We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finding heaven...”
Review of Wold Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Wold Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our one night stay at Wold Cottage was indeed the most impressive 'hotel' that I can recall..and we have stayed in many! The location is pure magic, well away from the road - and the roads in the area are so quiet and rural anyway..Our arrival was welcomed with afternoon tea and cakes, the room and its fittings so superbly fitted. Modernised but still within the needs of such a such a splendid Georgian home. All I can say is that if you are in the Driffield area, and want to be within easy reach of the coast yet miles away from any disturbances this is the place for you. A delicious breakfast completed our stay having had a long conversation with Katrina about the property and the effort that went into producing today's dream property. Wonderful gardens to wander too..Each room is named after a previous owner of "Wold Cottage"....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

WE haven't been to Wold Cottage for 5/6 years and we soon found we had forgotten just how good it is. The Georgian country house has been beautifully restored by Family Gray. Every room has its own style and every one has top class F&F.On their website you will find details of the House, the two lovely cottages and the grounds surrounding them.
Yes, a remarkable house.We always feel that however impressive the accommodation may be, it is the people in charge who bring it all to life. Somewhere there may well be two hosts that are the equal of Katrina and Derek, but not better.From the tea and cake in the "library" when you arrive you can feel this is going to be a good experience. Nothing is too much trouble for K&G. The real beauty of it is that they do care and they are genuinely pleased to have you in their home. The breakfasts simply cannot be beaten. By day 3 I had to request, one rasher only, Derek with my full English.
We love being delighted. We believe that you will be, too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a knockout. Enjoy the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hattyfakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

From the moment we arrived from our long journey we knew this was going to be a very special place .Katrina & Derek make you feel so very welcome and are such prefect hosts. A special touch on arrival was a lovely pot tea/homemade cakes..delicious and very much appreciated. We stayed across the courtyard and it was just perfect. Plenty of room, lovely comfy beds & little luxuries in the bathroom. Katrina is a fabulous cook, breakfasts were just delicious and very plentiful all set out in the beautiful dining room of the main house, which is stunning. We loved the fresh baked loaf !! Attention to detail is 1st class and a great location to stay for surrounding areas/attractions. A must if you ever get to visit beautiful Yorkshire..you will not be disappointed. We cannot wait to return again one day !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoramarDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We rented a cottage in the beautiful grounds of Wold Newton Cottage as a base for birdwatching on the Bempton Cliffs, just twenty minutes away.
The quality of the accommodation was outstanding, with quality furniture and fittings and ample provision for self catering.
Breakfast in the house (which also has four guest rooms) was one of the best I have experienced, with a wide choice of hot and cold dishes and an emphasis on local produce - the suppliers of all ingredients were identified.
All in all, a great base for exploring this beautiful part of Yorkshire: outstanding accommodation, a beautiful house of some historic interest, and extensive grounds in which to relax.
If it all sounds a little precious, perhaps I should mention the genuinely warm welcome from Derek and Katrina.

Room Tip: Choice of rooms in the house, self catering in the grounds, and even a caravan site attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have stayed at the Wold Cottage twice. It is not often we return to the same place but loved it so much the first time that we decided to book another stay. This time we stayed in the Miss Davey suite which had lovely views across the garden. As it was Valentine's weekend, we got a complementary bottle of champagne which was a nice touch. The breakfast was just as good as we remembered and this time we arrived early enough for tea and cake. The attention to detail was impressive from the range of teas and coffee in the room to the variety of toiletries supplied in the bathroom. The bathroom was huge with a wet room shower and a roll top bath. Everything was immaculately clean and nothing was too much trouble. Our first morning we ate breakfast at our own private table which we preferred to sitting at the main dining room table.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CH_Holmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at this beautiful place for 3 nights, fab grounds for the kids to run around and a swing to play on, lovely and quiet and very close for Whitby, Scarborough and Filey. We stayed at one of the self catering cottages - each room had its own bathroom, great space in the kitchen, dining area and living room. Derek & Katrina were very helpful and welcoming with little gift of tea, coffee, jam and a freshly baked loaf of bread on arrival, lovely personal touch. Choice of having breakfast at the hotel which is a beautiful house, wonderful and tasty food with a choice of single items for the kids (great for fussy eaters). The Wold Cottage is somewhere we will definitely stay again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay whether for a relaxing few days or like us a base to do a bit of travelling.

The kids enjoyed it so much they did not want to leave!

Room Tip: For your own space, one of the self catering cottages - but they do also have a caravan site idea wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaP442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A wonderful, peaceful setting, (the only noise was that of our in-room kettle boiling), no road noise bliss, good directions, beautiful house with plenty of free parking. Derek & Katrina have your every need and comfort taken into consideration. Having booked on-line for 2 nights dinner bed & breakfast, Katrina took the time to contact us and enquire if we had any dietary considerations. My husband has a bit of a long list..... they excelled, easily surpassing our expectations, the locally sourced, delicious food was only matched by their natural hosting skills. A lovely couple offering real comfort in their home, in which we felt at home ourselves. Derek's bar has wonderful gems too. The area is beautiful, we loved Burton Agnes Hall & Gardens, the extensive coastline and several market towns within easy drinking distance.

Room Tip: Miss Davy overlooks the front garden, bed sooooo comfortable, bathroom AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshirelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wold Cottage

Address: Wold Newton, Driffield YO25 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Wold Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wold Newton
Price Range: £77 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wold Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Wold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wold Cottage Wold Newton, Driffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing