We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely, peaceful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wold Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Wold Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a lovely, peaceful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

An excellent b&b in every way. We will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somewheretog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
85
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Katrina and Derek were very welcoming. The grounds were idyllic, the decor tasteful and the breakfasts A+. We would recommend it if you're looking for somewhere to stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baxters_Choice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Everything about the Wold Cottage is of highest quality. We stayed 2 nights and wished we had booked for longer. Katrina and Derek were the perfect hosts, friendly and accommodating. We wanted for nothing during our stay. We booked a twin room and it was wonderful - spacious, immaculately clean and extremely comfortable. The room catered for all needs; tea/coffee, fridge, hot water bottle, dressing gowns, slippers and a fan. There is a sofa and a chair in the room.
Breakfast was a treat, so much choice; different cereals, muesli, lots of fresh fruit, fruit juices as well as a cooked breakfast. A special mention has to be for the freshly baked bread it was a delight in itself. The grounds are stunning only wish we had more time to explore. It was a pleasure to stay here and we look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1971ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We spent 3 nights here whilst visiting Bempton Cliffs and walking the coastal paths. The hosts, Derek and Katrina were friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived, booking us into a local Pub for our first evening meal. Room was comfortable and well appointed with all those little essentials catered for. Waking to the smell of fresh bread cooking certainly got the taste buds going ready for breakfast, which didn't disappoint; there was an excellent selection of both hot and cold choices. Overall this was a great little find and will certainly be on our places to revisit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudiRidgeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed here in the family room and was delighted. The hosts are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, the beds were incredibly comfortable and details included bathrobes, hot water bottles and a jug of fresh milk for tea and coffee. The breakfasts were superb. There was a wide selection of cereals, steaming hot freshly baked bread, juices, yogurts, fresh fruit, homemade preserves and then cooked breakfasts made to order. Special dietary requirements were also catered for with gluten free cereals and soya milk on offer. The house and grounds are beautiful and it was lovely to have a stroll after breakfast. We will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Hams
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed in the main house and had the choice of the most sumptous bedrooms.
Our hosts were extremely welcoming and the rooms contained many extra thoughtful touches.
Many hotels could not aspire to the excellent standard set here.
We were sorry that we had only booked for one night and had a schedule to keep.,
Will definitely return and thanks for the tip about parking in York!
Wonderful breakfast.
Everything about our stay was faultless.

Room Tip: Request rooms in main house for maximum atmosphere but other accommodation also excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefulSouthHams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We visit Bempton Cliffs every year and have found it difficult to find quality accomodation. How did we miss Wold Cottage for so long? We stayed in the Granary which was quiet, clean, spacious and had the most comfortable bed imaginable. The grounds of the house are beautiful and the main house impressive. However, the most important aspect of our stay was the very warm and genuine welcome from Katrina and Derek and the excellent breakfast. We recommend Wold Cottage for different types of visitor - it ticks many boxes!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laraBton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wold Newton
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Bell In Driffield
0.0 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highfield Farm
Highfield Farm
#4 of 17 in Driffield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
St Quintin Arms Inn
St Quintin Arms Inn
#1 of 17 in Driffield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#5 of 17 in Driffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wold Cottage

Property: Wold Cottage
Address: Wold Newton, Driffield YO25 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Wold Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wold Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wold Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wold Cottage Wold Newton, Driffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing