We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haughton Hall(Shifnal)
US$98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Wolverhampton - Racecourse(Wolverhampton)(Great Value!)
US$66
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Wolverhampton North Hotel(Wolverhampton)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
York Hotel(Wolverhampton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen Victoria Hotel(Wolverhampton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,027)
Filter reviews
2,027 results
Traveller rating
805
675
312
140
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
805
675
312
140
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomleisure facilitieslovely groundsnew wingsmall lakeset menuevening mealmain buildinglovely hotelcoach partydrawing roomwowcher dealbar pricesrelaxing weekendbuffet stylerestaurant staffbar area
Filter
Updating list...
1,675 - 1,680 of 2,027 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A pity, because this hotel is situated in a fine old building with good surrounding gardens. However, from the restaurant closing at 9.30pm (and no room service after that time), the shabby bar (with many glasses and plated laying around waiting to be collected), the shortage of staff everywhere, and the frayed carpets on the stairs, this is a hotel in need of some serious love and investment.
The room was comfortable, the bathroom large and bright. I don't fault the cleanliness. However, the buffet breakfast (tacky signs taped to doors around the place advising you to get there early to avoid the rush...) is both limited and not very impressively served.
All in all, probably okay if you need somewhere to stay for a night en route somewhere, but certainly not for any longer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My sister and I went for a spa weekend and had an amazing time. Got a great deal through superbreaks which was B&B. Had a lovely room in the old building, the location is amazing. The breakfast was a buffet so you could have as little or much as you wanted and it was all cooked well. The spa facilities were excellent. We were looked after well and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abandrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to add your comments on Tripadvisor. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury very soon.
Kind regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My birthday treat for Afternoon Tea for two at The Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel, Shewsbury was extremely dissappointing. Poor selection of sandwiches, dirty cups and the setting was a bad choice. We were placed in the bar with people feet away from us watching the football, drinking beer and residents passing through wearing bath robes with bare feet. Not an enjoyable experience certainly not the 'decadent treat' it claimed to be.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to add your feedback to Tripadvisor. Please accept my full apologies that your Afternoon Tea experience did not live up to your expectations. The Management team have reviewed this experience and have made a number of changes to what we offer in order to live up to our guests expectations.
Kind regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

All staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. They could not do enough to make us feel relaxed and pampered. The room was clean and the bathroom was modern. My neck, back and shoulder massage was fabulous. The lady behind reception was accomodating and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Fantastic building and grounds; friendly, helpful staff; meals lovely; excellent wine list; great to have a good gymn and spa on site - and absolutely amazing value; we would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Take note of how far from the dining hall rooms are if you find walking etc difficult.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbionRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to add your comments on Tripadvisor. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury very soon.
Kind regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews