We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful traditional hotel”
Review of Thon Hotel Sandven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Sandven
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Norheimsund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a pretty hotel right at the fjord. Especially the old part of the hotel has nice and cozy rooms with balconies facing the water. The hotel has a great atmosphere. The rich breakfast buffet offer typical Norwegian specialties.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part, facing the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Friendly staff, nice pace, we had a wery big room on the third floor in the old part this time, with sauna, but we dident use that. Nice big bacony, with a nice view. Good breackfast. Its the 4th time we are at this hotell, and it will not be the last.

Room Tip: Choose Superior Room in the historical part of the hotell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank Øyvind Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I booked trough a good interface for smartphone on the hotel's website which worked very well.
Friendly and attentive staff, and the room was nice and comfortable (4th floor).

There is a nice sitting area outside the hotell resturant near the fjord where you also get serving from the bar and resturant. The food in the resturant was excellent and they had a good selection of beers (some local brands) in the bar/resturant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank Targenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our room in the old wing is splendid- large with balcony overlooking the fjord, a sauna- what else can one wish for. The answer is an edible dinner. My halibut was not only totally dried out, but burnt. When asked why I was not eating it,, , I was told that is the way it is made- burnt with brown sugar ( the flavor of which I did not detect). . I was offered a cup of coffee, presumably in compensation. That I did not need and thus left the table hungry with the bill which included the halibut that I left after eating one bite. What a shame, after such a nice reception and such a lovely room. Don't eat here. Incidentally, the reindeer my husband had was not up to par either.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Friendly staff, good location situated in a scenic town. Good complimentary coffee in the lobby and excellent breakfast. We will not hesitate to recommend this place and wished we had stay for another night..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank daniel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at this gorgeous old hotel for 2 nights on our way back to Bergen. It has been tastefully updated. The old part was situated right on the water and the entrance is very attractive. The staff were helpful. On arrival we were given a room on the ground floor which was not made up when we arrived after 4pm. We asked for another room and were cheerfully given an apartment in the modern part on the 2nd floor. Room 262 gives a lovely view and was surprisingly spacious. Flat screen tv, separate kitchen, large bathroom with big shower recess and nice towels. The beds were very comfortable and linens were clean and soft. The breakfast was plentiful and served in a lovely old styled dining room. It was very quiet when we were there. We would nit hesitate to recommend this place. It was the best accommodation that we had during our trip to Norway. Go and see the waterfall nearby. It's quite spectacular and free to enter. You can walk behind the actual waterfall.

Room Tip: There is a conference centre attached to this hotel. We would recommend that you ask for a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A beautifully designed new part connected to the historical timber structure. We loved the various corners inside and outside of this lovely hotel. Very classy. Very comfortable. 6 or 7 different kinds of coffee and fruits served for free at the receptionist area. Fabulous staff in the dining rooms and reception area.
We were lucky to be upgraded to a so-called "wedding apartment" on the top floor of the new section. There was a balcony wrapped around our huge living room and bedroom. We thought we had a piece of heaven on earth.
The breakfast was first class. Gravlax and Greek kefir were offered. Both of them were our first during our two weeks stay in various good hotels in Norway. Dinner was exquisite as well. Considering the quality, it was reasonably priced. Compliments to the chef. Do consider staying here if you make it to this part of Hardangerfjord area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hisakyuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norheimsund
16.6 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
133 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hardangerfjord Hotel
Hardangerfjord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oystese
58 reviews
22.7 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Store Ringheim Hotell og Restaurant
Store Ringheim Hotell og Restaur...
#1 of 7 in Voss Municipality
130 reviews
25.0 mi away
Hardanger Hotel
Hardanger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Odda
112 reviews
19.9 mi away
Fleischer's Hotel
Fleischer's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Voss Municipality
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Sandven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Sandven

Address: Kaien 28, Norheimsund, Kvam 5600, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Kvam > Norheimsund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Norheimsund
Price Range: £126 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Sandven 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thon Hotel Sandven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing