We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and eccentric Norwegian charm at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fjordslottet Hotell
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fotlandsvag
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quirky and eccentric Norwegian charm at its best”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent the night of Monday 26th May 2014 at Fjordslottet Hotell. On that day we travelled across from Horten in the east of Norway to Fotlandsvag in the West. It took a bit longer than we anticipated so we only arrived about 2220.

I had read other people's reviews that said the place was hard to find even with a sat nav so before I went I used Google Street View to find markers to look out for but to be honest it wasn't that difficult to find. One word of caution though, the 567 road that leads to the hotel is only wide enough for one vehicle in parts and we had to reverse to let a car pass us at one point so allow plenty of time to drive safely there. Also, access to Osteroy is via a toll bridge so factor that cost in if you're using the hotel to access Bergen.

There is a small free unsurfaced car park at the bottom of the hill the hotel is on. This hotel probably isn't a good choice if you have mobility issues due to the hill.

Reception is around the side and when we entered there was nobody inside but a card saying to ring a number if nobody was there. I had to ring a few times, I was a bit worried but the third time I rang, I got an answer and the hotel owner, Christian, was very quick to come after that. He gave us each a free chocolate, which was a nice touch and he was very friendly.

The hotel itself is a series of wooden buildings in typical Norwegian style. There is a grand piano in reception plus a mish mash of period furniture. Walking out of the reception building was a nice garden with patio furniture, a couple of barbecues and a drained pond. It was very picturesque so you could understand why people would use it for small, intimate weddings.

Our room was a bit like staying in a cabin. There was another chocolate each waiting for us on the bed and large windows and a balcony looking out over the waters. The lighting was provided by a couple of lamps and lights on the bed frame, i.e. no main lights but with the large windows and long Norwegian nights you didn't really need much artificial light.

The lighting on the bed frame could possibly cause people problems if you forget it's there and sit up suddenly. I also think the footer of the bed may be a problem for tall guests but it was ok for me and I'm 5"11. The bed was very soft and comfortable and the room was nice and cool, which was perfect for us.

There was a desk with a small TV on a bracket on the wall and a couple of comfortable chairs. The free wifi was quite strong in our room, or at least it was for me, my wife had difficulty connecting but I had no problems with either my laptop or phone.

Breakfast was served from 0600 - 0830 in the morning. We had a really busy schedule so the early breakfast was really good for us. There was plenty of choice with cereals, meats, cheeses, eggs, bread plus juices and hot drinks.

Overall, I would highly recommend this idyllic hotel and I wish we had more time to enjoy it. It was excellent value for money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mancmanomyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wwwaworldofhotelscom, Manager at Fjordslottet Hotell, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
First off, thank you so much for your review.

We do appriciate the feedback, and are so glad to see you enjoyed yourselves.
It was a pleasure to have you at the hotel, and we are glad to see you experienced the hotel as a great place.

Hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,

Managment at Fjordslottet Hotell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    26
    18
    8
    0
See reviews for
19
22
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharey Tikva, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

A nice place not far from Bergen with Reasonable price. We had stayed only 1 night. The receptionist is friendly and welcoming. Functional and comfortable room. Breakfast reasonable - served Solomon.
Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinhas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wwwaworldofhotelscom, Manager at Fjordslottet Hotell, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi.

Thank you so much for your review.
We are so glad you enjoyed the stay at the hotel, and we do hope we can welcome you again at another time.

Best regards,

Managment at Fjordslottet Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level Contributor
137 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Spent a night here during a business trip to Bergen. I was amazed by the kindness and hospitality the hosts showed. We arrived a bit late but they didn't mind and made a meal for us even though food serving was closed in the afternoon.

I highly recommend the pay this place a visit. Beauteful nature surrounds the place as well, so for tourists this is a perl.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paal_Kri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wwwaworldofhotelscom, Manager at Fjordslottet Hotell, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi.

Thank you so much for your review.
We are so glad you enjoyed the stay at the hotel, and we do hope we can welcome you again at another time. We are almost blussing by the fantastic review.

Best regards,

Managment at Fjordslottet Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We are a company which instaleld a machinery in Tyssebotnen among last and this year.
We had people and myseld staying long in this hotel, which i would higly recommend to all visitors.
Managers are really ok and if can can suggest, ask them to prepare a dinner for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wwwaworldofhotelscom, Manager at Fjordslottet Hotell, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi Giovanni.

Thank you so much for your review.
We are so glad you enjoyed the stay at the hotel, and you are as always more than welcome! Your stays at the hotel is always pleasant!

Looking forward to see you again!

Best regards,

Managment at Fjordslottet Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I managed to come to Bergen on a day when every room in the city was taken. A helpful fellow at the tourist bureau referred me to Fjordslottet Hotell and booked the last available room for me. After a one-hour ride that included a ferry crossing, the bus let me out right in front of the hotel. My room in the adjacent annex had a country feeling that seemed so appropriate with this rural area. Nice furnishings. Good bath. I went back to the main house for a stronger wifi connection and to enjoy the numerous public sitting rooms. The quiet conversations of the other guests, the attractive rooms and the complimentary tea made for a memorable evening. I had an excellent night's sleep in a very comfortable bed and enjoyed the morning sun from my room's balcony. After a very good breakfast that included salmon, I caught the bus back to Bergen to see the sights. It was the second time on this trip that I had stayed at a former manor house. I had a very comfortable and peaceful stay at this friendly and attractive hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here during a conference with work.
The hotel is historical, but at the same time pretty well kept.

The staff was very nice and polite. The hosts and owners where there all the time and told stories about the history of the hotel. A really nice touch to make it personal.
The food is amazing, and really good!
The gardens were really nice, and also it was very nice to stay at a hotel were they are in to giving the guest peace and quite. The was nice areas for walking close by, and also we had some great activities in the afternoon.

Balcony at the room was also good for peace and quite.
If you expect a city hotel, this is not the hotel for you.
But if you want a Norwegian hotel with charm and natur close to you, this is the place.

And, it was very close to Bergen, which was a great asset!

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony and river view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann_travellinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway, Around the Capitol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Nothing special about it. Everything was ok, but nothing more.
A bit unexperienced personel

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goalerhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fotlandsvag
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fjordslottet Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fjordslottet Hotell

Property: Fjordslottet Hotell
Address: | Fotland, Fotlandsvag 5283, Norway (Formerly Fjordslottet Hotell & Bad)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Osteroy Municipality > Fotlandsvag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fotlandsvag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fjordslottet Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a historic hotel, called the Fjord Castle, in the beautiful Osterfjord, less then one hour from Bergen. Fantastic food, drinks and service. A place to relax or a place to be active. The hotel lies beautifully in the fjord and close to Norwegian nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fjordslottet Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing