We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A JEWEL IN THE NIGHT”
Review of Wolds Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wolds Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Bainton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A JEWEL IN THE NIGHT”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I were getting anxious for somewhere to stop for the night on our recent travels in England when we happened upon this gem of a place. The period room was exceptional as was the food and friendliness of the proprietors.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLENN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    40
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
52
114
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here in he Wolds village for a special wedding anniversary, they room we stayed in was fabulous, the themed rooms were well kept, beautifully clean and all the facilities of luxury BB, warm bath towels and luxury toiletries all you needed to take was tooth brush and toothpaste.
The restaurant was lovely well cooked,home made,local,food. Portion size was too much, but we had to indulge in the gorgeous desserts.
Staff were extremely helpful pleasant and couldn't do enough for us.
Didn't get time to view the art gallery for local artists, or have a woodland walk, but will definitely be back for afternoon tea and a walk to get rid of the calories of the cakes.
Made our silver wedding anniversary a special place to be spoilt

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroot
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed one night in July, the place was lovely tucked away with views over open countryside and walks in the woodland. The themed rooms were a delight and very comfortable and the breakfast fantastic. The owners could not do enough for us making the stay very enjoyable. We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wileybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Ordered tea for two and strawberry pavlova to share. The pavlova was huge, strawberries juicy and the cream fresh. Tea and pavlova served promptly with a smile and a bit of a chat from the waitress. Price was good, think I had change from a tenner. the outside courtyard was picturesque and had plenty of atmosphere during our visits. Will go again when on my way back home to Brid.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for early evening meal and as the sun was shining we sat outside in the courtyard area. Very pleasant surroundings, good selection of food and excellent portion sizes. We both had a ploughmans and thought it was delicious. Didnt have room for pud but the cakes looked yummy and were huge portions! There's a little shop and gallery also which was a nice added extra. Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Plewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay following a special meal out and wolds village fit the bill. We had a beautiful themed room "Victorian" which felt very cosy and luxurious. The room had everything you could need, plenty of sockets, tv, tea and coffee making. Lovely en suite with rainfall shower over the bath. Soft fluffy towels, hair drier free wifi an gorgeously comfy 4 poster bed. The room was lovely and quiet. There was a slight hiccup with our taxi for the evening but the owner kindly took us in his car which was brilliant service. The breakfast the following morning was delicious all home cooked with a great choice. Well worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesska92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This was my second visit to the wolds. A great place to stop for coffee or a meal. I had the most amazing chocolate chip scone with chocolate spread and cream - heaven !!! The staff are very friendly and the restaurant is clean and bright and airy. Theres a great selection of home made cakes and different teas and coffees as well as main meals and sandwiches. It does get busy so best to get in early.

Theres also a art gallery and I believe accommodation and I love the quirky selection of model animals dotted around the car park area, the fox definately had us looking twice !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingercat_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainton
4.7 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
9.6 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
4.7 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#4 of 17 in Driffield
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wold Cottage
Wold Cottage
#1 of 1 in Wold Newton
155 reviews
3.1 mi away
Highfield Farm
Highfield Farm
#5 of 17 in Driffield
62 reviews
9.5 mi away
St Quintin Arms Inn
St Quintin Arms Inn
#1 of 17 in Driffield
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolds Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolds Village

Property: Wolds Village
Address: Manor Farm, Bainton, Driffield YO25 9EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Bainton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bainton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wolds Village 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wolds Village is a family-run establishment located in a magnificent Georgian farmstead which, during the 19th century, incorporated a charming coaching Inn. It is located in the unspoiled Yorkshire Wolds at the centre of the East Riding of Yorkshire. We offer seven individually designed rooms, all themed with a different historical period. From Tudor, Victorian, Georgian & Gothic to Art Deco, Art Nouveau & Edwardian. Five of the rooms have king-sized double beds, some with fourposters & two rooms are twin bedded. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms & have a colour TV, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers & beautiful views over open countryside. Visit Britain have given a Gold award alongside the star status. We also have a restaurant & tearooms which is open 7 days a week 10am to 8pm(last bookings) Mon to Sat & 10am to 5pm Sundays serving traditional English cuisine at is best, with many locally sourced products. We are well known for our Yorkshire breakfasts which are served in the conservatory area of the restaurant & we have achieved the Visit Britain Breakfast Award. We also have a fantastic craft & gift shop which stocks a huge array of goods & is a real Aladdins cave. The shop is open 7 days a week. In addition, we have two beautiful courtyards with outside seating areas, woodland walk with art trail & large car park with CCTV. Free internet WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wolds Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolds Village Bainton, Driffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing