We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good accommodation and breakfast”
Review of Triton Inn

Triton Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sledmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Triton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Sledmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good accommodation and breakfast”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a very comfortable stay with excellent, friendly staff. The bedrooms are well fitted with small en-suite shower. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of selection for a cooked breakfast, but not much choice of juices or cereals. Great location to explore the Yorkshire Wolds and Sledmere Hall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    25
    6
    10
    3
See reviews for
36
57
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The Triton Inn is a charming old Inn and has a very comprehensive menu, the staff are very friendly and competent and there are lots of them so you don't have to wait to be served, when the food arrives it is nicely set out with lots of separate vegetables. I would recommend it to anyone, in fact everyone!
We live not too far away and had never been to the Triton before but we will definitely be going quite often in future

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We ate Sunday lunch here last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were friendly, the food was great. We can heartily recommend a trip here combined with a visit to Sledmere Hall for a great day out !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMTGMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed a drive around the Yorkshire Wolds today, exploring an area completely new to me. Around lunchtime I thought it would be great to find a nice traditional country pub somewhere. I found it when I drove through Sledmere. First impression was so positive I turned the car round and returned to investigate. A closer inspection did not disappoint when I discovered a relaxed but professional landlord at the bar, and the menu for lunch looked carefully planned to offer a good selection of fare at reasonable prices. I ordered a coronation chicken sandwich platter and I have to say it turned out to be the tastiest CC I believe I've ever tasted. It was so wonderful to visit a pub that was distinctive, did not conform to the all too common formula prevalent these days, and thankfully made no concession to families. It was a pub for adults and I, for one, was heartily relieved. I will return to The Triton at some juncture, and maybe stay overnight too. I expressed deep pleasure and thanks for my lunch to the landlord; he seemed delighted that I'd taken the trouble to offer direct feedback.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank x333xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stay in the Driffield area every year whilst exhibiting at the Driffield show and after only an average hotel last year decided to try somewhere different, my colleague and I stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be good value for money, the rooms were clean and comfortable, cask ale was well kept and the food was of excellent quality, service was a little slow on show night but was well worth the wait and all the decent places in the area are the same on show night so dont let that put you off, staff were friendly and we have already booked for next year - would recomend to anyone.

Room Tip: try to stay at the back as there were a lot of lorries one night although this may have been a one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _-_-_-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Excellent food, clean and comfortable bedroom and helpful staff-what more could you want? Every effort made to help with my dietary requirements including sending out for special bread. Mobile phone reception non existent which may concern some travellers. Wi -fi is possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My partner, and I visited the 40's nostalgia event at Sledmere House on 30th 2013.
We decided to have a meal in the Inn. We could not have been made more welcome even though they were very busy. The hosts were very charming, and helpful. The serving staff were very pleasant, and nothing was too much for them to do.
We were served by Linda, who has a most charming personality, and most helpful approach to customer care. The meal served was most generous, and was plentiful. We had no room for a pudding, although I did try to save some room for one.
If you call in insist on being served by Linda.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sledmere
7.2 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
9.8 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
8.8 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
4.4 mi away
Blue Bell Inn
Blue Bell Inn
#2 of 2 in Weaverthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
7.2 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#4 of 17 in Driffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triton Inn

Property: Triton Inn
Address: Main Street, Sledmere, Driffield YO25 3XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Sledmere
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sledmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Triton Hotel Sledmere
Triton Inn Sledmere, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing