We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely peaceful best baked ham ever tasted” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wolds Village Restaurant & Tearoom

Wolds Village Restaurant & Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bainton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful best baked ham ever tasted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Nice place with little woodland walk with lifesize ceramic and mosaic creatures a Dragon pigs fox barstools etc. Keyboard music in the courtyard by church organist collecting for a new roof peaceful pleasant nice

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DIETDUCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    49
    18
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Driffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Being called a liar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

They say they are "happy to cater for gluten and dairy free" customers.

Rubbish. We telephoned in advance so they knew we were coming and so they could prepare their menu.

When we got there I was given a normal menu and we were told that my wife can have her "gluten free menu" in 10 minutes or so once it was "prepared".

If they were so adament that they cater for everyone, why then, did we have to wait 10 minutes for a photocopy of the standard menu with scribbles all over it basically saying what you can't have and making you feel like an afterthought and inconvenience?

Aside from the fact that one of us was reading a menu for 10 minutes whilst the other could only dream of food (but only the food not crossed out!).

So imagine our disappointment, 35 minutes later when our food finally arrived and wasn't what we had ordered? Back one of them went to the kitchen leaving one of us to eat alone whilst the other went back to dreaming of the limited food availability.

10 minutes later after one of us was half way through the meal, the replacement meal arrived.

It got even more interesting at the time of payment, however. We said we'd be fair and would pay full price for one meal which was fine but only half price for the other one due to the chain of unacceptable events caused by this. At this point, many establishments would say fair enough, we got it wrong.

NOT HERE! The waitress had to call "the boss" who then grilled her over the phone for 5 minutes about every minor detail leaving the customers to experience more unpleasantness. Then, rather than saying give them a discount or knock some off the bill, he told her to tell us we could have £1 knocked off!

This was the final insult and reluctantly the owner came over in his shorts. Rather than smoothing the situation over he basically accused us of lying over what we had ordered despite the waitress already admitting to us that she probably didn't write everything down correctly.

So we dug our heels in and made a scene in front of the newly arriving customers at which point the owner eventually caved in and gave us 50% discount on one of the meals.

We just found it incredible that such an issue could be made of this situation and to be accused of lying and not knowing what we said, well this is why the Wolds Village gets this review for the world to see.

As mentioned earlier, we are always fair in our reviews so have given the establishment a "poor" rather than a terrible. They would have probably had the terrible if we had stayed for dessert though as I'm sure they would have told us we had ordered something else!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Explorers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We went to a wedding here, the food, service, location and atmosphere were all brilliant!
It's an easy place to just drive past without seeing but it really is worth looking up and paying a visit, we had a lovely day here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lkiezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Prepare to be insulted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Only visit this establishment, if after mistakenly sitting down at a table that had been reserved ( we didn't wait to be shown to a table as we should have done ), you wish to be called a posterior ( he actually used the "a" word, but I'm not allowed to use that on this site ) by the proprietor. We did of course leave without eating but customer service wasn't impressive to say the least.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocklington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Much promised then deflated and disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Starters of pâté for spouse and raised pork pie both tasty and good side salad coleslaw garnish.
Then mains of roast lamb- thin slices of grey school dinner meat and standard vegetables roast spuds poor? frozen. Very average and tasteless. Spouse had salmon salad that was adequate but more coleslaw, lots of it the salmon was well cooked.
I was really hoping for a special Sunday dinner, but really the lamb really should appear to be home cooked hand sliced and pink or at least given the choice, had much better in the area.
the service was excellent as was the environment, but the food must shine and it did not.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinO884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wolds Village Restaurant & Tearoom also viewed

Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Sledmere, Driffield
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Wolds Village Restaurant & Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing