We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
70
35
18
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
35
18
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews well stocked shop orchard campsite glow sticks camp fire table tennis site shop toasting marshmallows local meats washing machine lower field great site safari tent great weekend charging points attractive setting large field relaxed vibe
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

This was our first time here but joined family who have been frequent visitors. We were on the lower field without electric hook up. We were able to light a campfire and there was plenty of wood to purchase from the shop. Loads of other kids to play with and to do which included swimming in the little river. The owner was friendly and helpful too. Separate Womens bathroom which was welcome as well as a family bathroom. The site was busy (half term) but generally no trouble with a relaxed anything goes vibe. We have already booked to go again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank 143jkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H, Public Relations Manager at The Orchard Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so glad to hear you got to experience all the site has to offer. And very happy to hear you will be staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

just returned, we had lovely weekend there, nice campsite, worth to come often, highly recommended.
Safari tent has a private wc and shower, comfy beds, good kitchen equipment, nice veranda with barbecue, campfire, little pond outside

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H, Public Relations Manager at The Orchard Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you so much for your review of our Safari Tent Julia, we do hope you will come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Just returned from a long weekend ( 3 families) and had a good time at this site. It is relaxed, and the host Alan does his best to keep everyone happy. You can arrive and leave whenever you wish and the pretty much camp wherever you want to,

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robertlucas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H, Public Relations Manager at The Orchard Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you so much for your review, we do try and make sure that all our guests have a relaxing say with us! We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely stay over the last May bank holiday. The site is large and we were allocated a brilliant spacious pitch bordering the river. It was located to the edge of the site which meant our group was away from everyone else. The site is great for children with a small wooded area to explore and they all loved swimming in the river.
We enjoyed some lovely campfires and the ability to order butchers meat and bakery items was an added bonus. The shop held on to our meat in their fridges until we needed it which was very helpful.
For such a large site it was a surprise to see how small the facilities block was and this is the reason why I haven't given 5 stars. Only a handful of toilets and showers and only one water point. Given the amount of use they had I guess they were kept as well as they could have been - the loos always had paper and hand wash - but cleanliness could have been a lot better! The 3 showers in the ladies washroom we marginally better but, to avoid queues, you had to use them out of the morning and evening rush.
The site is well located with a very well stocked co-op in the village. We enjoyed day trips to Walberswick, Rendelsham Forest and Bawdsy Point.
Another bonus is that we found a pizza delivery that brought very good pizzas to the site for our last night.
I would recommend this site if you are group. Just don't be expecting much of the facilities!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ross1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H, Public Relations Manager at The Orchard Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our site, I am very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay! We do hope you'll come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We were lucky enough to come across this wonderful back to basics (with all the amenities!) camp site at the end of the season last year (we visited for Alien Invasion weekend). Our 3rd visit didn't disappoint.

The site was busy, as to be expected on a glorious bank holiday weekend, and there was a really lovely, friendly atmosphere. Our 4 year old made friends within minutes of arrival and spent the weekend doing what children should be doing; making dens, playing in the wooded areas, having water pistol fights, poking sticks in the river/pond, getting dirty and having fun with other children both younger and older than himself.

There are ample amenities including a very well stocked shop (as a vegan coeliac I was over the moon to find a gluten & dairy free ice cream in the freezer!), washing up stations, microwave, kettle, fridges and freezers, bath & showers and toilets, charging points, snug hang out, a couple of swings and table tennis tables.

The campsite was busy and the toilets and showers did get a bit messy at times, which is to be expected as it would have been a full time job for the staff to keep on top of this area alone! After meal times there was also a small queue to wash up, again, to be expected on a bank holiday weekend.

We loved being able to have a campfire and also liked the relaxed atmosphere and minimal campsite rules; sites like this seem to be few and far between.

You can choose from the main field to be close to the amenities (and a few points on electric hook up), a small area near the pond, in the woods, bottom field near the stream or (upon request) the large field past the bottom field where the river widens

The owner, Alan, and his son, Stuart(?) were really friendly and always happy to help.

A highly recommended campsite unless you prefer the more regimental sites and to be governed by a list of rules and regulations, a pristine environment and dislike the sight and sound of children running around enjoying themselves.

Room Tip: You can camp close to amenities, electric, in the woods, in the secluded area, near to the river or where the river widens
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H, Public Relations Manager at The Orchard Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you so much for this absolutely wonderful review - I shall pass on your comments to Alan and Stuart. We do hope you'll be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews