We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!”
Review of Wold Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Wold Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The whole experience was truly divine! Stunning location, fabulous buildings and grounds, prestigious rooms, delightfully scrummy breakfast and superior standard of service and hospitality. Every detail has been thought of from the decadent decor to the hand crafted chocolates in the room. Other family members stayed in the cottages and they were just beautiful.

Nothing is too much trouble and everyone was blown away by how welcome we were made to feel. I really hope to return again in the near future and will be singing the praises of Wold Cottage forever!

Thank you for such a magical time. You should be incredibly proud of all the hard work you do to deliver such exceptional results.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
88
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I would like to express to you how much we enjoyed our brief return to your wonderful home. We think of it as our home, as that is how welcome you make us feel, whenever we manage to stay with you.

To be honest, we have difficulty finding the words that truly describe everything that you bring together, from your warm welcome, to the attention to detail everywhere in the property, and those breakfasts that are so good, I have to restrain myself or else I would not fit behind the steering wheel again.

We are looking for the next opportunity we can create, to return again, and hopefully for a little bit longer this time.

All we can say is that we really appreciate what you do for us, and thank you so very much for every little detail. We have stayed in hotels around the world, some with 5 stars, but if ever we are asked to name the best place to stay in the world, Wold Cottage is the one we name as Number 1.

Derrick & Joan Priestley, Derbyshire

Room Tip: All the rooms are nicely furnished and decorated with excellent facilities. We have, over the years...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We decided yesterday morning to make the most of the weekend. We found this hidden gem of a place and can't believe how lucky we were. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the owners, shown our room and even invited to join them for a cup of tea. Our room was a family room, even though there was only 2 of us, in a converted barn just across the yard. Spotless, spacious and well laid out. What makes Wold Cottage stand out is the attention to detail and the quality of everything on offer. As well as a 4 poster bed , sitting room area, the room also had a mini bar, well stocked, you help yourself and just let the owners know what you've used to settle up. The whole grounds have been beautifully taken care of and provide a very tranquil setting. Breakfast is taken in the main house and nothing is too much trouble. The choice and service is amazing. First page of the menu was information on the weather in the area. As I said before, it's the attention to detail. This is a truly stunning place to stay that we can't recommend highly enough and somewhere we will return to again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I don't think there are enough superlatives to describe how wonderful Wold Cottage is!
I stayed in the Major Topham bedroom - I've always wanted to sleep in a 4poster bed, so got my chance to do so on this stay. The view from the window was lovely,
Breakfasts were delicious. Lots of choices of fresh fruit & cereals. I thoroughly enjoyed the cooked breakfast. The orange and gooseberry jam was a taste combination I'd never had before, it was tasty.
Am already telling people how wonderful this place is.
Loved it!

Room Tip: If you book by phone you have the opportunity to choose your room - if you book early enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanJones000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had our wedding in the grounds of this lovely place and we could not have had a more perfect day. The proprietors could not have done more for us and the home grown beef they supplied for our evening food has been talked about repeatedly since!

We have stayed here many times in the past and the accommodation and breakfast is great.

Would definitely recommend this place to couples (young or mature) as well as families who may want to stay in a cottage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AYork2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The most superior of all the places I have stayed set in beautiful grounds and large rooms. The house itself is meticulously maintained and the room and en suite was far superior to most hotels. The evening meal we had on our first night was of a very high standard and beautifully presented. We stayed for 4 nights and will be staying there again in the future. The hosts are delightful and deliver high quality food and a wide choice of breakfast options. I could not recommend The Wold Cottage highly enough, it was just fabulous!

Room Tip: Phone direct to discuss your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poshpaws77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very pleasant hosts, lovely twin room with electric adjustable beds, PERFECT for my elderly Mum, and superb very large ensuite. Lovely food- all in all a faultless stay. A little off the beaten track but quiet straight roads so easy access to the coastal towns. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixiears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wold Newton
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
0.0 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#2 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highfield Farm
Highfield Farm
#5 of 17 in Driffield
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#4 of 17 in Driffield
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wolds Village
Wolds Village
#1 of 1 in Bainton
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wold Cottage

Property: Wold Cottage
Address: Wold Newton, Driffield YO25 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Wold Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wold Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wold Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wold Cottage Wold Newton, Driffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing