We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to stay in the countryside”
Review of Wold Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Wold Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at the Wold Cottage for a couple of nights over new year and it was lovely. Katrina and Derek are very welcoming and accommodating. Our room (Miss Davey) was lovely and the bathroom was fabulous! The house itself is a gorgeous old farm building lovingly restored and decorated. The breakfast was wonderful with so many choices and most things produced on site or very locally. We loved being near the coast, and the location in the countryside is very peaceful and charming.

Room Tip: We stayed in Miss Davey and the decor and view are lovely, and the bathroom is fabulous! The only is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here New Years Eve. Enjoyed the cake and tea by the fire which was as warm and inviting as the welcome. The room was large and very comfortable - particularly the beds, very good quality. The breakfast was excellent; smoked haddock with perfectly poached eggs and toasted home made bread. Katarina is a wonderfully helpful host, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everything you wan't or need from a B&B is done to an excellent standard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We cycled over the Wolds to Wold Cottage on a bright, chilly Autumnal day. What a welcome! Roaring fire, pot of tea and home made cake.... Extremely comfortable rooms, excellent 3 course meal, reasonably priced, good wine menu.... And then breakfast, not to be beaten. We struggled to cycle away due to our will power wanting to stay a week rather than a day and our stomachs so full.
We WILL be back!!
Thank you for an excellent weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Wolds Cottage to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Upon arrival Katrina provided us with the warmest of welcomes, a pot of tea and a slice of cake. Our room felt homely, with a comfortable bed, good wifi and an ensuite. We had one evening meal and 4 breakfasts during our stay, all prepared to the highest standard. Katrina and Derek have perfected good old country hospitality; it's the little things they do so well. I give Wolds Cottage the highest of recommendations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The whole experience was truly divine! Stunning location, fabulous buildings and grounds, prestigious rooms, delightfully scrummy breakfast and superior standard of service and hospitality. Every detail has been thought of from the decadent decor to the hand crafted chocolates in the room. Other family members stayed in the cottages and they were just beautiful.

Nothing is too much trouble and everyone was blown away by how welcome we were made to feel. I really hope to return again in the near future and will be singing the praises of Wold Cottage forever!

Thank you for such a magical time. You should be incredibly proud of all the hard work you do to deliver such exceptional results.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I would like to express to you how much we enjoyed our brief return to your wonderful home. We think of it as our home, as that is how welcome you make us feel, whenever we manage to stay with you.

To be honest, we have difficulty finding the words that truly describe everything that you bring together, from your warm welcome, to the attention to detail everywhere in the property, and those breakfasts that are so good, I have to restrain myself or else I would not fit behind the steering wheel again.

We are looking for the next opportunity we can create, to return again, and hopefully for a little bit longer this time.

All we can say is that we really appreciate what you do for us, and thank you so very much for every little detail. We have stayed in hotels around the world, some with 5 stars, but if ever we are asked to name the best place to stay in the world, Wold Cottage is the one we name as Number 1.

Derrick & Joan Priestley, Derbyshire

Room Tip: All the rooms are nicely furnished and decorated with excellent facilities. We have, over the years...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We decided yesterday morning to make the most of the weekend. We found this hidden gem of a place and can't believe how lucky we were. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the owners, shown our room and even invited to join them for a cup of tea. Our room was a family room, even though there was only 2 of us, in a converted barn just across the yard. Spotless, spacious and well laid out. What makes Wold Cottage stand out is the attention to detail and the quality of everything on offer. As well as a 4 poster bed , sitting room area, the room also had a mini bar, well stocked, you help yourself and just let the owners know what you've used to settle up. The whole grounds have been beautifully taken care of and provide a very tranquil setting. Breakfast is taken in the main house and nothing is too much trouble. The choice and service is amazing. First page of the menu was information on the weather in the area. As I said before, it's the attention to detail. This is a truly stunning place to stay that we can't recommend highly enough and somewhere we will return to again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wold Newton
9.1 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
4.7 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
9.1 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#4 of 17 in Driffield
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Wolds Village
Wolds Village
#1 of 1 in Bainton
216 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
11.9 mi away
Highfield Farm
Highfield Farm
#5 of 17 in Driffield
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wold Cottage

Address: Wold Newton, Driffield YO25 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Wold Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wold Newton
Price Range: £100 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wold Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Wold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wold Cottage Wold Newton, Driffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing