We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient, cosy, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CouCou Bar Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“convenient, cosy, clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

As what other reviewers previously said, this is not a beach-front property. But it has its advantages, like it being conveniently situated near the market, other restaurants and bars, and churches. More so, the beach front hotels are more expensive, especially during the peak season, and we decided to spend more of our travel money on exploring the whole of Bantayan and Virgin Islands. The location wasn't a hindrance at all from us enjoying the beach which was a mere 7-minute walk from Coucou.

The rooms are situated behind the restaurant. We stayed in one of the rooms in the ground floor. It was spacious, and comfortable. However, my partner and I have two concerns: 1. The cable was not working (which was supposedly okay since we were on vacation, but not quite, since we also wanted to watch the news). We asked one of the employees about this and she said that the cable has not been returned since November 2013 after Typhoon Yolanda. She offered us a set of DVDs to watch as an alternative. (We later on found the employee's reason a bit weird when we went to the town of Bantayan and saw that the cable channels are fully functioning in the area.) 2. The shower room only had a shower curtain instead of a door.

All in all though, I recommend Coucou particularly for those who want to be in the center of things. For those who find the food prices in CouCou a bit expensive, you may try out Daddy Dok's next door which offers very crunchy and not-to-salty buwad (dried fish) for breakfast, or Arjay just across the road from Daddy Dok's. Arjay's liempo is best taken with ice-cold beer after a long morning swim in the beach.

Room Tip: our experience in room 4 (deluxe, double bed) was good. the air conditioning unit and the water heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    66
    34
    2
    7
See reviews for
27
76
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ukunda, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I had a bad experience with this dirty hotel..i booked a presidential suite but in reality was a normal two bedrooms. The carpet is totally dirty, the blankets the same, TV in black and white, NO microwave and fridge horrible dirty. The restaurant and food are not good. The staff are friendly but they are very slow. at the end we was a victim of this Hotel. Not recommended at all

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed for several weeks early March, 2014. Seems to be running at 100% since the typhoon. Very reasonable prices, pretty good food though I suggest testing out some of the surrounding resturants, and quite clean. Seemed to be a solid place to visit.

Room Tip: Lots of bell ringing on sunday morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I booked three nights we were very happy with service food location we stayed 6 great staff shuttle to and from warf few mins walk to beach . Good all round at a very reasonable price hire motor bikes there

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suksma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Last time we were in Santa Fe CouCou had just opened and it would have been very unfair to do a review at that time...NOW 2 years on Cou Cou Restaurant is efficient serving up pretty reasonable food across the board.
The restaurant is well set up..big tables for groups..has a good atmosphere to it.
The downside is the staff..generally more interested in gossiping amongst themselves than worrying about the customers.
This has improved from previously..but still has a long way to go.
The thing is...you dont go to Santa Fe for high end restaurants..so just relax and enjoy the scene...and you will enjoy CouCou!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
236 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had lunch here one day. Fine service, good choice, simple food, not great, but not bad either. We ordered some calamari, spring rolls and sandwiches / burgers. Overall good, but a little greasy. Burger bun was very soggy when offered (from the burger and all the juices), so could be improved here and there. Comfortable seating. Place looked nice, clean and well kept. Was fine, but we didn't go back. Blue Ice and Caffe del Mare were just a tad better in our opinion. Would probably give it 3 1/2 but since I rated Blue Ice and Caffe del Mare with a 4, I need to give Coucou a 3.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1andTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Enjoyed our stay at coucou bar hotel. sta. fe has the best beaches, loved our morning and afternoon alks on the beach. Internet is weak in the rooms have to go into the restaurant. Prices in the restaurant are high but it seems nearly all the resturants are European owned and they are all expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank deadcatbounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Fe
0.1 mi away
Amihan Beach Cabanas
Amihan Beach Cabanas
#1 of 9 in Bantayan Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kota Beach Resort
Kota Beach Resort
#4 of 9 in Bantayan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anika Island Resort
Anika Island Resort
#1 of 10 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marlin's Beach Resort
Marlin's Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Bantayan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant ...
#3 of 17 in Bantayan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunday Flower Resort
Sunday Flower Resort
#2 of 10 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CouCou Bar Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CouCou Bar Hotel & Restaurant

Property: CouCou Bar Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Batobalonos Street | poblacion (cebu- Visayas), Santa Fe 6047, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Bantayan Island > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — CouCou Bar Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurant, clean and green. We propose 10 rooms,good for 2, 5 standard, on the first floor, and 5 superior on the ground floor. All rooms are coming with split type air con and fan, safety box, large shower with hot and cold water and private CR. The standard rooms are equipped with a flat screen tv and dvd player. The superior rooms come with big flat screen tv and satellite connection, make up dressing and refrigerator. All superior have their own balcony in the tropical garden. Our open air restaurant offer also two private and intimate places in the garden. Philipino and international food. Massage room, billiard. Free wifi. bike, motor bike, boat rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your CouCou Bar Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CouCou Bar Hotel & Restaurant Bantayan Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing