We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful find for a weekend with friends”
Review of Wold Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Wold Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“wonderful find for a weekend with friends”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our friends booked Wold Cottage having been unsuccessful finding somewhere on the coast.We were not disappointed, from the moment you enter the driveway you know this is special. This is confirmed by the warm welcome received from Katrina and upon entering the house one immediately feels at home. Our room was spacious,beautifully furnished and had a bathroom with separate shower. Breakfast is something to be favoured, all freshly cooked with a note of all the local producers. Nothing is too much trouble as Katrina's husband Derek takes the breakfast orders. Wold Cottage is simply a little oasis set in beautiful countryside close to all the attractions the area has to offer. Must return again very soon
.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
90
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at Wold Cottage after a wedding at the nearby Wold Top Brewery. It exceeded our expectations from the moment we entered the drive. The place is absolutely beautiful; the room was spectalar with a large comfortable bed, armchairs, dressing table and a beautiful bathroom. I only wish we could have spent longer there. Breakfast is served in a beautiful dining room overlooking a waterfeature and lawn. The food is all locally produced with a wide selection of cooked breakfasts, ceral, fresh fruit etc. and an extensive menu. I also really liked the fact that although it looks like a beautifully restored stately home, there is something very down to earth about this place - the family running it are very friendly and there is evidence of their family life around the place, which made it feel very welcoming and not at all stuffy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pevensey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A beautiful and spacious country house with the comforts which make the stay special. Derek and Katrina were excellent hosts and our bedroom overlooked part of the 300 acres of farmland with views of their Aberdeen Angus herd. The food was imaginative and beautifully cooked and presented. Their Yorkshire breakfast would keep you going for the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricLP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Last week of June we stayed in the Granary Cottage, a self catering cottage on the premises of The Wold Cottage. This was the third time we stayed here. Also this holiday we liked our stay very much. The Granary cottage has very spacious open plan living / kitchen, / diner. Dishwasher, microwave oven, washingmachine, dryer, everthing is there for a comforable holiday. On the first floor there are two big bedrooms each with an ensuite, all spic and span and spotlessly clean. The beds sleep very good. From the cottage you have a lovely view on the very well mantained garden. Here you are in the middle of the beautiful Yorkshire countryside and one of the best thing is that there in no road noise at all. Only the sound of the birds in the morning ! The cottage is situated near Bridlington, so it spot on for a lovely walk along the Yorkshire coastpath, a must see are the Bempton Cliffs, with the puffins and gennets. Fantastic views ! Also a walk along Robin Hood bay is amazing. In Scarborough you certainly must go to the castle on top of the cliffs, great day out ! Also the moors are not far away. Rievaulx Abbey near Helmsley is a must see ! There are a lot of beautiful grand houses too ; Castle Howard, Burton Agnes Hall, Sledmere etc. A visit to York and The York Minster is also very worth while. So there is a lot to do and to be seen in this beautiful area of Yorkshire. Driving through the rolling hills it gave us an impression of driving through a painting of David Hockney !
All this and the very welcoming and great hosts, (like always) Katrina and Derek makes the Granery Cottage a very wonderful and peacful place to spend a fantastic holiday. We did, three in a row !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a superb upmarket B and B to find in a small village near to Driffield, East Yorks. This place is a dream with the kindest and most helpful owners. The property is beautiful and peaceful and near lots of lovely places to visit, both seaside and countryside. Our rooms were beautiful and comfortable and the breakfast were superb. Our hostess cooked us a delicious dinner one night and made the stay there really special. This B and B is extremely well managed and we couldn't find a single thing that was wrong! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: all the rooms we saw were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roro124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Big party stayed here for 3 nights for family wedding nearby. We joined from Canada. A wonderful place to stay, suitable for all sorts and hosts were very welcoming and accommodating. Rooms are lovely and meals were great. Thank you, Katrina and Derek, for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay123472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for a couple if nights at wold cottage in the Parker suite. It is a lovely place to stay with nothing been too much trouble. Derek and Katrina make you feel like part of their family as soon as you arrive.
Would highly recommend staying here a beautiful and tranquil place to stay

Room Tip: Stayed in both the Parker suite and miss Davey and they are both lovely rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wold Newton
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
0.0 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wolds Village
Wolds Village
#1 of 1 in Bainton
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#5 of 17 in Driffield
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
St Quintin Arms Inn
St Quintin Arms Inn
#2 of 17 in Driffield
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wold Cottage

Property: Wold Cottage
Address: Wold Newton, Driffield YO25 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Wold Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wold Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wold Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Wold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wold Cottage Wold Newton, Driffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing