We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location. Perfect!”
Review of Oddland Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norheimsund
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oddland Camping
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful location. Perfect!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Firstly the views. the cabins overlook the Fjord and the views are amazing (even for Norway). The cabins have a deck at the back with a table, with the views of the Fjord, and a deck out the front with another table and a BBQ grill with views of the hills. The cabins are well finished, clean and have everything you need. With the two hobs in the kitchen and the grill outside you can cook most things you would like. There is also a tv with channels such as MTV and discovery channel if you can tear yourself away from the views. There is even good reliable free wifi throughout the site! The owners are friendly and helpful. There are a couple of rowing boats that are free to use, just put your name down on the sheet and pick up lifevest. Rowing round the Fjord under was one of the highlights of our trip, once you have the hang of the oars, its a brilliant and tranquil way to see the countryside. There are some decent walks nearby. The short drive to Norheimsund gives access to tourist information and 2 or 3 supermarkets. the Spar being the best of them. We didnt want to leave it was a brilliant holiday. i wish i was still there now!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FraserCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

After getting advice from someone in Norheimsund, I hopped on a bus to Oddland Camping and turned up with my backpack in the rain to ask where I could pitch my tent. Disaster! They don't actually allow tents - despite the name - and only offer cabins. As a backpacker on a shoestring, this was devastating news!

Thankfully, the very kind owner let me stay in an empty cabin for a discount. I found it to be perfectly comfortable with a superb view, which turned out to be much better than the other side of the fjord (something I learnt the next day at the Hardanger Feriesenter, where, it has to be said, the male owner was a bit of a jerk!)

One day I'll come back to stay in the cabins again. Brilliant find.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Wonderful cabins in the most amazing situation. We stayed for 5 nights in one of the one room cabins. Spotlessly clean and amazingly equipped for such a small space. Possibly a bit small for a family of 4 for 5 nights but the view and outside space made it possible! Excellent value for money would definitely go back and recommend to family & friends.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kennpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was SUCH an amazing find and I wish we'd stayed longer - both for the views as well as the lodging. We had the largest cabin for ourselves and our 13 month old daughter which was perfect. It was so nice to be able to put her to sleep while my husband and I enjoyed our own time and didn't have to whisper in the dark as we would with a hotel room. Even though the name is Oddland Camping, this is NOT camping at all! The cabins are well appointed, spacious, and super clean. Our cabin had wifi and a wonderful outdoor covered porch. I could sit out there and watch the water for hours and hours.

The owners offered a high chair and a bathing bucket which was great.

HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FInland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed almost a week in the largest cabin. The cabin was spacious and well equipped. Having a outside terrace covering almost all cottage was a delight view and children wise. View from the cottage terrace was spectacular. You can take a rowing boat out for a free spin on the fjord which is just some meters from the cottage terrace. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and our stay was very pleasant. Only negative which comes to mind is very hard to spot entrance to the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jopi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norheimsund
2.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Sandven
Thon Hotel Sandven
#1 of 1 in Norheimsund
234 reviews
15.5 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hardangerfjord Hotel
Hardangerfjord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oystese
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
31 reviews
21.6 mi away
Store Ringheim Hotell og Restaurant
Store Ringheim Hotell og Restaur...
#1 of 7 in Voss Municipality
115 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hardanger Hotel
Hardanger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Odda
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddland Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddland Camping

Property: Oddland Camping
Address: Vikoeyvegen 396, Norheimsund, Kvam 5600, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Kvam > Norheimsund
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Norheimsund
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing