We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Wolds Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wolds Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Bainton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband & I travelled up from Kent to stay at Wold Village for a week. We were pleasently surprised to be shown our beautiful romantic room, received excellent customer service throughout our stay. We invited some friends to dinner at the restaurant as the food was so good . They were v impressed.
Summary:
A unique- quaint-one of a kind- b&b. We couldn't have had a nicer time & look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharonsewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Came upon this place after travelling for what felt like forever. We decided to stop and have a drink inside the restaurant. There was plenty of seating, some outdoor. There was also a gallery and a gift shop to look at should you wish to. We had drinks and tea cakes which were good although we did think the fruit juice was quite pricey for a small glass.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank AMY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for one night in July.

One word, amazing! Gutted that we were caught in a awful traffic jam en route which meant we lost precious hours of our stay.

We stayed in the Victorian room, so pretty & a nice big feather duvet. Definitely a treat to stay in this hotel.

We ate in the restaurant which was also nice with an interesting menu. Breakfast was lovely & the guy running was lovely & friendly.

We were genuinely sad we lost so much of our time booked here, would love an opportunity to stay again.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Sues86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just had a meal for my birthday and once again the service ,and meal was suberb. The staff are always polite,pleasant and always go the extra mile to make sure you enjoy your meal. The menu is very varid and would please most people.
Its a lovely setting seating inside or out in beautiful surroundings . Thank you all for a lovely evening.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stopped off for lunch, once again it was very good all 3 of us could not manage pudding, we will have to just miss the main course next time and just hit the sweet cabinet! Thanks again for good home cooked food hot and fresh.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank videostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having eaten here many many times over the years and always enjoyed both good service and food we were sadly very disappointed last night with our meal out for my husbands birthday.
My mushroom starter was bland with no creamy sauce whatsoever. I have had this in the past and been lovely. I asked for my steak to be well done and with the Dianne sauce. It was well done all right, I had to cut the burnt off each side and the sauce was so salty I did nothing but drink water all the following day!
At no point were we asked if everything was ok. The couple of staff seemed more interested in serving more drinks to the very loud party on the next table.
We were surprised that for a Saturday evening the place was far from its usual busy standard but put it down to the fact that England were playing their first game but now we wonder?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The room ( Tudor ) was dark, gloomy and over crowded. Themed rooms are OK in principle but guests need lights to be able to read !!!
very small window which means that even at this time of year there is little contribution to room lighting
The TV was located in the corner and the view was obscured by the post of the 4 poster bed !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good lighting !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KILKENNY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowWhitesCat, Owner at Wolds Village, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Wolds Village. We would like to point out that you were staying in the Victorian Room, not the Tudor room. You did explain at lengths to us that you were unable to read in your room, which came as a suprise to us. The window measures 1.3m by 1m, hardly "very small" which allows plenty of light into the room, the armchair in the room could certainly have been pushed in front of the window if you had wanted. The ambiance of the room is a romantic setting which many of our guests have loved over the past 9 years, if fact many come back because of this. You did suggest that we fastened strip lights inside the four poster & put 100watt bulbs in the bed side lamps. Thank you for these suggestions, but we feel they would spoil the enjoyment of the majority of our guest who come for a romantic break away. Its a pity that you felt the need to make several reviews but failed to mention that you enjoyed everything else about your stay, to give us a 40% review when on the whole you had a great stay seems very hard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainton
4.7 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
9.6 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
15.9 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#4 of 17 in Driffield
96 reviews
9.5 mi away
St Quintin Arms Inn
St Quintin Arms Inn
#1 of 17 in Driffield
184 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolds Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolds Village

Address: Manor Farm, Bainton, Driffield YO25 9EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Bainton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bainton
Price Range: £92 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wolds Village 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wolds Village is a family-run establishment located in a magnificent Georgian farmstead which, during the 19th century, incorporated a charming coaching Inn. It is located in the unspoiled Yorkshire Wolds at the centre of the East Riding of Yorkshire. We offer seven individually designed rooms, all themed with a different historical period. From Tudor, Victorian, Georgian & Gothic to Art Deco, Art Nouveau & Edwardian. Five of the rooms have king-sized double beds, some with fourposters & two rooms are twin bedded. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms & have a colour TV, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers & beautiful views over open countryside. Visit Britain have given a Gold award alongside the star status. We also have a restaurant & tearooms which is open 7 days a week 10am to 8pm(last bookings) Mon to Sat & 10am to 5pm Sundays serving traditional English cuisine at is best, with many locally sourced products. We are well known for our Yorkshire breakfasts which are served in the conservatory area of the restaurant & we have achieved the Visit Britain Breakfast Award. We also have a fantastic craft & gift shop which stocks a huge array of goods & is a real Aladdins cave. The shop is open 7 days a week. In addition, we have two beautiful courtyards with outside seating areas, woodland walk with art trail & large car park with CCTV. Free internet WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Wolds Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolds Village Bainton, Driffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing