We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a good holiday, but lots of changes needs to be done.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Globales Costa Tropical
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Hi,

I arrived home on few days ago from staying at Hotel Globales Costa Tropical. On our first day, me and my partner decided to explore whats near the hotel, to be honest we felt like we was in the middle of no where, there's a couple of irish bars, not much facilities to do. You would either have to hire a car for the day, or do a 30minute walk to the beach in a different area. You can get a bus for free, but the times run every hour, so you need to ask reception for the bus times and meeting point.
The reception has leaflets of excursions you can do, e.g. boat tour, waterpark, trip to Lanzarote for the day, hire a car.

Food at the hotel was not great, there was a repeat of food every other day, same for the breakfast too, I didn't enjoy the food, more varieties should be added to the meals.

The pool was cold, so you would have to jump in to start feeling warm in the pool.
Simone - great entertainer for the hotel, play water polo, archery, and pool, brings people together at the hotel to make friends.

The rooms were ok, beds were uncomfy. Found bugs underneath the fridge, if I were you, check under beds and kitchen facilities.

I wouldn't return back here unfortunately, maybe a better well looked after hotel in Fuerteventura.
That's what you get for 3* star hotel, don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DanMatthews18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Gerente at Globales Costa Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of all staff and management here at Globales Costa Tropical Hotel we would like to thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us.

We are very disconcerted that we did not meet with your expectations at the hotel and hope that you will accept our sincere apologies.

We assure you that we do take all customer feedback seriously , we have already discussed your comments with the relevant members of our team and we will work together improving all the areas you have mentioned, our priority is guest satisfaction and we work very hard to try to achieve it.

Wish you all the best,
Raul Sanchez
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Sorry I know this is not a review
Hi we are coming to your hotel next Monday and are arriving at 10am in the morning, is it possible to check in early or use the facilities until the rooms are ready? Also does the hotel have a late check out facilities? As some of the reviews suggest you do not offer this service, Gracias

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Sunnyside9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Gerente at Globales Costa Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest

Our check in time is 14.00 but you can leave your luggage at Reception and use our faliclities. Late checkout is possible only when we have rooms available. In case we can not offer late cherck out we have courtesy shower for our guests.

I hope to see ypou soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

(late review)
I travelled here about 2 years ago in august of 2012 with my ex partner and his 2 kids. 18 year old and an autistic 16 year old.
We had apartments next to each other which was good, but the quality of the apartments were very poor. Broken cables, very dated furniture etc. But the issues got worse. In the boys apartment, their bath had the paint coming up out of the bath and was sharp to touch. Wwe ended up getting moved to another set of apartments which were just as bad.
Then a few days into our holiday the 16 year old ended up cutting his foot quite badly on broken slabs on the floor round the swimming pool. he was given first aid ( dabbed with iodine and given a plaster)
Food was very poor. entertainment wasnt what was advertised. went for a pub quiz and got some random clown man on a unicycle!!

After returning to the uk we were so anoyed about all the crap we dealt with on out holiday we complained to the company we booked the holiday with, which liased with the hotel. TYhey had no memory of the accident with the 16 year old being hurt, as no accident book was filled out, they protested their innocense by saying they moved our rooms when asked even though it was just as bad as the first and ignored our other complaints.

I will never come back here again, and definately wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Gerente at Globales Costa Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of all staff and management here at Globales Costa Tropical Hotel we would like to thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us.

We are very disconcerted that we did not meet with your expectations at the hotel and hope that you will accept our sincere apologies.

We assure you that we do take all customer feedback seriously , we have already discussed your comments with the relevant members of our team and we will work together improving all the areas you have mentioned, our priority is guest satisfaction and we work very hard to try to achieve it.

Wish you all the best,
Raul Sanchez
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Firstly let me begin by saying that if you've booked this hotel and are going to be dissatisfied with anything less than 'The Ritz', then brace yourself for a can of XL sized disappointment. It's a 3* hotel and I would say it's perfectly "just that..."

Secondly, it must be mentioned how hard the staff work at this resort. Some of them are working the early breakfast shift all the way through to the closing of the main bar, and are always helpful, friendly and very generous with alcohol portions! You'll definitely get your money's worth of food and drink, guaranteeing also that you'll never go hungry! Again, if you're expecting OXO Tower quality food at the price you've paid, then you're only going to be a grumpy diner...!

So - here begins my review, sat at 38,000ft on a delayed return flight to Stansted. It's been a great holiday, exactly what we expected.

HOTEL ROOMS - these are adequate and certainly meet the needs of guests. They come with hair dryers, tele's and whilst maybe in need of 'tarting up', they are well presented from the outside. We stayed in an apartment ( a separate area of split level maisonettes about 2mins walk from the hotel entrance). Highly recommended, as most normal rooms are above bars and communal areas which get very noisy at night in peak season. The apartments are two storeys and have bathroom and bedroom upstairs, with a balcony, and kitchen-diner downstairs. Safes are installed, but come with a hefty fee should you wish to use it. Likewise, use of wifi, tele remote or iron come with excessive fees or deposits. An example of this was €15 for use of iron and board (we simply wetted our shirts in the shower and hung outside to dry and de-crease!). If you can do without these creature comforts, then you'll be very happy with the overall quality of the accommodation. Our only gripe was that the beds were majorly squeaky, like something out of a comedy sketch, making our first night horrific (waking up each time we as much as fidgeted). Our friends next door could hear us through the wall it was so noisy! However, maintenance were informed the next morning and they were fixed by that night. Again- testament to the excellent work of the staff.

HOTEL LOCATION- nothing really nearby, an old abandoned swimming complex, a couple of family run bars/restaurants and that's about it. If wanting to explore, you've three main choices... Firstly, you can hire a car directly from the hotel main desk. At around £33 for a Polo or 207, this is a good way to get about for a day or so. Taxis are also easy and cheap to use. €4 gets you to Calete De Fuste which has EVERYTHING you need. Thirdly, if you're feeling fit, there's a coastal path that takes you along the seafront to CdF and takes about 30/45mins (longer with children). This is also a good way to see the chipmunks! Don't attempt though if a scorching hot day. Whilst the wind is at times cooling, you'll definitely regret it! The airport is 10 min/€10 away. Therefore no need to book transfers. Take the address of the hotel with you, as I believe it's recently been rebranded and our taxi driver hadn't heard of it!

FOOD AND DRINK- wearing all inclusive wristbands grants you access to food and drink all day. The pool bar is a great place to be for drinks, snacks etc. and if quiet you can get served in the pool itself! The night bar (where the evening 'entertainment' takes place) is good too, but be prepared to join a queue of up to 21 (yes, I counted) people! The barman, Sebastian, is great. Never not smiling and works flat out. He is desperately in need of more help during peak times though..... Our longest wait was 15 minutes for a drink. You can order two drinks at a time and the alcohol content is equivalent to two/three shots per cup! You will get drunk very quickly here! Branded alcohol (eg Malibu, JD etc) is €2 for all inclusive guests, and 50% off all other drinks too. Cocktails aren't worth ordering, mostly being made with artificial juices from a machine, save your pennies for a night out in CdF where I can certainly recommend Aloha Bar, Oliver! or Millennium. Now THEY do a good cocktail!
Meals in the main restaurant are buffet-style, and the choice is varied and more than adequate. The moaners on here clearly have never catered for 300+ people and so cannot possibly expect the same level of service that a-la-carte restaurants offer... Yes, there are some days where you'll be bored of the chips, or fish, or chicken dishes... But mix things up a bit - go into town and enjoy a restaurant meal. There's a great chinese called 'Great Wall' in CdF with a lovely couple of tables round the back which overlook the other restaurants and bar - just one example of the many fine dining experiences you can have if you leave the hotel! If you want your all-inclusive package to work its best for you, and decide to stay on site, you'll be absolutely fine! Don't be put off by negative reviewers who are too used to home-cooked meals!

POOL- nice size, clean but very cold. Brace yourself for you first dip! Sun beds are at a premium, and despite requests from hotel management, people still got up at 5am to tie towels around parasols. However we never went without a sun bed, and so long as people don't hog (one family put down towels for all their kids - whom never used them...) you should be fine. One day we noticed a family had nabbed chairs, table, parasol etc, then went to the beach for the day. Needless to say their table had 'moved' when they got back several hours later! All the sun beds are unlocked at 9am, to reduce the selfish towel-hogging that could otherwise take place.

EXCURSIONS - Yes, you can order via the hotel, but do some research and plan ahead. The tour operators rake in a lot of money for people booking whilst there, not knowing any better. We hired a car for one day and saw most of the island, and used 'Cross Island' tours (see Trip Advisor page) for a day of off-road fun. These worked out far cheaper than the trips where your are one of fifty sheep being herded about from one place to the next...

ENTERTAINMENT - Not for us, but families will be kept well entertained. Bird shows, karaoke and kids entertainment all acceptable, but for couples or groups of friends, take a pack of cards and sit by the bars instead!

So... hopefully that gives you a few ideas of what to expect, and what not to expect! Hope you enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Apartments are away from noise and busy areas. Some reviewers call apartments the hotel rooms above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
27  Thank wadzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Gerente at Globales Costa Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Globales Costa Tropical for your so valuable vacations.

Thank you very much for your good comments and reviews about the hotel, staff and services, opinions like yours are very important to keep working every day to try to exceed the expectations of our customers and achieve ever greater improvement of our staff.

Hoping that you do decide to visit us in the near future please accept our best regards,

Raul Sanchez
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Still here and loving it so much don't want to leave. I'm booking for Easter. Previous post..
No where to shower and change!!!!...You can use the showers etc in the gym. Will do my review when I get home.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Gerente at Globales Costa Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind comment and positive feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to know that you had a great experience in our hotel and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

It is exciting to read nice reviews regarding our staff and our premises as our number one priority is customer satisfaction.

We hope to see you next easter.

Kind regards,
Raul Sanchez.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We are visiting in November for a week really looking forward to it but says on the website that the pool bar and pizzeria are only open in the summer however on some of the reviews from
Last November I'm sure it said the pool bar was open. So just wanted to know would the pool bar and pizzeria be open the first week of November?

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DonnaB1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Gerente at Globales Costa Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear guest

I World like to inform you that our Pool bar will be open in November from 10.30 to 18.00 everyday and our pizzeria from 15.30 to 23.30 six days per week
I hope to see you next November.

Best regards

Raul Sanchez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Myself and my family have Just come back from a weeks holiday at the Costa tropical it was rated at a 3star, I would say more like a 2star food was awful, rooms were more than less perfect staff were helpful, no late checkout available as they were booked up til 15th September yet any other hotels have at least 2/3 rooms reserved so had to hang around for 6 hours sweating no where to shower and freshen up,final outcome stay away from this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hay1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Gerente at Globales Costa Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of all staff and management here at Globales Costa Tropical Hotel we would like to thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us.

We are very disconcerted that we did not meet with your expectations at the hotel and hope that you will accept our sincere apologies.

We assure you that we do take all customer feedback seriously , we have already discussed your comments with the relevant members of our team and we will work together improving all the areas you have mentioned, our priority is guest satisfaction and we work very hard to try to achieve it.

Wish you all the best,
Raul Sanchez
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa de Antigua
0.2 mi away
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,491 reviews
1 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
1 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#11 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Caleta Garden
Caleta Garden
#17 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,516 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4,077 reviews
22 mi away
Oasis Duna Hotel
Oasis Duna Hotel
#29 of 45 in Corralejo
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Costa Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Costa Tropical

Address: Maestro Leonardo s/n, 35610 Costa de Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Apartahotel Costa Tropical (Oasis Tropical))
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Costa de Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Costa de Antigua
Price Range: £22 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Costa Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Globales Costa Tropical Hotel is made up of 90 comfortable apartments and 53 bungalows with a balcony or terrace that are all well equipped and surround a large pool and sunbathing terraces. The Globales Costa is the perfect place to relax, enjoy the hotel’s extensive facilities and its 6000 square meters of gardens. The Globales Costa Tropical’s apartments and bungalows are well-equipped so you can prepare meals in the comfort of your apartment, enjoy the all the international buffet or enjoy a delicious pizza in the hotel’s own Italian restaurant, Mamma Mia Pizzeria. The hotel offers many sports and relaxation activities for you to enjoy during your stay making the Globales Costa Tropical the perfect holiday destination in Fuerteventura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Costa Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Globales Costa Tropical Hotel Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing