We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Great War 100th Anniversary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Feuilleres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping du L'Oseraie
yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Great War 100th Anniversary”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Brilliant campsite in the heart of the somme ,Fantastic for visiting Memorials and Battlefields,not far from beautiful town of Peronne and Albert,visited on the 4th august,wish id have stayed longer,reception staff ,Constance and Gonzague are lovely people and great hosts ,will be returning soon ,canals and lakes around corner from site very safe campsite

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank capa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Marvellous site in the Somme valley.
Very welcoming english speaking staff on reception. Swimming pool is great for cooling off in the hot sun. Right in the heart of the Somme area. Great for visiting all the main sites if you are interested in the WW1 historical features and museums. Don't miss the beautiful countryside all around, and the villages. If you are camping, caravanning, or cycle touring I think you will find the place hard to beat.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

From the moment we arrived it was perfect, the warm and friendly welcome from the owners, Constance & Gonzague was second to none, we were talked around the site where the best pitch was and then given an armful of brochures on the local area including the sites, memorials and cemeteries.
The pitch was spot on, every pitch is secluded and has great privacy in the way of hedges all round three sides, each has their own electric hook up which is easily switched from 6amp to 10amp and there are water fountains all round the site to get fresh drinking water..
The site is relatively quiet you do get back ground noise from the A1 but not enough to keep even a light sleeper like myself awake or to prevent me from falling asleep in the first place!! :) On the subject of the A1.. this is a 5 5 min drive from the campsite.. then you are 120kms from Paris or 130 in the other direction to Calais!! its location could not be more perfect..
There is a swimming pool.. clean and permanently heated to 26 degrees,, a lovely little bar selling local beers and wines at exceptionally reasonable prices the also do snacks.. ham and cheese pizzas, quiche lorraine etc.. in the bar area there are a couple of pool tables and a fusball table and on Saturdays night have a small disco for anyone that wants to join in, but again not loud enough to keep me awake :)
From the campsite you can walk into the little village of Feuilleres where you can buy a fishing permit for 10 euros.. or just walk along the Somme Canal or somme itself!! as we did.. you can go all the way to Peronne which is about 10ks along the canal.. According to some other guests in the campsite the local restaurant in Feuilleres is amazing but we ate in the campsite everynight so can't comment but the owners can give you a card which gets you a little discount (and also for one in Peronne!!)
All in all a perfect campsite, will be back and wish we could have stayed longer!! In fact after leaving and going to Versaille for 5 days we stopped on our way back to the UK for a coffee and an Ice cream with them, and we were asked if we wanted to use the swimming pool and join them for a BBQ.. but alas the ferry and return to work beckoned or we would have probably moved in!!!

Constance and Gonzague thank you so much for your hospitality and we can't wait to see you again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank CaptainBiggles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We booked this site as it is fairly central for visiting Battle of the Somme memorials and battlefields. The village is easy to find - just off the A1, which does mean there is a fairly constant roar from the traffic at times. The site itself is signposted, but not always using a consistent name and the entrance itself has no sign (it is behind the dustbins and seems to have fallen down). So we overshot as did others we saw.

Owners are very pleasant, although 'Mrs Campsite' seems quite nervous and her English isn't great. 'Mr Campsite' speaks fluent English and is very pleasant and friendly. The site is predominantly static vans, most seem privately owned, and permanently sited tourers with awnings. It was very quiet when we were there - not sure how it would be when fully occupied. There is a heated pool, but it didn't open when we were there. Also tennis courts. Each pitch is bounded with a hedge and seems to have its own water supply. There are also taps and drains outside most pitches. We assumed these could be used for grey water as there didn't seem to be anywhere else to empty. Electric hook ups at each pitch and easy to reach. The site is pretty much equidistant between Peronne and Albert - both good starting points for 1st WW visiting. No shops and the nearest petrol station we found was at Albert where there is a hypermarche.

The site has potentially good facilities. Shower blocks for men and women and a couple of loo blocks (men's urinals are outdoors and in clear view of the washing up facilities - you're in France!). And a block of cold water washing up sinks - hot (ish) water behind. But that is a bit of a problem because we found we needed a bowl to wash up with (no sink plugs) and a bucket to transport water. The lights mostly don't work at night and the water gets very tepid by early evening. An interesting experience washing up with a head torch. The men in our party said their loos were cleaned. I am absolutely sure the ladies only got a very cursory wipe round once - floors untouched and the outdoor basin had the same decoration of dead flies for most of our week. We used the facilities in our van. Our camping son used the showers (e1.60 for a token each time). You got 7 minutes hot water which went from molten to luke. When my husband tried to use them on the last day, he got 30 seconds then nothing. Not too impressive then.

When we arrived, reception opened from 9 - 7, but during the week, it was changed to 2 - 7. The bar closes at the same time. And that seemed to be the problem. The site appears to be run by a young couple who are trying hard but trying to do everything themselves and so a lot seems to be missed. Our pitch had quite long grass and when it rained it was pretty wet getting to and from the van. And there is no way of contacting anyone outside reception times. Which could be problematic if your electric goes off - which they warned us it is prone to do. There are NO fire alarms or extinguishers.

That being said, we had a lovely holiday and were perfectly comfortable (although we do have good facilities in our van). The village is right by the Somme and there are some lovely walks. We were serenaded by woodpeckers and cuckoos every morning and the baker visits. But the previous reviewer is right - he visits at some speed and you would need to be very fast to stop him.

We wouldn't go back, but it is a perfectly adequate site for an overnight stop on your way south and the closeness to the motorway is a bonus for this.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rotor1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We arrived à bit later and without à reservation but they were extremely friendly and helpfull. Lots of information available about the area and the pool is heated. Only the baker was driving so fast through the camping that we missed him when getting some money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadeliesAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feuilleres
4.2 mi away
ibis Styles Peronne Assevillers
4.5 mi away
Camping du Port de Plaisance
4.5 mi away
Camping Le Brochet
Camping Le Brochet
#1 of 3 in Peronne
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping du L'Oseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping du L'Oseraie

Property: Camping du L'Oseraie
Address: 12 rue du Chateau, 80200 Feuilleres, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Feuilleres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Feuilleres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing