We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it's cracked up to be” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Not what it's cracked up to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

A pity, because this hotel is situated in a fine old building with good surrounding gardens. However, from the restaurant closing at 9.30pm (and no room service after that time), the shabby bar (with many glasses and plated laying around waiting to be collected), the shortage of staff everywhere, and the frayed carpets on the stairs, this is a hotel in need of some serious love and investment.
The room was comfortable, the bathroom large and bright. I don't fault the cleanliness. However, the buffet breakfast (tacky signs taped to doors around the place advising you to get there early to avoid the rush...) is both limited and not very impressively served.
All in all, probably okay if you need somewhere to stay for a night en route somewhere, but certainly not for any longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    563
    257
    102
    70
See reviews for
261
883
43
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My sister and I went for a spa weekend and had an amazing time. Got a great deal through superbreaks which was B&B. Had a lovely room in the old building, the location is amazing. The breakfast was a buffet so you could have as little or much as you wanted and it was all cooked well. The spa facilities were excellent. We were looked after well and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abandrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to add your comments on Tripadvisor. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury very soon.
Kind regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

My birthday treat for Afternoon Tea for two at The Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel, Shewsbury was extremely dissappointing. Poor selection of sandwiches, dirty cups and the setting was a bad choice. We were placed in the bar with people feet away from us watching the football, drinking beer and residents passing through wearing bath robes with bare feet. Not an enjoyable experience certainly not the 'decadent treat' it claimed to be.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to add your feedback to Tripadvisor. Please accept my full apologies that your Afternoon Tea experience did not live up to your expectations. The Management team have reviewed this experience and have made a number of changes to what we offer in order to live up to our guests expectations.
Kind regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

All staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. They could not do enough to make us feel relaxed and pampered. The room was clean and the bathroom was modern. My neck, back and shoulder massage was fabulous. The lady behind reception was accomodating and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Fantastic building and grounds; friendly, helpful staff; meals lovely; excellent wine list; great to have a good gymn and spa on site - and absolutely amazing value; we would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Take note of how far from the dining hall rooms are if you find walking etc difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbionRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to add your comments on Tripadvisor. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury very soon.
Kind regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Pleasant stay - pleasant staff, good restaurant -but facility with lots of steps - eg from car park with no hand rails, to the front door and to bedrooms - not a friendly facility for those with some mobility problems...

Good sized rooms.

A good advert for Mercure/Accor Hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Guest,
The team and I are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Albrighton Hall was an excellent choice for my Son's wedding last week. From the moment we arrived the day before the service was excellent. We had a family dinner for 18 in our own dining room the night before and food and service excellent. All the preparations for the wedding service and the wedding breakfast and evening reception were excellent. The fireworks were superb. All the staff were really attentive, friendly and very efficient. They took the time to speak to us, especially the children. The hotel is really clean, seems very well run and the wedding planner does a great job. Well done the whole team you were great., thank you!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the main hotel vary in size, but all the ones I visited looked really nice and spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albrighton
3.5 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
3.4 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
15.8 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Newly refurbished The Orchid Rooms at Inspiration Leisure and Spa offers a gym, fitness classes, a pool, relaxation lounge and thermal suite including a sauna, steam room, ice room, and six treatment rooms, two of which are doubles. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing