We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil, off the beaten track, beautiful...”
The Old School House, River and Orchard,  raicedo.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old School House, River and Orchard,  raicedo.
The Old School House..we love it and hope you will too!! the house with orchard and river has oodles of space and privacy to have a perfect family holiday
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Old School House, River and Orchard,  raicedo.
The Old School House..we love it and hope you will too!!
the house with orchard and river has oodles of space and privacy to have a perfect family holiday
...this is why our house is so special, the orchard and river are just stunning!!
sit, splash, soak or simply listen to the bubbling water and watch it flow by. and yes make a dam!!
half the orchard is cut so loads of space to play and relax-hammock, loungers, garden games supplied
Lounge/Kitchen
lounge, summer or winter, relax on the massive leather sofa and just chill
The Kitchen/Diner fully equipped plus there are a selection of tables in the orchard garden and bbq
one of the double bedrooms, plenty of storage, great views, very tasteful decor and comfortable
wake up to this stunning view from main bedroom
main bedroom has this beautiful balcony that overlooks the orchard and river and woods opposite
one of the gorgeous views from balcony..binoculars supplied!! so much wildlife, rare flora and birds
soak up the evening sun from front bench, listen to the water +watch wildlife (our favourite thing!)
Back view of the house in autumn
River in the garden ( in winter) Perfect for summer dip, sploshing around +dam building! its lovely.
Rodiles beach, one of many fantastic local beaches
Quadding directly above the house is stunning!!
The beautiful village of Espinaredo 10 min walk down the lane, Has super local cafe/restaurant/ bar
Horreos (Barns) in Espinaredo. easy walking with great tavern for coffee drinks + food!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Espinaredo, Pilona Municipality, Asturias

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
shegs
aylesbury
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil, off the beaten track, beautiful mountain views”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If you're looking for somewhere away from it all, then this is the place. Set in a valley, the sound of cowbells and a flowing stream is about the most noise you will hear. A short drive to the nearest town, Espinerado, with a lovely bar/eatery and a football table outside for the younger ones on the trip. Infiestu is a lovely place, with a good selection of cafes and restaurants - sit in the square at Cafe Venezia and relax. If you are looking to head to the beaches, there are some stunning ones about, but you will need a car/transport. Our picks (and there are over 200 beaches) included Playa De Poo, Cueves de la Mer and Torimbia. El Fitu was worth the trip too. We visited Asturias 10 years when our son was one, and it's great to see it has maintained its charm and uniqueness. You didn't find a mass of tourists then and you won't find them here now.
A rare treat to see the stars of an evening sitting on the balcony of The Old School House .......

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Thank you so much guys for your kind words, we are so glad you had a great time returning to somewhere that obviously touched you 10 years ago. We are indebted to you for your custom, and we really hope to see you again one day. Mark and Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big-G-Zer...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful and in the heart of nature.”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We arrived in the dead of night, inky black sky a new moon and rambling roads. The directions we were sent had to take over from the sat nav for the last part of the journey from Asturias airport and were brilliant. As the school house appeared around the corner I knew it would be perfect for what we wanted.
When we awoke in the morning it was hard to believe we were in Spain as the countryside is reminiscent of Austria or Switzerland.The fresh air was intoxicating and we spent much of our hours there lolling around in the garden, reading, sleeping and listening to the babbling stream and the distant tinkle of cow bells.
We did a huge shop and were thankful for the extra fridge and freezer in the outbuilding. We cooked a lot and the kitchen is brilliantly equipped with every thing we needed. We would wake in the mornings and meditate on the balcony, cook breakfast and decide what we were going to do - or not do - that day.
The school house is a perfect chill out holiday. Peaceful and in the heart of nature. And if you are up for more activity there is a basket of leaflets and booklets in the lounge for ideas of what to do. The most adventurous we got was visiting a local spa! If you want to get away from it all and recharge the The School House is a great choice.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Dear Graham and family. Thank you so much for your kind words. We are truly blessed that you enjoyed your tranquil stay in the intoxicating Asturian countryside so much. We thank you for booking with us, and hope that you will let your friends in on your little secret Spanish hideaway. Many thanks. Mark and Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel N
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the worlds wonders”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Recently stayed at this lovely house and it's beautiful surroundings. Great location situated with just a 5minute drive to local town where there are many activities to source. If you fancy going out for dinner I suggest the lovely restaurant at the bottom of the lane where the food was unforgettable. But for a peaceful day or night, this place offers just that with its massive garden, great for a BBQ and the shallow river at the bottom to dip your feet in. This place is a little slice of heaven in my book.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Bless you Mr Newberry. We really appreciate your thoughts and comments. So glad that Asturias and our hideaway home gave you such a wonderful holiday. Hope to see you once again....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W
1 review
“Truley tranquil retreat”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Located in the most beautiful unspoilt countryside this is a Truley tranquil retreat to unwind, relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. A nature lovers paradise and great for walkers. I spent hours with my binoculars watching the deer on the hill tops and bird spotting.

The house is home from home and fully equipped with everything you could possibly need and more. Beautifully presented and very comfortable. For budding chefs, you will not be disappointed, the kitchen area is great to cook in and pots and pans are plentiful.

And if you feel you might like to venture out...local people are very friendly, food is fabulous and very reasonable priced, the beaches are beautifully rustic much like Cornwall, there's lots of out door activities and we really enjoyed canoeing, horse riding and my favourite of all quad biking which was a great way to see the country side and a trip to the city of Ovedo is a must.

Thank you for making our stay feel so special. We will certainly be coming back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
We are deeply grateful for your kind words and truly happy you appear to have had a beautiful time at The Old Schoolhouse. We do hope we can welcome you back again very soon....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S
1 review
“Beautiful place, great location”
Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Hidden gem, this place is truly fabulous! Excellent location. Would most definitely stay again!
The house is charming beautifully decorated and really clean!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2016
It was our pleasure to have had you as a guest Laura. Thank you for your kind words.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garryjone...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just stay here!”
Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in April 2014

I've stayed at this place a couple of times, once with friends and once with my wife... And I cant get enough of it!
There is simply something very special about this old house that I cant put my finger on. If you want to relax you can, and if you want to go a bit mad you can.
Some days we would simply not leave the house, just chill and cook, lounge in the garden, listen to music and other days we'd head into one of the towns.. get caught up trying to chat with some locals while a having a drink and before you know it, its 1am!
There's millions of fancy hotels you can always stay at, but sometimes you find a gem that just 'works'... this is one of them.
We'll defo be going back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: just different from other places we've stayed at.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2016
Thank you for the kind comments Mr Jones. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests on multiple occasions, and we look forward to seeing you and wife again very soon in your next trip to Spain from Dubai.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard S
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house in a glorious location.”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is about as near as it gets to paradise. A very comfortable house in the most beautiful setting with the sound of distant cow bells only interrupted by the haunting calls of rutting stags, miles and miles of walks from the door what more could you ask for? Our second year in Asturias and by far the best, mainly because they are the friendliest people we have met anywhere in Spain. We really can't recommend The Old School House highly enough, thank you Mark and Lisa.
Bernard and Carole Selby, Richard and Freda Clegg

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The glorious location
Liked least: There was nothing to not like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
It was totally and utterly our pleasure to have you as guests at our special hideaway in Asturias. We thank you immensely for your very kind comments, and we hope we can look forward to seeing you again next year like so many of our regular visitors. Mark & Lisa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing