Santarem on P&O's Adonia on 17th February. There were supposed to be six of us on the trip but the other two couples did not turn up and after one and a half hours wait Gil said the trip would still go ahead, even though there would be just the two of us. Thus, in effect, we had a private voyage, for just the two of us. Because of that he arranged for his delightful six year old daughter, Flora, to join us. Gil is re-vamping his website so on board there was a photographer taking still photos and someone else with a drone taking videos, together with others running the boat itself. Although the boat had two decks, we stayed on the top deck where we were protected from the sun by a canopy but had the benefit of a cooling breeze as we travelled. Gil was the perfect host, pointing things out to us as we passed, and providing a snack lunch and drinks.
We went up a small tributory and where the trips from the cruise ship turn right, we turned left. The scenary was fascinating. Bird life was everywhere, and Gil could identify in an instant. He has produced a small booklet of the wildlife in that area and before we left he marked off all the ones we had seen, some 25 of them, besides the water buffalo and horses standing in the river. Eventually, because there were so few of us we got off his boat into a canoe (not an unstable kayak !) and ventured into the forest. The trees and branches were so close to us Gill had to fend off them with his paddle. This intimacy in the waters of the rain forest became the highlight of the trip - indeed the highlight of the whole cruise on Adonia. We were out for five and a half hours and we wished it could have been longer, but we had to get back to the cruise ship before she sailed.
Gil is a facinating person, so knowledgeable and so enthusiastic to show us the many gems this area has to offer. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for him. We are so glad we could go on this trip - the chance of a lifetime for us.

Christine & Timothy

Thank TimothyandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GilSerique, Owner at Amazon River Cruise Gil Serique - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for your dissertation on our time. The time now is for a great cocktail!
I wish you all the best in the name of my team!

Cheers

Gil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We had booked Gil Serique from England and on our arrival at Santarem, Gil was waiting at the harbour gate. Unfortunately several other persons from the ship failed to turn up however this did not cause Gil a problem and we started our trip. He was so enthusiastic right from the start about what we would be seeing and experiencing throughout the day. Initially going to the local fish market we saw pink dolphins being fed but the water of the Amazon being cloudy it was only when they surfaced you had a view of them. After this we went to the quay and boarded our boat. The boat was large and spacious with more crew than passengers but again this did not affect the welcome, enthusiasm or friendliness of Gil and the crew. We were served fried fish and drinks soft and alcoholic whilst we travelled further into the river passing other boats from our cruise ship who were fishing for piranhas. As we travelled Gil gave a talk on the rubber plantations and the slavery which existed there showing paintings relating to this time. After mooring we went on smaller canoes and was able to land at other points on the river. After returning to the main boat we had barbecued fish and returned to Santarém. All in all a wonderful day with a man so into the environment it was great to see. On returning to our cruise ship and hearing what other passengers had experienced from the local trips it was apparent how much more we had experienced. I have since returning recommended this trip to our friends who will be going to the Amazon next year without any worry.

Thank aylward57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GilSerique, Owner at Amazon River Cruise Gil Serique - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

What a marvelous day! Thank you for it and for your time to share it on Trip Advisor. We are committed to keeping up the quality our tour and it is pretty much based on respect to those who know the importance of the Rainforest and place it on their bucket list.

We have just hosted guests from Silver Muse in Santarem and at Alter do chao the results were not different. We have decided to turn our property at Alter do chao a special pub for cruisers. I am working on site and promotion, we are very positive about it..

Thank you and all the best

Gil Serique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amazon River Cruise Gil Serique - Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Amazon River Cruise Gil Serique - Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing