We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place made our holiday!”
Review of Wold Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Wold Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a superb upmarket B and B to find in a small village near to Driffield, East Yorks. This place is a dream with the kindest and most helpful owners. The property is beautiful and peaceful and near lots of lovely places to visit, both seaside and countryside. Our rooms were beautiful and comfortable and the breakfast were superb. Our hostess cooked us a delicious dinner one night and made the stay there really special. This B and B is extremely well managed and we couldn't find a single thing that was wrong! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: all the rooms we saw were lovely
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roro124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Wold Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Big party stayed here for 3 nights for family wedding nearby. We joined from Canada. A wonderful place to stay, suitable for all sorts and hosts were very welcoming and accommodating. Rooms are lovely and meals were great. Thank you, Katrina and Derek, for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay123472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for a couple if nights at wold cottage in the Parker suite. It is a lovely place to stay with nothing been too much trouble. Derek and Katrina make you feel like part of their family as soon as you arrive.
Would highly recommend staying here a beautiful and tranquil place to stay

Room Tip: Stayed in both the Parker suite and miss Davey and they are both lovely rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed in the hayloft for a week.Lovely faciltity and stunning spot.The Hayloft had everything you need with good kitchen and lovely lounge overlooking emaculate gardens.
We had a slight issue with TV signal and also DVD which was annoying but eventually got addressed.
Wi-fi was very tempermental also.
But in summary I am being very picky as the whole Wold Cottage experience is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It is as good as all the reviews say. From the charming hosts, to the lovely rooms and well maintained gardens. We stayed in Miss Davy and the bed was so comfortable and I am a very fussy sleeper! It was quite warm in May when we stayed and I was reluctant to open the window fearing the countryside wildlife would be too noisy. I was wrong and slept peacefully. Looking out over the fountain and beyond into the field we saw pheasants, ducks, coots, rabbits, buzzards and a variety of garden birds.
This is an ideal place to stay if you wish to visit Bempton Cliffs to see the Puffins and Gannets. Also Blacktoft had Bitterns and Marsh Harriers.
The breakfasts really set you up for the day and were always beautifully prepared. We took home some delicious Lemon Curd and Raspberry Jam and tried some Toffee Vodka too. When we are next in Yorkshire I'm sure we'll look Katrina and Derek up and maybe have Dinner this time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Deringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

17 members of my family spent 3 fantastic nights at the Wold Cottage as we were attending a wedding. We completely took over the glorious house and tremendously well-equipped self-catering accommodation. Katrina and Derek told us to treat it as our home. The rooms are fabulous and the bathrooms are gorgeous. Katrina and Derek were the perfect hosts in every way, and Katrina even lent me a wrap for the wedding as I had accidentally left mine at home! The food was out of this world, and ages from 1 year to 88 years were catered for with ease. Every meal was lovely, even the weather was superb! We were really welcomed and nothing was too much trouble! The gardens are beautiful, we had our own barbecue one evening and Derek made sure that we had everything to hand, even down to moving furniture around so we had sufficient seating. I'd love to stay there every weekend!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our one night stay at Wold Cottage was indeed the most impressive 'hotel' that I can recall..and we have stayed in many! The location is pure magic, well away from the road - and the roads in the area are so quiet and rural anyway..Our arrival was welcomed with afternoon tea and cakes, the room and its fittings so superbly fitted. Modernised but still within the needs of such a such a splendid Georgian home. All I can say is that if you are in the Driffield area, and want to be within easy reach of the coast yet miles away from any disturbances this is the place for you. A delicious breakfast completed our stay having had a long conversation with Katrina about the property and the effort that went into producing today's dream property. Wonderful gardens to wander too..Each room is named after a previous owner of "Wold Cottage"....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wold Newton
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
0.0 mi away
Wolds Village
Wolds Village
#1 of 1 in Bainton
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#4 of 17 in Driffield
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highfield Farm
Highfield Farm
#5 of 17 in Driffield
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Quintin Arms Inn
St Quintin Arms Inn
#1 of 17 in Driffield
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wold Cottage

Address: Wold Newton, Driffield YO25 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Wold Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wold Newton
Price Range: £96 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wold Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wold Cottage Wold Newton, Driffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing