We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what the doctor ordered!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sampford Spiney, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rb2582016
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered!”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We arrived in the midst of Storm Brian so the drive in was a bit hairy if you aren't familiar with single track roads.

Despite the weather we were very happy when we arrived. We were greeted by some freshly baked cakes which was lovely with a cup of tea watching the rain.

The cottage is gorgeous and has everything you need for a long or short break You are out in the sticks so we tended to cook of an evening and found everything we needed in the kitchen.

I slept so well, as it is so quiet and completely dark! And the bed was nice a cosy with 2 duvets :D

We brought our puppy Lola who had a great time. She loved watching all the birds in the garden though wasn't fond of the horses!

The location is perfect for walks on the moors, visiting dog friendly pubs and tea rooms. It is a little far from any beaches so if it is a beach holiday you are after, might not be quite right.

Hosts were friendly but respectful of our privacy

We would definitely visit again!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Buster Barn and that it provided a cosy getaway during Storm Brian! It must have been a lovely surprise to be welcomed with home made cake. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at buster barn for a week and it was lovely and peaceful. The farm provided beautiful views and lovely walks. The owners Sally and Monty are lovely, friendly hosts. We would love to return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your review of Buster Barn, it sounds like you had a fantastic stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are sure the owners would be delighted to welcome you back in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay P
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect for getting away from life's hassles.”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a place. So nice. Spacious. Heating makes it lovely and cosy if chilly. Hosts are really friendly and nice.
The only downside is the distance along the single track lanes. Don't be put off though, you will be rewarded with a fantastic stay. Peaceful, private and yet not totally alone if you need assistance. Nice walks from door too. If you like to get away from city life then this is the place for you.
Well done Sally and Monty for letting us stay in your barn and your great welcome.
Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your kind feedback, we are happy to hear that your stay at Buster Barn was such an enjoyable one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M
Marden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem! Perfect for 2 and your 4 legged friends.”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

If you are looking to 'escape to the country' and love walking in stunningly, beautiful countryside, Buster Barn ticks all the boxes. It is set deep in the Dartmoor countryside, with fantasticl views, and has everything you could possibly need to enjoy and comfortable and relaxing stay. The owners are really welcoming and happy to help you make the most of your holiday with their knowledge of the local area., You have your own very private areas, including a lovely rustic seating shelter where you can just sit with a glass of something and take in the beauty of Dartmoor. Dogs are made very welcome, and they have the sweetest dog of their own who comes to greet you on arrival. Shops are within easy driving distance.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Many thanks for your review of Buster Barn, it sounds like the perfect place for your escape to the country; we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janpetty
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect,peaceful barn”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

If you want a really comfortable, quiet, peaceful holiday then this is the place for you. Plenty of spectacular walks without having to use the car, the dog loved it! The owners are very friendly but unobtrusive. We hope to return soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
Many thanks for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a peaceful stay at Buster Barn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing